We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typically not an all-inclusive girl, but loved it...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla to your Saves list
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   5a Av Esq Calle 112 | Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% discount
Ranked #13 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Typically not an all-inclusive girl, but loved it...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

After spending a couple days in the city of Playa del Carmen and then Tulum, this was a welcome, pampered retreat, the perfect way to spend the last 6 days of our time in Mexico. Here are my thoughts:

Room: We had a Royal Service room on the 3rd floor that faced the ocean and Royal Service pool. Great view. Loved the bed and the room was very spacious, clean and loved the decor.

Royal Service: We went this route and I would do it again if it was a few hundred dollars more than a regular room, but if there was a huge price differential, not sure. The day we checked in our butler was "on vacation" which was an odd first impression, but she was great after that. The Royal Service pool is nice to have, although a REALLY LOUD obnoxious group of people were there so some days we'd escape to the regular pool as it was actually quieter. Its no wonder Americans have a bad reputation outside our country (I'm American so I can say that), but I digress...there was a restaurant open to RS people only, but we only had lunch there once so I can't really comment on it. There were so many other restaurants we wanted to try! We did take advantage of the aromatherapy pillows (an RS benefit) and they were to die for. And our butler then refreshed the scent everyday. I want to find that spray!

Restaurants: We enjoyed them all. We did pay for Passions and it was TOTALLY worth it. Just do it, you won't regret it.

Kids: While you are on the adults only side, kids can be in all of the restaurants with the exception of maybe two of them, which was surprising to us. I would suggest that the hotel make each restaurant kid free one night a week in order to give a quieter dining experience for those who specifically booked on the kid free side.

Nightlife: Lots to do! Great shows that aren't cheesy and we LOVED Club Gabi. Fun bands, DJ's and great to be outside. I didn't really care for the Red bar -- they should keep everything out in Gabi where we can be outside!

As it relates to shows, make sure you are at the pool the day the DJ plays -- quite a spectacle. =)

Staff: We were so impressed by the level of service by everyone we interacted with. No complaints only compliments!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your very nice review and comments about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

It makes us so happy to know that you had a wonderful stay in our property. Our top priorities are to provide the highest quality service and to show you how to embrace the experience of the Pure Freedom to Just Be.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed all the benefits, services, and special amenities of being a Royal Service guest, our facilities, the culinary experience we offer and the night entertainment. Also, we thank you for complimenting the service, as our team is the most important resource in our commitment to create memorable moments for our guests. We pride ourselves on service, so it's nice to hear your appreciation.

We look forward to pampering you once again in the near future.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,014
    686
    209
    77
    67
See reviews for
337
2,646
52
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (929)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just got back from 5 nights, 6 days at La Perla with my fiancee and it was everything we'd hoped it would be. The grounds are not just modern, they are gorgeous. Our room was phenomenal. I booked the swim up room and it was so cool to have the private area. Food was good! Bana was #1 followed by Mole #2 and the breakfast buffet was unreal!!! Main pool area was perfect. The water is not heated but it warms up by the middle of the day. Make sure you are there on a Saturday because they have a 2 hour pool party from 2pm-4pm with DJ, dancers, it's a lot of fun. Did not have a negative incident in 6 days at the place. Staff is great, service is superb, can't ask for anything more out of a vacation. Just book it!!!

Room Tip: Hard to walk into the ocean from adult side so walk in from family side of the beach. Main pool is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for staying at our hotel and provide us the privilege to serve you.

It is a pleasure for us to read you spent the best time in our property and to know that we were able to offer you a memorable experience that surpassed your expectations. Our main goal is the total satisfaction of our guests, we are very happy to learn we accomplished that mission during your stay.

Thank you very much for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back soon for another enjoyable stay.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great stay at La Perla. Upon arrival - doesn't look like much - minimalist/modern but once inside it's lovely. Stayed in one bedroom luxury swim up suite - FABULOUS!! Food was great -La Pallapa (outdoor restaurant)/Arturo was our wonderful waiter."The Grill" outdoor restaurant/Jesus Toz was our waiter who was fabulous. Beach was a bit rocky -but after 5 minute walk towards family beach - the beach area is amazing with clear blue water and soft white sand. Everyone remembered our names - small hotel with outstanding service. Spa was wonderful and relaxing - great outdoor massages. Would go back in a heartbeat. Treated like royalty!! Would also like to remember Alfredo at check-in, Jimena at the Grill reception, Carlos at restaurant service, Carmen at the beach and Robiscus at the spa check in for their outstanding service and lovely smiles!
We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for letting us know about your experience at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

We are delighted to read that you had a great time in our property. Our top priorities are to provide the highest quality service and to show you how to embrace the experience of the Pure Freedom to Just Be.

