We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Date night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ipanemas Grill

Ipanemas Grill
Ave 10 Nte esq. Calle 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 (984) 803 5313
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #206 of 731 restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Cuisines: Brazilian, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Date night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The food here is great and they give you plenty of it. They bring numerous meat samples from ham, steak, sausage, turkey, etc,. They also have a good salad bar with a lot of good side items to choose from. We enjoyed it and had go stop because there was way too much food to choose from. The grilled pineapple covered in cinnamon was a nice ending.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    90
    36
    14
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Be careful! Got very sick from here last night!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Not sure if was the prawns or rare steak however I woke up very ill with serious food poisoning!! Diarrhoea and vomiting-not ideal on a holiday. My wife went back today to let them know and they wouldn't even give a partial refund without a doctors certificate!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice if you need a break from Mexican cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The place is nice, right out of the chaos of 5th Avenida. It is a bit expensive for Mexico (churrasco with 18 spits and a buffet is 399 pesos per person). The buffet is quite ordinary, you get both hot and cold dishes, mainly vegetables and some fish, while the meat's quality is high. Overall, the dinner was good and it felt good to eat just broiled meat without all of the sauces and toppings.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Meat Lover's Paradise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We love this restaurant! The service is incredible! They always make us feel special. We have tried other steakhouses but no one has the consistency in service and quality of food like Ipanemas. This is always our first pick when celebrating something special. You have to go hungry and be ready to enjoy a huge variety of different cuts of beef and different styles of chicken, pork and shrimp and save room for the grilled pineapple! We can’t say enough positive things about this restaurant. It is always consistent and surpasses our expectations! LOVE IT!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“We will go back again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Great service, wonderful salad bar. Lots to choose from. Very nice wine list,by the glass or bottle. Every cut of meat was done to perfection, and served in the style of the gauchos. Could not have been any better. Even the coffee was good, and hot. Then lets talk about the Chocolate Mousse Cake, FANTASTIC!
Glad we had room for this. In the US we would pay upwards of $150.00 for this same meal@ Texas de Brazil. Great dinner for the price. On Fifth Avenue, we were handed a flyer, and, normally, we consider this a pressure tactic, but in Playa, there are so many restaurants to choose from, they need to be aggressive. Glad we went.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ipanemas Grill also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Ipanemas Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ipanemas Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.