We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ipanemas Grill

Ipanemas Grill
Ave 10 Nte esq. Calle 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 (984) 803 5313
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 746 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Cuisines: Brazilian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very good food, great service, nice staff!
The friendly staff would attend to your request gently and in a timely-manner.
The food was great as well as the atmosphere. The fact that it is a somewhat small room, makes the service very personalised.
The buffet choice was a little limited, but appropriate for the size of the restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    40
    14
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My Restaurant Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have been coming here since about 2006, and I absolutely love it. The "salad" bar (the name doesn't really do it justice) has an enormous variety to choose from, and you can get exactly what you want and as much of it as you want . . . but don't fill up too much on it . . . the grilled meats that are coming are so good that you will want to leave plenty of room for them.

If it were only about the food, I'd still give it high marks. But as delicious as the food is, and as good a value as the restaurant offers, my favorite part of enjoying an evening (or breakfast) at Ipanemas Grill is the people who work there. If you just want anonymity, they'll respectfully keep a distance. But I've enjoyed their company so much over the years that seeing them is now as important as having the incredibly good food (and drinks) that they serve. It had been a year since I was last there, but when I walked in, they came over to shake my hand and give me hugs, and a moment later they asked if I wanted my usual. Amazing!

They have wonderful senses of humor, they're attentive, friendly, and sincere. They are the very best of the great things Mexico has to offer.

Treat yourself to a wonderful evening of food and drink. And if you might be back, get to know the help a bit. It will enhance your experience, and you'll be glad you did.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Amazing experience & evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

From the minute we emailed them looking to do our reception the service was exceptional. When we walked in the service was the best. We were shown the buffet for seafood and salad & hot sides. Once we had gotten those the parade of great meat selections started . Something for everyone from amazing filet to chicken & different sausages to seafood. They played music so we could dance, waiters were top notch in service. Definitely great value we will be back . So glad we chose this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Nice restaurante with superb abundant food. Fair price for the quality and quantity!!
! We had a wonderful time, excellent service!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Great place you got there
I mean the service is great and the food even better.
Loved it.
Delicious.
I would love to go more often if i could only live closer
Well good luck and keep up the excellent job!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ipanemas Grill also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Ipanemas Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ipanemas Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.