We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern boutique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Be Playa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Be Playa Hotel to your Saves list
Be Playa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 26 entre avenida 5 y avenida 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #53 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Cairo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Modern boutique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at Be Playa during our honeymoon. Be playa was the third hotel we stayed in during the honey moon, so we had very high expectations.
Actually it lived up to the reputation, there were couple of things we didn't like but overall it was a great experience. The rooms were always clean, we always had towels, the staff were very helpful.

Pros:
you get the same as the pictures posted by the management, no fakes there. We didn't feel the problem of the noise that was mentioned in previous comments though we stayed on the third floor. We didn't feel that there was a problem with the elevator either, it took about 40 seconds to get to the first floor but what's the rush for.
The free apples gesture is very nice though by the time you finish breakfast, you'll find out that you need not see any fruits for the rest of the day.

Cons:
I didn't like at all the fact that i had to pay mandatory tip for the less than average breakfast. I couldn't see the point of the breakfast actually, I would accept this from a lesser hotel but not Be playa.
There is noise actually but it doesn't come from the roof, the plumbing really needs fixing, we had problems with the toilets as well but the guys were nice enough to fix it in no-time

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear "Ahmed H",

Thank you for your nice words about our hotel! We'll pass along your comments regarding the breakfast to management. Thanks for that too!

We really hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    81
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
15
154
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Room: Junior Suite, spacy and nicely furnished. Always clean. Turndown service. Complimentary bottled water each day.
Rooftop: Nice bar & pool, good drinks. stylish.
Frontdesk: Super friendly and helpful.
Sushiclub: Excellent sushi.

14 days of pure bliss. would recommend it to all my friends.

Room Tip: Get a Junior Suite. Worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear "Mario D",

We are glad that you had a great time at Be Playa! Thanks for the nice feedback!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

this place is trendy, it is what Mosquito aspires to be. We wish we would've picked this place initially and definitely plan to come back. The concierge "Oscar" is very helpful.The sushi restaurant has great breakfast and the white fish sashimi is awesome. The roof top bar and pool are perfect to hang out and relaxed, not over crowded. The location is perfectly situated near fifth avenue, literally three restaurants away, but this is good because you can get some peace and quiet.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the lower floors if you are sensitive to music later at night, sometimes they host...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear "GueyOfLife",

Thank you for your nice words!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay.

This is an incredible hotel with great access to all the restaurants and shops on Fifth Avenue. The rooftop pool and bar are terrific. We had a corner room that was tranquil and exquisite. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear "Joe P",

Thank you for your very nice words about our hotel!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Be Playa a few weeks ago. In short, it’s one of the best hotels we’ve ever stayed anywhere in the world and highly recommend it for those looking for a place to stay in Playa del Carmen.

Pros:
-Modern, large, sun filled rooms with everything from dual shower heads, in room Jacuzzi, large outdoor deck, etc. These rooms have everything you want.
-Fantastic location about 4 blocks from the beach, in the main tourist area but yet on the fringe of a nice residential area. The location is one of the best parts of the hotel.
-Cool roof deck with pool, bar, great lounge chairs, and good views and music
-Amazing staff that you make you feel like family. You can’t ask for a warmer environment.
-Surprisingly good sushi restaurant. Some of the best sushi I’ve had and hotel guests get a 20% discount so it is affordable.

Cons:
-None really. Some might be disappointed with the size of the complimentary breakfast but it’s more than enough to power you to lunch.

I won’t hesitate to stay at Be Playa the next time I come to Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear "A28970",

Thank you for your nice feedback! We love to read our guests had a good time!

We really hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kiryat ono
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

we steyed 4 amaizing nights in This tastefully decorated hotel. The service was excellent;The room was beautiful, comfortable and clean/ We loved the double shower and whirlpool.
The only thing that needs improvement relative - breakfast was not so good and the ingredients were poor
But who wants a different kind of hotel, with an experience of a stylish, centered of all the action - this is the place.

Room Tip: If you order online - get fourth night free
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear "genydim",

Thank you for your great comments! It's good to know you had a great time here!

We really hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Be Playa. The room is very modern and cool yet it has a great deal of windows facing to the hall, instead of walls, making it sensitive for noise. The roof bar is very nice and it's fun hanging there especially at night but notice that on Thursday-Saturday there are parties there and you will hear the music pretty loud in your room until 1-2am.

The hotel restaurant (sushi bar) is great and the guests enjoy 20% discount which is pretty cool.

The breakfast is continental: only fruit, croissant and toast.


Location is perfect right next to Mamitas beach which is the best beach in my opinion.


Shower has no door so we had a tons of water on the floor after every shower.



The reception staff was super nice and helpful and we enjoyed our stay there very much.



The only things I would say that bothered me:

1. The mini-bar in our room didn't work and no one fixed it although i requested twice.

2. We had a live cockroach in our room.

3. The waiter in the restaurant pretty much forced us to leave 20 pesos tip on the complementary breakfast, which was very rude.

4. The pool has rusty table+chairs in it so I felt it was gross getting into the water.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeHotels, Online Communications Manager at Be Playa Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear "ronika26",

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! And thanks for the photos you shared!

We hope to see you again soon on this beautiful part of the world!


Kind regards,


Be Playa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Be Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Playa Hotel

Address: Calle 26 entre avenida 5 y avenida 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#79 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Be Playa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel. Bohemian style. 23 Suites. Junior and master with Jacuzzi and terrace. Excelent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Be Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Playa Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Be Playa Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Be Playa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.