We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vento Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla to your Saves list
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   5a Av Esq Calle 112 | Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Vento Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Vento is a restaurant shared byLa Esmeralda and La Perla Resorts in Playa del Carmen. It is one of 14 that is offered to guests in this all-inclusive resort. The Vento offers a Mediterranean dining experience with dishes from around the Mediterranean basin. I had an appitiser from Mooocco, a tomatoe soup and a Rosotto (with an infussion of white truffles) from Italy. The eclectic menu was explained to us in great detail by our waiter and guide, Tony Tabsada who had an encyclpedic knowledge not only of the menu but of the different foods of the Mediterranean regions. There were items from Lebenon, Turkey, Greece, Morocco, Italy, France, Tunisia and other locations along the sea. As each serving was delivered, Tony would explain the ingredients and how each was prepared. In all, it was a gastronomical feast

Room Tip: It is one of many Restaurants to choose from at the two Paradisus Playa del Carmen resorts
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Our vast gastronomic experience, especially at our Vento restaurant and the attentive service provided by a professional in his field like Tony made your culinary experience an unforgettable one. Thank you very much for share it with us and with future Paradisus guests willing to learn and enjoy our gastronomy.

All of us in Paradisus will be waiting for your return with our arms open.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,544
    531
    169
    58
    49
See reviews for
270
2,213
41
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (735)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I spent 4 days at this big new hotel. Everything was great. It has everything, Spa, Resto, boutique, etc. The room was excellent, clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly ready to help. The pools were nice. At night they have different shows every day. In general words, the hotel was great. I will recommend it if you will spend the full day in a Hotel. The only thing that i didn't like was the beach, many waves, and it was not very clean.. Definitely the beach in the hotel is not best in Playa del Carmen. For the Hotel my qualifications is Excellent!! but for their beach is poor! Please Thanks if my comment help you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our unique situation was that of being a couple staying at La Perla while a large conference took over most of the resort. That said, the service could not have been more perfect or attentive. There were special touches every day to make us feel welcome and pampered! We welcomed the special meal accomodations, and the private concierge service provided to us. We truly received the finest service we have ever had on a vacation.

The resort is luxurious, sophisticated, and definitely caters to the modern high-end resort traveler. Since my husand and I tend to be more rustic/back country types, we really enjoyed the ability to get away from the pool noise and the stereo-thumping to the private beach, where the surf pounded and the majestic oceanscape gave an atmosphere of privacy.

We also truly enjoyed being able to speak and share stories with our waiters, chefs, service providers,and all of the staff at the hotel. Traveling is so much better when one feels that the benefits of it are shared by the host and the hosted.

Special thanks to:
Alicia in Family Concierge La Esmerelda,
Alejandro
Fernando Solis and Rafael Velasco
Franciso at Vento
Santos at Hadar
Naela in room service
Regerios and Jorge in Bana
and
Ines and Anahi, our bulters!

Muchas Gracias! Rachel and Corey from Wisconsin

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Mrs. Rachel and Mr. Corey,

Thank you very much for sharing your Paradisus experience with us and with future visitors.

We feel satisfied that during a challenging week with a big group in house, we could transmit to you our sincere interest to fit all your requests and your felt really pampered by our staff at all the areas of the resort.

We value the fact that you remember the name of the staff members that made your stay more enjoyable and be sure that they will be informed about your notes.

As you lived by yourselves, details are crucial for us and we are confident that all of them help us to provide the experience our guests are looking for. Thank you for appreciate them.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

From the moment you come in to the last second you leave, its unbelievably amazing !!! It was PERFECTION. its clean, beautiful and the quality was very high in terms of everything you can think of. The staff was professional, extremely nice and amiable. I will absolutely go back !!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for describing shortly your amazing experience at Paradisus La Perla.

Our staff always willing to help, the comfort at our guest rooms and enjoying several delicacies options at our restaurants are some of the basic elements of our LUXEclusive plan. We are glad to read you took advantage of it.

