We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This isn't your typical all-inclusive! Wow.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Save Saved
You added Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   5a Avenida Esquina Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 197 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This isn't your typical all-inclusive! Wow.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I just returned after staying at the Paradisus Playa del Carmen from February 11-16, 2013 and let me start by saying what an incredible place this is. My wife has been to Cancun, Playa and Panama before and I have also been to Cancun and Cuba and we both agreed this is the best all-inclusive resort we've experienced thus far.

Arrival and Check-in: Our transportation from the airport was pretty smooth and upon arrival, we were welcomed with a delicious welcome cocktail (so good that I had to have a second) and a cold towel. The room unfortunately was not ready as we arrived in the late morning but we had full access to all the facilities on arrival and obtaining a wristband. A very special shout-out to our personal concierge, Luis, who, like many of his colleagues in guest services, were exceptionally helpful throughout the trip.

Room: We stayed in a Luxury Jr. Suite and it had a balcony facing the street with two loungers, a small table and 2 chairs. The room itself was absolutely beautiful. We had a spacious living room area with a large desk and an extremely comfortable king-size bed with down pillows. The minor annoyance was that our key-entry system was on the fritz and they needed 45 mins-1 hour to fix it since the battery was dead meaning that kept us in the room during the maintenance. On the bright side, they came extremely quickly and sorted this out so we could go and enjoy the resort. The bathroom had a large shower with two handset showers and two overhead rain showers. The strange thing was there was this massive beautiful tub but the single faucet filling it meant you'd have to wait at least 20-25 minutes to fill the tub and there were no jacuzzi jets in it. Suffice to say, we stuck with the shower! There was ample closet/drawer space and a modern safe that we would expect from such a resort. A nice touch on top of this were the provision of bathrobes as well as a sun umbrella that we used later in the week.

Property: The Paradisus is actually two properties, La Esmerelda (family-friendly) and La Perla (Adults only). We stayed on the La Perla side but it would be remiss not to review the whole property as there are shared aspects to it. The resort itself is brand new (~ 1 year old) and despite the fact that it can get busy, it feels very spread out with ample lounges, bars and restaurants. The design is beautiful with modern touches in addition to local influences such as the straw-hut roof seen pool-side as well as over the bars. A great deal of care has been exercised to preserve the mangroves around the property and this certainly adds to the charm.

Food: There is an incredible selection of restaurants at this resort and this surpassed our expectations. Open seating is there for breakfast and lunch (as well as the buffet) but reservations have to be made for dinner at the a la carte restaurants. We found that doing this with Guest Services was the best way to go and if you happen to go on a busy week, make sure to do this early! Breakfast at Hadar had a terrific mix of fresh fruit, omelette bar, fresh breads and Mexican breakfast dishes. Lunch was a mix of the Rodizzio grill on the La Esmeralda property which had a great selection of a la carte dishes as well as "The Grill" on the La Perla property. Both places had a delicious salad bar (with an outstanding balsamic vinaigrette I might add) and the latter had a menu that changed from the two times we visited.

I should mention at this point that my wife is a vegetarian (not vegan as she can eat eggs and dairy) and this had us a bit nervous before we arrived but let me say that this is where this resort excelled. We ate dinner at The Grill, Mole (Mexican), Vento (Mediterranean) and Bana (Asian) x 2 nights. All of the restaurants had a great menu with vegetarian selection. We ate at Bana twice because of their great vegetarian selection and their ability to be flexible in things such as adding tofu to their pad thai as opposed to the shrimp. There are other food options such as the buffet, Fuego, La Palapa and Passion (extra charge because of Michelin-starred chef) that we did not get to try due to the length of our trip. One recommendation we had for the buffet in particular would be to add a symbol or letter next to the dishes which are vegetarian as it isn't always clear (for the a-la-carte this was very clear with a leaf symbol donating a dish that was vegetarian friendly). This was compounded by the fact that if you do not speak Spanish, while everyone is extremely friendly, they would not always be able to tell you whether the food was vegetarian.

Pool/Beach: The pool is beautiful with a nice swim-up bar and surrounded by beach beds with straw-hut covers that block the sunshine on the hotter days as well as lots of loungers for when you wish to tan. The pool at La Perla is obviously adults only and has a Sunset Grill next to it where we enjoyed nachos with guacamole, quesadillas and burgers all alongside wonderful pool-side service.

