We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love At First Sight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Save Saved
You added Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   5a Avenida Esquina Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $1000 Resort Credit
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love At First Sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My fiancé and I visited Paradisus July 2012 in preparation of our wedding this coming May 2013. Not only did the trip serve to solidify our destination venue, but also allowed us to experience this luxury 5 Star Resort. After enjoying wonderful service, food and fun, we left excited to return with our family and friends and take our wedding vows <3

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice... Royal Service is a must... Ocean View and/or Swim Up preferred
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,

It is fantastic for us to know that after experiencing all that Paradisus offers, you decided to hold your future wedding at our premises.

We are confident that our “Romance” team will do an amazing job in organizing every single detail for your celebration as one of the most important moments in someone´s life.

We will be waiting for your wedding day to celebrate with your friends and relatives by the amazing Mexican Caribbean.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,647
    372
    128
    39
    31
See reviews for
188
1467
29
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springville, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband, Myself, and four members of our family, traveled to Playa Del Carmen with the intention of visiting Chichen Itza during the Winter Solstice. (Which, as a side note, was amazing!!)

As members of Club Melia, the hubby and I used our "options" to stay at the Paradisus for one week.

The resort lived up to what we have come to expect from the gorgeous & unique style of the Paradisus family of resorts. It was stylish, modern, very clean, and very pleasingly aromatic.

The level of service we received at this resort was unparalleled to any other we have visited in the Caribbean, save for the Paradisus Cancun, of course.

The restaurants were out-of-this-world. They differed a great deal from the usual
"all inclusive" style encountered in the average Caribbean resort. Most have a modern, original flair about them, and it was evident that no expense was spared with their decor, as is evident with the architecture throughout the resort. (My sister-in-the-law, the architect, was extremely impressed at every turn, and couldn't stop commenting on many types of structuring. She was truly impressed!) The menus were vastly extensive and everything we tried (everywhere!) was simply devine in taste.

The rooms (we had a one-bedroom suite) are beautiful, contemporary, and clean. The beds are very comfortable, and a month-and-half later, I am still missing those pillows!! We had a jacuzzi on our terrace which was a really nice touch, but honestly, we didn't have a chance to enjoy it! Our travel companions stayed in studio units, which were as equally nice as our room, the only difference being the size, although their rooms were spacious.

The only complaint I have is about the beach. One of the main reasons I love visiting the Caribbean so much is for my love of sparkling, clear, turquoise water.

I was completely let down by what I encountered at this location! That beautiful water I live for was seemingly replaced by what I can only compare to typical Atlantic sludge. It was brown and murky... Very disappointing. But who knows, maybe it was just that particular section of the beach, on that particular day? The stretch of sand went on for miles, so there was plenty of room for anyone wanting to catch some sun, but, it wasn't very wide at all. In fact, it was extremely narrow, which was also disappointing, and not very asthetically pleasing.

Now, don't let this deter you from visiting Plays Del Carmen. In fact, if you take an excursion to the abcient Mayan village in Tulum, you'll encounter one of the world's most beautiful beaches. White sand, turquoise water, the works... Simply breathtaking. I implore you to visit Tulum and experience the temples and this lovely Caribbean gem of a cove.

The location of the hotel is in a very poor neighborhood, and it's not really nearby anything at all. Of course, once youre in the resort, you'll forget all about the surrounding poverished community.

5th avenue (the shopping district) isn't too far away, but you'll need to take a taxi to get there ($20 American for a resort van to take your entire group. Not bad compared to other places!) There are lots of shops and restaurants on this strip that are completely worth checking out and enjoying! (Including Señor Frogs!- nice beach there, too!!!)

All-in-all, our stay at the Patadisis Plays Del Carmen was more than enjoyable. Our group is very much looking forward to seeing what the Paradisus Palma Real (in the DR) has in store for us this July!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your Paradisus experience during the Winter Solstice, a few weeks ago.

It is pleasant for us to know that in general you had a pleasant and unforgettable experience. As you stated, the resort´s design and décor keep surprising our visitors as every detail was perfectly thought to fit in the overall context.

Also, thank you for highlighting the delicacies that you tasted at all of our restaurants. High quality products are cooked by professional chefs, making our LUXEclusive plan the only one with exceptional taste and reputation in the Caribbean.

We are sorry that your beach experience was not as you expected, we work hard to keep it clean from seaweed and rocks. Coral fragments have to stay in the area to preserve the ecosystem. Most part of the year the water is crystal clear, providing an amazing landscape with the protected mangrove area behind the shore.

We appreciate your preference to our Paradisus brand and we are confident that you will decide to come back to La Esmeralda in the future.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

If you like good food, cocktails, relaxing pool cabanas, pool bars... This is the place. All inclusive paradise! 5 star service, 5 star food!

