We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL AND STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Save Saved
You added Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   5a Avenida Esquina Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL AND STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Playa del Carmen never dissapoints. We booked on line and we got there to a great surprise. We got a wonderfull suite..but we didn't think it will be so big. 2 bathrooms with 2 full vanities, bathtub, giant closets and living area with dining table. Great service all the way. We were not royal service but we got royal treatment anyways from the reception, concierges to the rest of the staff. The beach is not the biggest but when you are in between beach and pool it doesn't really matter. It is also very closed to Playa downtown which we loved.. only 5 mins. we were there March 2012 and we are thinking on going back.

All the restaurants are great Bana, Passion, and the buffet was always awesome. Even the family part was amazing...It is not the least expensive place to go but for sure you get your money back. We even got a one night free for next stay and that was a nice treat at the end of the trip. I am hooked with Paradisus Hotels now.. Great Hotel to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, even when you stayed with us a few months ago.

Our LUXEclusive plan in one of our strengths, most of our guests enjoy the wide food and beverages variety offered in the resort accompanied with the warm and professional service, like the one you received at all moments since your check in until your check out.

We value your kind words and please consider staying again at Paradisus La Perla in the near future.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,194
    476
    154
    49
    45
See reviews for
248
1910
40
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am not a big fan of the "all-inclusive concept" as most of my previous trips to Mexico (Cancun) were to the Le Meridien in Cancun before Starwood sold off. I typically feel the "all inclusive" concept is tantamount to a 24/7 food and alcohol binge (mediocre of both). however, La Perla was a tremendous experience. I was there for four days which I guess any longer they could have wheeled me out of there, so that to me was a perfect timeframe for this type of resort.

Upgraded to the Royal Service which was a reasonable cost which included butler service and the adult area. Louisa was our butler and she (or one of her co-workers) was extremely helpful and charming. The sit down restaurants were first class, the alcohol was top shelf (Grey Goose or Kettle One was call) and the "adult pool" was part of the Royal Service (although I will say I'm Pit Bulled out). (I need to also mention Tony our waiter at the asian /indian fusion restaurant served at a level of a NYC restaurant). I hit the place at a time when they were about 70% full but it seemed to have a much lower occupancy, so I suspect in a full house the Royal Service upgrade will keep anyone from having to wait for service. I didn't wander over to the Paradisus (family) area so not sure how busy that was.

The only downer was the weather as it was overcast most of the weekend. We went into the City two nights and on a four day trip more than enough as it is the typical touristy downtown.

All and all do it again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear guest,

We gladly read that our LUXEclusive plan really surpised you and surpassed your expectations due your previous all inclusive experiences. Our Food & beverage Manager requests the best quality products and they are well valued by guests like you.

It is fantastic that you took advantage of the extra amenities and benefits for our Royal Service guests. It is just another way to indulge yourself during your holidays and as you stated, it is worth it.

Now you know what to expect when visiting Paradisus and please consider to stay with us again for your next vacations in the Mexican Caribbean.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

After reading so many glowing reviews, I was very disappointed when we arrived at the property. The room (and entire property) were clean in the most basic sense of the word. Spills (at least that's what I hope they were) in the elevators and on the floors in public areas. A spill in our bathroom that was apparently there b/f we arrived, was never cleaned up. The "soaking tub" was NOT clean. I could go on, but won't. The food at Le Passion (with an upcharge) was good and they accommodated my husband's gluten intolerance at every course and had 2 (good) bread selections. Otherwise, the food was mediocre at best. The bar service was awful and ended up ordering Grey Goose on the rocks with a lime and a bottle water in the hopes of tasting anything other than very sweet mixer. Upon arrival we went to sit on the beach to enjoy the late afternoon and it was pretty sketchy. Did not go back out there.
BTW, the reviewer that said the swim up jr. suite was very private - not so much out on the balcony area - unfortunately for us who were on the 3rd floor.
The bed and linens were excellent. Too bad the rest of the resort didn't measure up!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guest,

We are always eager to know the areas we need to improve. As a service company it is possible to incur in certain flaws due all of us working here are people.

Your comments about the cleaning in your room and the public areas have been sent to our Housekeeping director. We will reinforce our procedures and training programs to the staff, as that mistake is not a common one and is not a reflection of the quality we strive every day. Please accept our apology.
We did the same with our Food and beverage manager to review the mixers offered at our bars, as the amount of sugar in the products may vary from one person to another.

On the other hand, we are pleased you realized about our effort to satisfy all our guests when they have any dietary restriction. It is really important for us to satisfy our guests.

It would be fantastic if you could give us another opportunity to show you the amazing Paradisus experience you have read in other tourists´ reviews.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We spent a few days in Paradisus in December, just me and my wife. We upgraded to Royal service for $80 a night, in my opinion it was worth it, mainly because of the heated pool (my wife is very sensitive to pool temperature :) ) and more privacy and more bali bed around the pool.

It is a large resort, but due to smart lay out it feels like you are alway in a small intimate area, hotel has many bars with different themes and there is often live music. They do not have large varsity shows stuffed by life guards and waiters, rather they invite small troops of professional performers for more intimate shows. I prefer this to the large stadium seating that say Iberostar shows have.