The beach was very nice although previous reviewers have commented on it being narrow and we can certainly attest to this. That being said, there is ample room and usually plenty of loungers available. The shoreline is a little rocky and thus it is a bit of a challenge walking across this to get to water over sand but this is only about 30-40 feet into the water. We overcame this by walking towards Playa del Carmen on the beach itself. It was about a 30-35 minute walk where we took our sun umbrella but the beach on this segment was excellent with no rocks and clear water. If you wish to forego the walk, you can take a US$10 cab ride into town and get to the beach that way. I should also mention that if you're looking for Mexican food (i.e. habanero sauce, mole sauce etc. like we were), there is no cheaper place to get it than the Walmart or the Mexican supermarket in town. Don't make the mistake of buying hot sauce or Mexican vanilla at the airport! (e.g. vanilla at Walmart is ~$3.00 while the same brand at the airport was $21.95!)

Alcohol: We enjoyed premium alcohol all week with terrific cocktails (my wife loved the mango tango, that's definitely a winner) and Dos Equis/Sol on tap. Great mix of beverages and among the bars, there is a great martini bar called M bar as well as a Sake bar named Toji. Service was excellent with people refilling your drink pretty much as soon as you finished it!

Spa: We booked 50 minute Mayan massages at a significant discount since we sat through a 90 minute promotion of the Club Melia program and our masseuses Sonia and Angelica were wonderful. The spa also has hydrotherapy although the sauna on the male side was not working unfortunately!

We got these massages for US$50 each because we sat through the Club Melia promotion which is a plug for their mix of vacation club rentals and hotels. Financially, it is a significant investment up front and admittedly had I known this, we would not have sat through it. It is an impressive collection of vacation rentals and we got to tour some of them on the property but the caveat is that all-inclusive service would be extra on top of what you had paid for these so that is something to keep in mind. If you are willing to consider a time share (we like variety in our travel), then the discounted massage is nice but remember it is at least 90 minutes of your precious vacation time.

Checkout: We had to check out by noon but the resort has access to a hospitality suite complete with bathroom, shower and two sinks. Since our transportation was later in the afternoon, we reserved the suite from 2-3pm so we could lounge on the beach and then shower before catching our flight. A really nice touch as a compromise for checking out early when you have a later flight. We had no problems booking this suite but the concierge does recommend reserving the suite early to ensure access at the time you wish.

Final Thoughts: This resort was amazing, we unfortunately could only stay 5 nights because of work commitments but it was relaxing, rejuvenating and delicious. I particularly want to highlight their vegetarian-friendly menu as this is something that I am always cognizant of when booking vacations with my wife. Thank you for a wonderful week!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street which was obviously not ideal. We did book extremely last minute whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share a detailed review from your stay at Paradisus La Perla.

We are completely glad to read you had a wonderful time here with us, taking advantage of all the resort facilities, the sandy beach and just being papered by our warm staff, who are always trying to surpass our guests’ expectations.

It is good to know you tried the relaxing Yhi Spa facilities. It´s Zen atmosphere and the magical treatments you were given left both of you stress-free.

We are content to read that we surpassed your expectations regarding the food and beverage service in general. Fortunately we have options for every single taste, in addition to special dietary restrictions or allergies. All our guests deserve to enjoy our LUXEclusive plan, just the way your wife did. We are confident about this special service which is not offered in other all-inclusive resorts.

We you plan your next beach getaway, please remember Paradisus La Perla: The only LUXEclusive option in Playa del Carmen.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,921
    433
    142
    42
    38
See reviews for
217
1707
34
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Returned Feb 16, 2013 after 7 days at Paradisus La Perla. Our last vacation in this part of Mexico was at the Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso which we loved so much we feared it would be a hard act to follow. Fortunately, Paradisus La Perla turned out to be an equally wonderful resort. In a word, the entire resort is beautiful. Guests are constantly surrounded by art & music, creating an elegant ambience that revitalizes the spirit. No detail is overlooked in creating a heavenly paradise. The spacious and comfortable rooms share the same modern-art decor exhibited throughout the property. Everything was well maintained and immaculately clean.

The beach was narrow (due to the wave action) but clean and you could walk comfortably (and safely) for miles in either direction. Notably, the best beaches for swimming were the public areas on either side of the hotel. The shoreline directly infront of the hotel was quite rocky (particularly infront of the adjacent family resort Paradisus Esmeralda). The pools were lovely; the water warm and pristine. The thatched huts with maitresses throughout the pool areas were luxurious and very restful.