We are happy to read you will come back in the future to our unique portion of Paradise.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is an outstanding all inclusive. We were upgraded to the Royal Service area, which was an added perk, but all of the rooms looked very nice. The facility is less than a year old and gorgeous--a modern, sophisticated feel, like a Mexican "W". The pool and common areas were gorgeous. Lots of very inviting, comfortable sitting/lounging areas, cabanas, etc. throughout the pool and common areas. The staff service was great at all levels. There are 10+ restaurants, with very fresh, varied options. The bars served top shelf brands and very generous pourings. Nice exercise area with good cardio and weight machines; also many classes offered such as Pilates, zumba and spinning. Various activities during the day to include wine tasting. We stayed on the adults only side, but there appeared to be lots of kid activities. A really great, relaxing, pampering experience for a very good rate.

Room Tip: Royal Service area was fantastic; most first rooms throughout the complex have swim up rooms, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review from your stay at Paradisus La Perla.

We are completely glad to read you had a wonderful time here with us, taking advantage of all the beautiful decorated resort facilities, being papered by our warm staff, always trying to surpass our guests’ expectations.

It is good to know you attended to several of our “Life enriching activities”. Paradisus created them because at regular life sometimes it is impossible to take some lesson we might be interested due to lack of time. While you are on vacation with us, it is possible to take join to Tango therapy, wine or tequila tasting, Photo lab, belly dance, among others.

Please remember to come back to Paradisus La Perla, where reality melts with Paradise.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, ON
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla from October 27 to November 3, 2012. Sorry, this review is late.

The experience from the moment you get out of your airport shuttle is top notch. Beautiful lobby area, with nice sculptures, art work, gardens, water fountains.

Room:
We stayed in the cheapest room, garden view with no swim-up patio. Beautiful furnishings and artwork. Amazing double rainfall showers with about 15-foot high ceilings. High quality soaps, shampoo, lotions (Thierry Mugler brand).

Nice small touches all over the room. For example, there is no lamp on the side table. For illumination, there is a nightlight which folds neatly into the wall when not in use.
The toilet is in a separate room, with telephone (I guess if you need to call Front Desk for more toilet paper?). Bedroom slippers are provided.

There were some bugs crawling around the floor. Looked like small thin worms. No roaches or spiders. The air conditioning worked fine. Always had hot water at all times of the day and night. No problem with excessive noise or rowdyism. We were on the ground floor.

Pool Area:
Lots of pool chaises at all times of the day. We’d have a late breakfast and get to the pool by about 10:30am, and never had a problem getting 2 chaises together.
There are mattresses for lounging around the pool area, covered by palapas.

Lots of Jacuzzi-type hot tubs around, but no hot water, just cold water. Even in the spa area, the Jacuzzi was at best lukewarm. For a resort that bills itself as 5 star, this is disappointing. A hot-tub should have hot water.

Restaurants:
No buffets at night, just a-la cartes. Amazing food and decor! Like eating in a fancy restaurant each night of the week. There were about 7 restaurants open for dinner each night, and we repeated some that were great, so ended up missing one. Didn’t have an average dinner the whole week.

La Palapa was the best. It’s on the Royal Service side of the resort, which is off-limits during Lunch, but is available during Dinner.

The wines at dinner were excellent for an all-inclusive resort. In most all-inclusives we’ve been to, there is one house red and one house white. But here there were 4 house reds (Shiraz, Merlot, Cabernet, and I think Amarone) and a couple house whites. Plus a wine list if you want to buy a bottle.

The buffet restaurants are nice too. They’re open for Breakfast and Lunch.

Beach Area:
A bit disappointing. Narrow sand area between the waterline and the chaises. Lots of rocks in the water. We were on the La Perla side of the beach, but even the La Esmeralda side had lots of rocks, though their sand area was wider.
Waiter service on the beach was excellent. They’re constantly coming around to take food and drink orders. The service is fast too; don’t have to wait long for order to be filled.

Bars and Nightly Entertainment:
Excellent variety of bars, each with unique themes. There’s even a sake bar outside the Japanese restaurant, with different cocktails featuring sake.