It is a pleasure for us to learn you enjoyed our facilities, your fabulous room, our dinning options and the Yhi Spa, but most of all we thank you for complimenting the service, as our team is the most important resource in our commitment to create memorable moments for our guests. All your comments will be shared with all the staff

Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to taking care of you during your next holiday.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL!! We feel like we spent a week in paradise! This was our first trip to Mexico and our first all inclusive...an amazing experience. Hotel is gorgeous, we stayed at the adults only section in a Jr swim up suite....that was a treat!! Loved our hostess Viviana, Luis and Alfonso poolside took excellent care of us, and Mizael at Hadar for breakfast was always very attentive! The property is absolutely gorgeous! Very beautiful beach, we walked south one day for about 30 minutes and ended up going to 5th Ave and doing some light shopping and taking the whole thing in...anything you want you can find here!
Great shows at night and poolside too! Amazing dancers at the pool a sight to see! It's beyond me how they can do all the acrobatics on the concrete,and then jump in the water and continue!
I will say that the staff is always doing their best and it shows, they work very hard to make your stay the best it can be...having said that, we were not averse to tipping poolside and at dinner. We thought they deserved it and then some!!
Would HIGHLY recommend a stay here!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We saw this resort online and fell in love with it. BUT: before I go on about everything, I would like to mention cons:

1) Pavements in most areas (around swimming pool, coming down the stairs, outdoor bathrooms) are extremely slippery. BE SURE NOT TO RUN AROUND specially with the amount of drinks you consume.
2) Buffet was not good at all. very limited choices.
3) For adults only resort, you do share a la carte and buffet restaurants with Esmeralda which is family resort, part of Paradisus.
We arrived on Feb 15 and right away were transferred from adult only section to: Royal service / VIP section by golf curt. We met the supervisor, Lucia. truly a nice lady who listens carefully to you needs and makes notes of what you may need. our room was not ready for about 3 hours which WAS NOT their fault as check in time is at 3:00PM and we got there at 12:00PM. Lucia took us to Vip restaurant (the only one for adults only) and made sure the receptionist took a great care of us. Food at beach restaurant was amazing which we went there for breakfast and lunch almost everyday. Then we met our Butler, Lazaro Morales. AN AMAZING BUTLER BY ALL MEANS. He always surprised us when we came back to our room, either from pool or beach or excursion by preparing our jaccuzi and/or tub with candles and roses on the floor. he always wanted to be sure that we are satisfied and if we need anything.
in-room service was awesome, great chicken wings, pizza, fresh fruit which you can customize of what fruits you like.
Pool bar was amazing. I strongly suggest you go see Emmanuel. he makes the best drinks and always smiles. Lucio, the other bartender had some manner problems and rude sometimes which we brought this to Lucia's attention.
Pablo and Elizabeth at VIP restaurant, we kept going, were absolutely amazing. we requested our room to be on 2nd floor and ended on ground floor whichwas disappointing at first but now when I look back, I don't regret it cause it was not even 1-2 minutes walk to the pool.
As for a la carte restaurants, I do suggest: Bar & Grill (great steak and duck), The Market (brazillian) and the Mediterranian restaurant, the rest were so so.I personaly preferred Punta Cana foods to be honest.
Be sure to book any excursion you like WITH YOUR OWN TRAVEL AGENT AND NOT THE HOTEL AND/OR HOTEL STAFF BY PROMOTING THIS & THAT DISCOUNT AND SO ON......
Do I go back? Yes. Place was very clean and staff are extremely nice. they all want to make sure you are having a great time. a waiter on the beach and pool (only for VIP) by the name of IRAN(LIKE COUNTRY). he was absolutely great. Pool bar is the perfect place to meet nice people. Pls be sure to get Lazaro as your personal butler. the guy is half man, half super amazing. he even came twice to say bye to me and my wife. booked all our a la carte restaurant. arranged our room service. just cant ask for better service. our favorite staff are: LUCIA, ERICK, LAZARO, IRAN AND EMMANUEL AT POOL BAR. I would not go to Lucio at pool bar he always makes not so good drinks and always rool eyes when you ask for another drink :-(. I will certainly give 8 of 10 for this resort.
BY THE WAY, IT IS NOT AN AQUARIUM ON TOP OF YOUR BED. IT IS JUST A PICTURE FRAME. DONT FALL FOR IT. :-) I do recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Go only VIP royal service. Only and only. you will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla as your holiday destination and for taking the time to share this review with us.