There were more restaurants than we could visit in one week: all of them superb. Our favourites were Vento (the waiter Hector helped with great recommendations) and Fuego (where Raul did a wonderful job serving us). All of the food throughout the resort was good.
Because we had to fly out very early on our last day, we ordered breakfast through room service. It arrived at precisely the moment we wanted, and it was lavish.

The drink selection and quality was excellent and consistent at all the bars. Marcus at the beach bar makes an awesome "Dirty Monkey" -- the best at the resort. The house merlot was Yvon Mau, and very drinkable. There was a good selection of beers.

Our most favourable impression: the hotel staff. Everyone we dealt with appeared to be genuinely proud of their resort and sincerely interested in making sure that all of our needs and expectations were met.

A few minor things to watch for. The marble floors in the pool-side bathrooms were very wet and slippery, just as you enter.

We found the basic garden-view room quite adequate, but if you're considering upgrading for a better view, pay the small premium when booking your vacation. If you try to upgrade your room after you arrive, the extra cost is insanely expensive.

We never felt pressured to tip, but the service was so excellent gratuities were almost always appropriate. On arrival, our tour rep suggested $2.00 at lunch or $5.00 at dinner -- but only if the waiter did an excellent job. We followed this rule, and the waiters were very appreciative.

Although the resort is all-inclusive, several of the restaurants offered optional "extras" that you could pay for. Lobster tails, expensive wines, etc. Spa service, etc, also had extra charges. We didn't purchase any of the extras. They seemed quite pricey, and the resort already offers quite enough within the "all inclusive" package.

The entertainment was good. There were no large "stage" shows. Instead, two of the bars offered excellent entertainment in a very small, intimate setting. The Spanish Flamenco dancer in the South Bar was especially good.

We took a chance booking this trip last minute. We relied only on internet reviews, and for almost every resort we considered, we found at least some of the reviewers did nothing but complain. After spending a week at Paradisus La Perla, we really can't understand how anyone could have written a negative review about this hotel. It is truly 5-star. Once again, we are worried that we will have a hard act to follow.

A&L, Ancaster, Ontario

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your confidence in reserving your last minute vacations based on previous travelers´ reviews. Now we are pleased to know that you corroborate all you read before and left the resort with an unforgettable experience.

Our vast gastronomic experience, confortable facilities, activities suitable for all ages and night shows, are just a quick way to describe our LUXEclusive plan, impossible not to enjoy it during a fantastic getaway by the Mexican Caribbean.

We appreciate all your kind words and we will be waiting for your prompt return to Paradisus La Perla.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

It was a bit pricey to book Paradisus (sweem-up suite) but we absolutely loved the resort. As long as you don't go during the most busy season in mexico like end of December through March or around holidays like thanksgiving you will love this place. Its a large resort with aournd 3000 rooms so i can imagine the service would suffer if it was fully booked. This is a brand new resort opened in end of 2011. The rooms restaurants and facilities are very modern. The food was amazing and they had plenty of restaurants to choose from. The beach was a bit rocky but plenty of spots where they took the rocks out and its a nice area to enter.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for providing a short and concrete review from our new facilities, warm service, restaurant options and detailed decoration. Every day receiving good comments like yours could mean only one thing: our effort in reflected in our guest´s satisfaction.

We value your notes.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here last week for our honeymoon, and it certainly lived up to the name. Staff were super friendly and couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was pleasant. Resort is spacious, well laid out, and thoughtfully furnished. We spent most of our time on various sunbeds & Palapas by the pool being waited on - whatever drinks or food we wanted were brought right to us - no need to even move! I was also very impressed with the quality of the food & drinks on offer, and the restaurants were all top notch - just like going out for a posh meal every night, and they certainly didn't skimp on quality. Finally, the room...We had a Royal Service Ocean-View Suite, and the room was spacious, with a big bath, double shower, and jacuzzi. It was always immaculately turned down, and restocked frequently. In short - the perfect honeymoon.

Room Tip: The main pool area is more lively, great atmosphere but sometimes a little bit like a big party. Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write a review from your honeymoon at Paradisus La Perla. It is fantastic for us to read that your expectations were surpassed during a once in a lifetime trip.

