We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS! A must-visit restaurant in Playa...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curry Omm

Curry Omm
10 Ave. Sur | Plaza Antigua (Immigration Building), Playa del Carmen 20.620864,-87.077861, Mexico
+52 984 873 1516
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Curry Omm is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Indian, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: AV aviacion y 3 sur
Transit: Taxi
Description: We are a small Indian restaurant in Playa, the only one offering a selection of Authentic Indian vegetarian and meat dishes, from Bombay Aloo & Dhal to Chicken Tikka Masala & Lamb Vondaloo. Open Monday to Saturday from 5.00 To 9.30 Pm
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“FABULOUS! A must-visit restaurant in Playa...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We LOVE visiting Harry and Claudia every time we go to Playa. They have the absolute best authentic Indian food we've ever had, and we've experienced Indian cuisine in Dallas and Washington DC. Curry Omm is by far #1.

We love the Jasmine rice, meatballs, potato appetizers, and their Lemon Pie is the best!

Whether it's a group of friends, a couple, family gathering, business, this place is perfect. Their service is top-notch. We highly recommend Curry Omm - you will be pleased!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    27
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We visited this restaurant on our recent trip to playa del Carmen. The food was really good and the service was great. Had read the reviews on here and was not disappointed. We all had a different dish each and every one was different and tasty in its own way. The naan bread was great and I would say it was better than most Indian restaurants I have been to back home. This is the only Indian in playa del Carmen so he has no competition yet his food is still good. The only reason it has a 4 is because there was very few options on the menu but I would rather have a good small menu than a rubbish large menu. The price was very reasonably too, around £65 for 4 people having 2 courses, popadums, 3 naan breads and a couple of beers each. If you like Indian and miss it on holiday this is a must!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Service amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Loved the butter chicken. The owner is very actively involved in this restaurant and makes everyone feel very welcome. We need to support him in the community here as his location is in the far South end of town, near Playacar.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
2 reviews
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Went last night for my friends birthday. Great food and service. Everything tasted fresh and the staff took pride in the food they were serving. Will be back soon. $500 for meal + tip (with out drinks).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The only indian restaurant in playa!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a little but friendly restaurant. I felt comfortable with the service and atmosphere. I had a mixed vegetable curry which was pretty spicy for me, although I guess the menu was saying "mild". Maybe I should have asked for extra mild. But it was tasty. What I would really like to recommend is to have some authentic dessert afterwards! They have a variety of indian sweets and they are delicious and interesting!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Omm also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Curry Omm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curry Omm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.