The resort is divided into two - one for adults, and one for families.

Room Tip: Choose ocean view or swim-up to room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your concrete review from your Paradisus experience, affirming you had a wonderful time with us, enjoying our facilities and everything offered at Paradise.

We would love to host you again in the future.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

great hotel with fantastic facilities & wonderful staff only complaint was being attacked at the Michael Jackson night by some extremely aggresive american guests. for some reason they seem to think that because they had seats that none else was entitied to watch the show, this type of behaviour wud not be tolerated elsewhere & shud be monitored by hotel management.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for letting us know about the incident during the Michael Jackson show.

The incident you have shared with us is completely unacceptable and will not be tolerated in the future. Keeping a safe and comfortable environment is a must and we will do whatever it takes to maintain it. Unfortunately we cannot control guests behavior, we can only work on taking the necessary measures when this happen.

After all, we are pleased to read that the only incident did not tarnish your overall experience and you enjoyed our facilities and the attention provided by our always smiling staff.

Receive warm regards from Playa del Carmen, specifically from Paradise!


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

La Perla is a gorgeous and luxurious hotel in a beautiful location. Everyone is extremely friendly and helpful, a great staff to fit this great hotel. Would definitely go back and recommend. A superb choice of delicious restaurants adds to the quality of the experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your visit to Paradisus. We are glad to read your expectations were fully covered regarding our unique LUXEclusive plan and the service provided.

Please be sure we will keep our high quality standards to guarantee the attentive and caring service provided by our staff. It is crucial for us to create unforgettable memories from every moment in your vacations.

Receive warm regards from the Caribbean.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were fortunate to attend on a corporate reward function which gave some privilages. The place was amazing. We've done several 5 stars in the Mayan area and nothing compares (of course this cost more if you pay). Service was really friendly and rooms super clean and modern. Double rain showers, sinks and so on. Rooms come with ipod docks etc. Restaurants are really nice and buffet was solid. Beach was nice but water entry was not as nice. Bit of coral. The pool bar area had a great lunch/snack bar. Overall the resort didn't feel busy, very quiet. None of that 6am towel on the beach chair annoyance. Disco is a fun outing. You really don't want to leave the place to tour. No complaints except would've liked to stay longer.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor or balcony with jucuzzi tub. Grey Goose is included
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write a review from your stay at Paradisus La Perla.
It is amazing to read you had a wonderful stay, taking advantage of our LUXEclusive plan and all the amenities provided in your room.

Thank you for your recommendation and in your next visit it would be great if you could come just to relax and have fun.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen, Antwerpen, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Service at Paradisus La Perla. Upon arrival at the hotel, they have welcomed us with a glass of champagne, after which our private butler showed us the hotel and our room. They treat you really like royals!
Luisa and Eduardo were our private butlers, two of the most great people I have ever met.
At the pool bar we had our bartenders Melquiades, Marko and Jorge they were at our service every minute and made us the best cocktails ever. We also want to thank Arturo and Jose Angel, Arturo for bringing us our lunch at the pool and Jose Angel to make up our beds at the pool every day and bringing us some nice snacks during the day!!
In the evening you can enjoy a lot of great restaurants! We really recommend Bana Tepanyake and Fuego.

Room Tip: Take the Royal Service!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write a review from your stay at Paradisus La Perla – Royal Service.

We are proud to have employees like Arturo at RS pool area, José Angel as pool concierge, Melquiades, Marco and Jorge at the pool bar and your butlers Luisa and Eduardo. All of them pampered you as you deserved and now you remind them for their special attention to details and went the extra mile to get your entire satisfaction. They will be informed about your recognition to their outstanding work.

We would be honor if you decide to stay again with us, so you can re-experience the relaxing moments by the pool, maybe taking a treatment at our Yhi Spa or being part of our life enriching activities.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Riviera Maya, Mexico
Address: 5a Avenida Esquina Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a spectacular tiny bay, the Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel for adults only, and one of the most luxurious hotels in Riviera Maya. Combining a prestigious Caribbean setting with world-class facilities, including Royal Service, the ultimate in spa treatments, a relaxed ambience, and flexible meeting spaces with state-of-the-art equipment. This elegant resort has a Mayan ecological feeling, and an oceanfront location surrounded by a lush tropical mangrove preserve and with views of Cozumel Island. Take your senses on a culinary tour through eleven remarkable restaurants serving delicious cuisine from all around the world and ten bars serving unlimited international Premium brand drinks. Enjoy life-enriching experiences such as tango dance classes, sushi-making, and sensorial experiences.This luxury All-Inclusive Adults Only Resort is located 45 minutes from Cancun International Airport very near the magnificent beaches and attractions such as the Playa del Carmen 5th Avenue, Xcaret, Akumal and Xel-Ha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Melia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Venere, Amex, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.