It is amazing to read you had a wonderful stay, taking advantage of our LUXEclusive plan, your room´s comfort, the cozy sunbeds at the pool area, and all the extra amenities and services you have gotten by staying at our Royal Service section.

Once again thank you very much for your preference, your recommendation and we will be pleased to host you again in the near future at Paradisus La Perla.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonthill, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We just returned from Paradisus-La Perla, (adults only side of the resort). The hotel is absolutely great! The staff are outstanding, friendly and attentive. We stayed in a deluxe suite which was more than ample although the swim up suites look pretty neat. We have travelled to a number of resorts and this by far has been the best. There is a lot of choices for dinner and the food is very good. We just wanted to say thanks to all the staff and management for making our trip memorable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your review from your stay at Paradisus La Perla on Trip Advisor.

We are proud of all our staff members; all of them work very hard every day to satisfy all our guests’ needs, always with a smile on their face and taking care of every single detail. One of our commitments is to motivate them to keep with their outstanding service vocation.

Please consider Paradisus La Perla as your home in Playa del Carmen. We will be waiting for your return.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kahoka
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed 2/10-15 in Master Suite without Royal Service. Resort is about 40-45 min f/airport.

Room- we stayed in rm 1333 in a master bedroom suite. This was top floor looking directly at ocean, but the furthest from the ocean, more of the rooms are partial view because they face each other and you would have to lean over your balcony to see the ocean. Room was nice, two person jacuzzi in the bathroom, dining room table, kitchenette with no plates, etc. living room area. All modern granite and dark woods. We also had a whirlpool tub on our balcony. Which we wouldn't have used but since the rooms on the top floors don't have glass railings like the lower floors we had more privacy so we used it 4/5 days! Our room was cleaned well and turn down service tidied up the room each night. Kinda neat and helpful- each room has a master switch that turns all lights off, there like 100 of them... The bedroom shades aren't blackout shades, though if they would have been I probley would have slept till noon not 9a.m..

Property- very modern, nice layout, beautiful plants, etc. main pool and swim outs are not heated. I understand the Royal service pool is though. The hotel is built a little ways from the ocean with mangroves to help protect incase of hurricane. The property is not large, I run and that wasn't possible here as there was too much foot traffic and the property layout isn't made for this as you would be running down hotel hallways and that's not appropriate. I didn't feel comfortable running the beach alone either and I refuse to run on a treadmill while in Mexico... The property is right next to a residential area. The first night there I asked my husband why someone would bring their dog only to realize it was the neighborhood dogs. I couldn't hear them with our bedroom door shut. Our room was at the back of the property so I'm guessing for 75% of the rooms this wouldn't be an issue.

Beach- first of all a shout out to our phenomenal beach butler Luis Marcelo- the first day we were there he welcomed us to "his office". Luis never let our drinks run dry, brought us lunch-the best cheeseburgers and nachos! Thank you Luis! BEST part of our trip! Onto what I think was the most disappointing part of the trip-the beach is narrow, as in there are some beach chairs that are about in the water. As well as you will be good friends with your neighbors as they will be two inches from you. We did not have a problem getting chairs. I can't fault the resort for the beach it's a balance preserving the mangroves and their natural purpose as well as keeping us tourists happy. The beach isn't terribly rocky and my husband and I were able to get in and play in the waves no problem. Since the hotel is near a residential area you kinda got a public beach feel with lots of nonresort traffic. No big deal to me, jus different from other resorts that feel like you are in the middle of no where.

Food- I usually say "no one goes to Mexico for the food" (see previous reviews, LOL)- this year i cant say that! We ate at Hadar, which is your standard breakfast buffet each a.m., Great service. Lunch we did the Sunset at poolside-yummy wraps! The grill-great empanadas, and Naos- which Is the family side buffet fair. Again Luis brining us lunch on the beach by far was our absolute favorite lunches! Dinner, ah diner. You must make reservations if you want to eat anywhere besides the buffet. We didn't have any problems getting good times- 7ish, 8ish despite Royal Service ppl getting preferred times(according to the hotel guide). We ate at Fuego which is Latin fusion and I had a flank steak with green peppers, husband had a steak and said it was good. We ate at Mole the next night which was Mexican, it just wasn't our thing. The people next to us thought it was great tho. We also at at the Grill and this is what changed our tune! First our waiters (we ate there twice!) were adorable, so funny and sweet! My hubby ordered the two lobster tails and steak for the additional cost and he was in heaven. Obviously if we went back and he ordered the same thing. The first night our waiter even brought the fresh meat for us to choose what cut we wanted. I had a -and I never thought I would say this in my life-a delicious steak... In Mexico. Oh also, I ate fresh grilled asparagus at every meal and it was amazing. We at at Naos one night and gosh we were never so happy to see mozzarella sticks ;-) sometimes you just miss American bar food okay? Room service, ordered dessert, and I may replace my generalization about Mexican food to dessert in Mexico. I've never had dry cheesecake until now. The desserts, all of them just lacked the richness and flavor we have in the U.S. -you know the thought"oh my gosh this is so good it should be illegal, thank goodness I can eat like this cause I'm on vacation" yeah, you won't get that, and wont be saying it...But they sell candy in the gift shop.