Spa:
We were given a $100 credit for the spa upon check-in, so we each had a head massage. The spa facility is very nice smelling. Aroma therapy I guess. Hot-tub had no hot water though.

Staff:
Excellent service in buffet restaurants, a-la carte restaurants, bars, and the Gabi nightclub.
A special greeting to the following exceptional staff:
- Jorge is the Entertainment Supervisor in the evenings. He welcomed us our first night, brought us some nice drinks, and was throughout the week a very pleasant chap, making sure we had seats at the shows and were having a good time.
- Ivan is in the Entertainment staff. Very personable young man.
- Miguel is a waiter in the buffet restaurants (Hadar and Naos restaurants). A professional old-school waiter who provides excellent service.

Negatives:
- As mentioned previously, the hot-tubs didn’t have hot water.
- As mentioned previously, the beach area is disappointing.
- Although the town of Playa del Carmen is very close to the resort (you can see the buildings from the lobby area), the resort staff don’t recommend you walk into town.

Along the beach, you can walk into town in about 25 minutes. But from the driveway of the resort, along the sidewalk, they don’t recommend you walk there. This was disappointing to us, because we like to walk outside the resort when we’re on Vacation.

When we asked for the reason you can’t walk into town, they were vague with us. I suspect perhaps it’s dangerous (crime) to walk there, but the resort staff didn’t want to say that.
A taxi ride is U.S.$10 each way into town.


Overall:
We’d definitely return for the right price. La Perla is amazing!
We felt pampered from start to finish. Truly a memorable vacation experience.
Five stars out of five.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Let us state that we are completely proud of the attentive and caring staff that we have at the resort. As you experienced and is mentioned in must all the reviews from other travelers, the service provided by the personnel is what they really treasure from the whole experience, as they enjoy pampering all of you. Of course that the entire ambiance, meals, beverages, facilities, pools and other aspects are also important, but the service is always highlighted.

Thank you also for your observations. It is important to mention that Paradisus is located just 10 minutes away from the 5th avenue, the touristic part of Playa del Carmen. Outside the resort is a community but there is nothing special or significant to see around, that is why we suggest our guests to walk on the 5th avenue where all the bars, restaurants, boutiques and souvenir stores are.

We are pleased to read you had a great vacation with us and we will be happy to host you again at Paradisus la Perla.


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have spent my christmas holidays with my partner in La Perla resort and we had a lovely stay and i would say a perfect christmas. The resort with all the activities and the food, unbelievable wide variety of restaurants that really made me happy.
Beautiful beach really calm and perfect to relax, really enjoyed swimming during the sunset.
We always felt well attended, it was a very professional staff.
I expect to be there this summer. I strongly recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Manager B, Gerente at Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate the time you took to write a review from your Christmas holidays at Paradisus La Perla.

It is amazing to read you had a wonderful stay while taking advantage of our unique LUXEclusive plan, all the amenities, activities, shows, tranquil beach and the kind service you were able to enjoy.

Our arms are wide open to welcome you again this summer!


Alan Becerril
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla

Address: 5a Av Esq Calle 112 | Col. Luis Donaldo Colosio, Playa del Carmen 77719, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 394
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a spectacular tiny bay, the Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla is a hotel for adults only, and one of the most luxurious hotels in Riviera Maya. Combining a prestigious Caribbean setting with world-class facilities, including Royal Service, the ultimate in spa treatments, a relaxed ambience, and flexible meeting spaces with state-of-the-art equipment. This elegant resort has a Mayan ecological feeling, and an oceanfront location surrounded by a lush tropical mangrove preserve and with views of Cozumel Island. Take your senses on a culinary tour through eleven remarkable restaurants serving delicious cuisine from all around the world and ten bars serving unlimited international Premium brand drinks. Enjoy life-enriching experiences such as tango dance classes, sushi-making, and sensorial experiences. This luxury All-Inclusive Adults Only Resort is located 45 minutes from Cancun International Airport very near the magnificent beaches and attractions such as the Playa del Carmen 5th Avenue, Xcaret, Akumal and Xel-Ha. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Melia, Amex, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Perla Riviera Maya, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.