Food wise, we really liked the resort. They definitely stir you toward restaurants, buffet food is ok, decent quality but it does not have the mind boggling expansiveness of a typical all inclusive . buffet. Restaurant food however, is excellent, out favorite was Fuego for bot great service and food, the Mexican restaurant was also ver good. We were not as impressed with the Cabana (I think that it is the name) the exclusive Royal service only restaurant. It was fine but not great. We also like the fact that there is food service at the pool and you can get decent variety right to your bali bed.
The only downside is that the beach is relatively narrow, we were told that the hurricanes blew some of it away, but it is definitely not as wide as at Playa Paraiso for example

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your experience at Paradisus La Perla – Royal Service, highlighting the elements you enjoyed the most, like the exclusive facilities in that area, the delicious meals at our restaurants, giving a complete turn to the traditional all inclusives.

We appreciate your notes and please honor us again with your presence in the near future when you feel the need to be pamper, surrounded by nature, enjoying delicious drinks, having a tan, tasting some gourmet delicacies, all in the same place: Paradisus Playa del Carmen.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband Leo and I together with our friends, Joe and Gina just returned from a 7 night vacation at this resort. The resort is beautiful and very clean. We had originally booked an ocean view junior suite and as soon as we arrived were both upgraded to an ocean view suite. As soon as we checked in, Luis from guest service explained to us all about the resort and was very funny in doing so. He made all the restaurant reservations for us also. He had plenty of recommendations for us. He was not pushy at all.
The room was beautiful. They cleaned it in the morning and then gave you fresh towels in the evening and turned your bed and placed chocolates on pillows. The pillows and bedding were very comfortable. The balcony had a jacuzzi which we made use of almost every day after we got back from beach.
The beach is very rocky but we found a spot right at the beginning where there were no rocks and it was easy to go into the warm ocean water. The barbecue chicken right on the beach was delicious. I have stayed at all-inclusives before and the food has never been this good. Our favorite restaurants were Fuego and Bana. The Rodizzio grill meat was very tender and not dry or tough at all. Staff is extremely friendly and pleasant. Santos Soto, Antonio Arroyo, Jose Tun, and Joel Garcia from Hadar restaurant were extremely pleasant and friendly. They were very attentive to your every need. Every morning when we arrived for breakfast they had a booth waiting for us and knew what type of cofee we liked. As soon as they saw you walking back from the buffet they would help you bring your plate with food to the table. When we went to lunch they were always there with a smile and catered to us in every possible way. Every single staff member at la Perla was super friendly. Everyone said hello to you as you walked on by. When we went to the bars, the staff there knew what kind of drink you liked and had it ready for you even before you had a chance to order it.
The shows at night were very entertaining. After the shows we would go to the red lounge and dance all night.
I would definitely go back to this resort again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest,

We are pleased to know you had an incredible time during your vacation at Paradisus La Perla along with your friends.

One Paradisus principle is our guests´ enjoyment of everything! Our “Pure freedom” philosophy translates into your review completely: relaxing by the beautiful beach, seating on your terrace and get into the warm jacuzzi and having delicious meals at our variety of restaurants and bars, always with the attentive service that characterizes us.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other tourists and please remember all the good times in Paradisus when you plan your future beach getaway.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I spent 10 days here traveling with a client. This property is really visually appealing. While the rooms themselves aren't anything to write home about, the restaurant and dining options were excellent as was the martini bar (Daniel is fantastic). It's nice to have the option of the family side (lots of fun kids pool toys & equipment) and the adult side. Tried most of the dining options and while not 5 stars, a solid 4. Rooms are comfortable but not terribly fancy. The swim-up rooms looked fun but with a toddler, I really wouldn't take the risk to stay in one.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for selecting Paradisus for your past holidays.

We are pleased to read you took advantage of our LUXEclusive plan with several dining options at all our a la cart restaurants, buffets, bars and snack bars.

We would appreciate if you decide to come back to Paradisus La Esmeralda with your family, or to Paradisus La Perla for a “just for adults” experience.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at paradisus la perla and had a fantastic time. We are 29 and 31.
The place is incredible on so many levels. All the staff there is great. They are all very hard working and always seemed to go the extra mile.

Our room was a swim up junior suite in the royal service. The room was very private, and having the pool right there was a great option. We also liked having the pool heated because there were days when it wasn't that warm, and being able to lounge in warmer water was nice.
Our room was second from last (room 1091)in the junior swim up, but recommend not getting the very last room (1090) because there is nothing to shade you from the sun when you want to sit on your day bed on the patio. The people next to us expressed it would be nice to have some shade during down time, and still be able to site outside at there room. That room got the sun all day long.

The royal service was great, and so was our butler Karen. I swear somedays our room got cleaned at least 3 times a day. We always had fresh towels. Ordering room service was good too, fast and tasty. We went with royal service mainly for the room location, a lot more private and quiet than a regular swim up room. All the royal service swim up rooms have no ocean view, just the pool in front of you and vegitation. We preferred the convenience of the pool to a room with a view. The pool side service was also excellent.