Drinks- try a mango tango, it won't get you drunk, but it's yummy. Beer... It's been a while since we have been to a resort that had Corona. They don't have it here either. No American beer-one resort we went to had Coors-go figure. It's Dos Equis, and Tecate, always better with a lime. You need to ask for top shelf liquor. I had the house white for dinner one night, and I'm terrible with wine and generally like cheap stuff and it was good to me.

Spa-we did 50min massages and they were very nice, this year my poor husband didn't feel like his masseuse took out her aggression a on his back. Very gentle and relaxing. We did this at 6:30 in the evening, which we liked as we didn't miss any of our sun time!

And last but not least, the timeshare, travel agency pitch... We spent the better part of 2 + hrs hearing this out. You can draw your own conclusions if you are interested.

Overall we enjoyed our visit we are relaxed and well rested. The staff here was above par in being welcoming, accommodating, helpful and pleasant. We don't plan on returning soon though as we enjoy visiting a different resort each year. We just haven't found "the one" yet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear guest,

We can hardly describe how it feels like to read we have surpassed your expectations during your stay at Paradisus La Perla.

You contemplated a lot of details everywhere. We appreciate your interest and dedication shown in your review.

Our LUXEclusive plan continues surprising most of our tourists because it is unique at an All-inclusive resort. As you described, the quality and variety are extraordinary in all of our restaurants and bars. We will continue this way as all of you have been asking us to do it.

It is great to read that your beach experience was enriched for the attentive service provided by Luis. We will pass along your notes to his supervisor to motivate him to continue with his great service.

Again, thank you for your recommendation to future visitors, and we really hope for your return to the Riviera Maya!


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This resort is unprecedented in terms of luxury, food and overall experience. If I had to emphasize one thing it would have to be THE FOOD! I would compare it to going to a fine dining restaurant in your city for three meals a day. I have never eaten such good quality and so well for one week straight. Some may argue against the all inclusive but for us it was an absolute dream and it was definitely worth it! Also, the resort is really spectacular. They have everything you need and its beautiful walking around the resort and its not too far from the town if you prefer more action. I would highly recommend this resort and since it was our honeymoon it was the perfect spot for us. Would definitely go again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Celebrating special occasions with our guests is something we really enjoy because it would be an unforgettable experience, no doubt about it. Thank you for selecting Paradisus for your honeymoon and for your wishes in coming back.

We feel proud of our Food & Beverage department due their daily effort to satisfy all palates in the same place. Fortunately we have a lot of professionals in their field and the result is reflected in your surpassed expectations.

We would be honored if you decide to come back to Paradisus La Perla to celebrate one of many future anniversaries you will celebrate together.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Address: 5a Avenida Esquina Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a spectacular tiny bay, the Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel for adults only, and one of the most luxurious hotels in Riviera Maya. Combining a prestigious Caribbean setting with world-class facilities, including Royal Service, the ultimate in spa treatments, a relaxed ambience, and flexible meeting spaces with state-of-the-art equipment. This elegant resort has a Mayan ecological feeling, and an oceanfront location surrounded by a lush tropical mangrove preserve and with views of Cozumel Island. Take your senses on a culinary tour through eleven remarkable restaurants serving delicious cuisine from all around the world and ten bars serving unlimited international Premium brand drinks. Enjoy life-enriching experiences such as tango dance classes, sushi-making, and sensorial experiences.This luxury All-Inclusive Adults Only Resort is located 45 minutes from Cancun International Airport very near the magnificent beaches and attractions such as the Playa del Carmen 5th Avenue, Xcaret, Akumal and Xel-Ha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Melia, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.