We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best meal in playa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Maya Mexican Cuisine - CLOSED

Luna Maya Mexican Cuisine
5ta Av. Norte esq.38 Mezzanine, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
52-984-8035880
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The flavors of the past brought into a contemporary delight. Our Chef Raul Pineda conveys the escence of the mexican cuisine, embracing techniques and ingredients resulting in dishes that will create new traditions. An elegant venue will welcome you with Mexican elements. Luna Maya is located in one of the best areas in Playa de Carmen just few blocks from the famous Shangri-la beach.
Hayward, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our best meal in playa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Yes, after 10 years of going to playa, the meal we had here was outstanding! The ceviche was the best, I had a shredded pork dish that was delicious. Restaurant is upstairs but the elevator will get you there. It's a little pricey- make it a special night. Very elegant!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jose d, Gerente at Luna Maya Mexican Cuisine, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you very much for you opinion, our mision is definitely we wil be the best restaurant of playa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    36
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
L.A., CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A delicious island in a sea of mediocrity!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We lucked out in going to Luna Maya. Living in Los Angeles, we have a lot of Mexican food - most of it just ok. Luna Maya was sort of a refined version of the food of the Yucatan. I say sort of, because it wasn't fancy - just beautifully made with some interesting techniques and presentation. The cochinita pibil (marinated pork) came in a mason jar with a smoldering piece of wood charcoal. It was the absolute best version of the dish I've ever had. Everything we had was fantastic.

The place is on the quiet end of Ave 5 so it was mellow and relaxing outside on the terrace. All in all a great place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and some friends visited Luna Maya for a birthday dinner. Our service was good. We had several waiters at our disposal. Our group agreed that the food was okay, but not superb. The food is definitely different than any where else we've tried in Playa del Carmen, with a lot of traditional Yucatan dishes.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A very special ocasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Luna Maya was recommended to us by our excellent wedding planner for our wedding reception, mind you we were a very small party (only six of us) but the experience exceeded our expectations. The very best service, 5-Star quality in the drinks (they fixed them to our specifications), the food, the waiting staff, it was simply perfect for our most special day. The location is superb, we were seated in the balcony and it was private while still being part of the restaurant. Have a drink at the upstairs bar, it is very classy and fun. The food is gourmet and the attention is the same for everyone, we noticed the same quality of service we got towards other patrons. If you are looking for a great dining experience, you must add Luna Maya to your list while in Playa.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Luna Maya wonderful dining experience for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This restaurant is on 5th avenue at 38th street. I took my family of 5 there for dinner. 3 kids 14,12 and 5. Please try the black bean soup, divine. Presentation was amazing. I had the traditional pork dish served in a mason jar. melt in your mouth dish with fresh tortillas and a yummy yummy habanero pepper sauce (served on the side). My 14 year old had the scallop and lobster dish wow he would like to go again for more. My 12 year old had the kids spaghetti and red sauce. Large portion and he ate every bite. My 5 year old had tortillas and salad and some spaghetti. My husband had the tuna. Magnificento!!! To top off we all shared the coconut flan and Chocolate cake. WOW!! The flan was one of the best we have ever tasted. The cake was. My mouth is watering as I talk about this delectable meal. The staff was so gracious and accommodating. The was an exemplinary dining experience. Last words Go gO go!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Maya Mexican Cuisine also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Maya Mexican Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.