As for the food, It was all terrific. We really enjoyed Fuego and Vento as favourites for dinner. We cannot forgot to me to mention Passion. Because we stayed in royal service for 7 nights, we got a free dinner there. The food was very very good, and the service was even better. You have to stay at least 7 nights in royal service for this meal to be included. Fuego appeared to share the same kitchen as Passion. It was very comparable in menu items, quality, and service.

For lunch, we went to La Palapa in the royal service which was good, and also to The Market.

Hadar buffet was by far, the best place to eat for breakfast. It had everything you could possibly want. Fresh made omelettes, fruit smoothies made right in front of you, you name it, it was good.

The alcohol there was top notch as well. They had all the top brands. If you don't see it. Ask for it. Sometimes they keep the top brands refrigerated.

We never felt any pressure to tip anywhere in the resort. We experianced amazing service from all serving staff and tipped at every meal regardless. They were very gracious when tipped.

Also, they did a great job keeping kids out of the adults only area. We never saw a kid unless we went into areas where they were allowed.

Side note: all the beef and chicken and pork tasted like how it tastes in Canada/USA

Entertainment at night was good. We found a few spots that were decent. The Gabi Club and The Red Lounge were about the best. If you want to eat late outside your room, the Market is open late. I thought the resort did a good job with the entertainment, but if you really want to have a fun time at night head into playa, it was only a $10 taxi ride in. Took only ten minutes as well.

We went to Coco bongo one night and had a blast. The show they put on was awesome. It is a Vegas style show in a huge night club. Check some of it out on You Tube. Show starts at 11pm and runs till about 2am and then a dj until around 3:30am.

We also liked the proximity of paradisus To Playa Del Carmen. It was only a 25-30 min walk on beach. The walk was very easy to do, very sandy all the way, very safe. We passed in front of numerous other resorts on our way there.

As for the beach, it was great. It is narrow but long. Very sandy. When we walked down to Playa we started seeing bigger beaches, but they just ended up being more crowded. I like the smaller beach, more relaxing, less people. The only problem is access getting into the water. It looks like it should be fine, but once you start walking in, there are rocks, holes, logs, you name it, under the water that you cant see. The reason you can't see it is because the first 25' of water is always stirred up and mirky because of the waves. We tried going snorkelling and just about killed ourselves getting in. Once we finally got out deep enough, it was still to mirky to see. You are only allowed to go out so far. We are not huge ocean swimmers, so it was not that big of a deal for us.

There were (2) things that bothered us at paradisus la perla.
- Smokers. We are not smokers, and our friends there weren't either. I cannot tell you how many times we would be laying at the beach, or at the pool, when some inconsiderate person would just start smoking away. It would be nice if they had a designated smoking area so the people who don't smoke, don't have to breathe it in. They do it in the restaurants there, so why not at the pool and beach.

- The banging doors in the morning . Not sure if it was housekeeping or other guests but it did wake us up earlier than we wanted a couple mornings.

Tips: bring you own shampoo and conditioner, they only supply 2 in 1 shampoo conditioner.
They had a IPod stereo/charging docking station in the room.
Check out there resort map online to show royal service room locations.
They supplied various sun blocks at the towel huts around the pool if you run out or forget yours.



Overall the room was terrific, just like the pictures show and in our option royal service is a must!

Room Tip: Check the map on there website for room locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for sharing your detailed Paradisus experience while celebrating your anniversary.

We are pleased to read you had an excellent overall experience while enjoying delicious meals at all our restaurants, the comfort and all the amenities offered in your room and the warm and professional service provided by our staff. We will keep the committed work to surpass all our guests’ expectations and continue with our most important goal, creating memorable experiences to all our visitors.

We sent your recognition to your butler Karen at Royal Service, she remembers you and your wife perfectly and also she feel satisfied that you had an overall relaxing and pleasant stay with us.

We will reinforce with our housekeeping department the subject about being quite during their duties in case they cause the noise that woke you up in the morning. We are sorry for the inconvenience.

We would appreciate if you recommend your family and friends to live the Paradisus experience and we hope you come back to this little piece of paradise by the Mexican Caribbean.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Address: 5a Avenida Esquina Calle 112, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a spectacular tiny bay, the Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel for adults only, and one of the most luxurious hotels in Riviera Maya. Combining a prestigious Caribbean setting with world-class facilities, including Royal Service, the ultimate in spa treatments, a relaxed ambience, and flexible meeting spaces with state-of-the-art equipment. This elegant resort has a Mayan ecological feeling, and an oceanfront location surrounded by a lush tropical mangrove preserve and with views of Cozumel Island. Take your senses on a culinary tour through eleven remarkable restaurants serving delicious cuisine from all around the world and ten bars serving unlimited international Premium brand drinks. Enjoy life-enriching experiences such as tango dance classes, sushi-making, and sensorial experiences.This luxury All-Inclusive Adults Only Resort is located 45 minutes from Cancun International Airport very near the magnificent beaches and attractions such as the Playa del Carmen 5th Avenue, Xcaret, Akumal and Xel-Ha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Travelocity, Expedia, Melia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;