Your review it is very important to us because give us the opportunity to know better about the aspects we need to work on in order to give the best service, the kind of service our guests deserve. We already let the differences departments know about your notes.

On the other hand, it makes us really proud that you were able to have such wonderful stay. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed all the benefits, services, and special amenities of being a Royal Service guest.

As for the staff members you have mentioned in your review, we will make sure to pass on your kind comments to all of them, whom we are sure did everything out of love in order to make your stay unforgettable.

Thank you again for your value review and for visiting us and we hope to have the privilege to host you once again in a near future.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful stay.....This review is very late we traveled in October. Anyone considering a stay at La Perla don't hesitate, you will be happy.I will stick to the basics
with a simple review.
1; Property chic, Beautiful grounds
2. Rooms very nice,I had a master swimout which was beautiful.
3. Food was great most of the time 97% which is great for an all-inclusive!
4. Pool was wonderful plenty of chairs, palapas, towels ect.
5. Beach was great,,,yes there are minimal spots with rock, I assure you this will never interfear with your enjoyment. We vacation for the beach only this is where you will find us. Everyday we enjoyed crystal clear blue waters, white powder sands and incredible beachside service. What more could you want?
I would especially like to thank Lucia Estrada and staff. Our trip was even more wonderful because of her. I traveled with many family members and Lucia helped with all specific needs.Because of her alone our trip was the best ever. I look forward to our return...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Allow us to express our gratefulness for selecting us to celebrate your vacation, and for sharing the impressions of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you had a wonder experience in Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla. Our top priorities are to provide the highest quality service and to show you how to embrace the experience of the Pure Freedom to Just Be.

Lucia will be delighted to hear that she contributed to your stay. It is thanks to our excellent team that we are able to accomplish our goal, the total satisfaction of our guests. Thank you for recognize her work.

We hope this is the beginning of uncountable vacations at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a week's stay at La Perla and could not have had a better experience. We stayed on the adult's only side with the Royal Service package and were very impressed at how amazing the food, service, room, and entertainment were. I've been to other resorts where you get butler service and never see them after the first day, but our butler Neftali made sure we were having a great time throughout our whole stay. He made all of our reservations for dinner and activities and would even draw a bath in our jacuzzi tub with little baby confetti to celebrate for our babymoon. I've stayed in a lot of adult's only all inclusive resorts, but this by far was one of the best. I would definitely return!

Room Tip: One bedroom ocean view suite was spacious, quiet, and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Allow us to express our gratefulness for selecting us to celebrate your babymoon, and for sharing the impressions of your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you spent the best time in our property. Also we are glad to know that you have enjoyed all the benefits, services, and special amenities of being a Royal Service guest.

Regarding your comment, particularly when mentioning the service of Neftaly, is a wonderful testimony of how passionate the staff is in providing the best personalized and warm service the hotel is well known for.

We look forward to welcome you once more very soon.

Antonio Baez
Hotel Manager
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Address: 5a Av Esq Calle 112 | Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a spectacular tiny bay, the Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel for adults only, and one of the most luxurious hotels in Riviera Maya. Combining a prestigious Caribbean setting with world-class facilities, including Royal Service, the ultimate in spa treatments, a relaxed ambience, and flexible meeting spaces with state-of-the-art equipment. This elegant resort has a Mayan ecological feeling, and an oceanfront location surrounded by a lush tropical mangrove preserve and with views of Cozumel Island. Take your senses on a culinary tour through eleven remarkable restaurants serving delicious cuisine from all around the world and ten bars serving unlimited international Premium brand drinks. Enjoy life-enriching experiences such as tango dance classes, sushi-making, and sensorial experiences. This luxury All-Inclusive Adults Only Resort is located 45 minutes from Cancun International Airport very near the magnificent beaches and attractions such as the Playa del Carmen 5th Avenue, Xcaret, Akumal and Xel-Ha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Melia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.