We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PapaCharly Pastas

PapaCharly Pastas
25 av. entre calle 30N y 32N | Facebook: PapaCharly Pastas, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 134 7919
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Argentinean, Italian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Read about this place on TA so I went to check it out. I had the lasagna which was huge and delicious! A nice glass of Cabernet to go with it, fresh bread and butter-perfect! The owners son, Jr, even gave me a lift back to the bus stop in town so I wouldn't have to take a cab! I tried to give him some cash which he promptly refused. Yu don't service that like that in the states! Thanks again for the best meal I had while on vacation, will be sure to come see you again next time I'm in Playa!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    18
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Pasta Ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a wonderful family owned restaurant set off the beaten path of 5th Ave. The menu is limited to pasta dishes, however, they do a terrific job of it and the prices can't be beat!

Pick your pasta and pick your sauce. Delicious ravioli...spinach & cheese or mushroom. Lasagna to die for and one of the best Puttanesca sauces I have ever tasted!

Portions are extremely generous. The wine selection is limited but feel free to bring your own and pay a small corking fee!

Don't miss this great little spot! Unlike most restaurants, they are closed on Saturdays...plan accordingly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancún, México
1 review
“The best pasta!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is the best pasta ever ate in Playa del Carmen. Amazing place, cooked by the family, everything is home made. I definitely recommend this place!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Not only is Util convenient, the food is great. Pick your pasta and pick your sauce, they all seem great. Literally a family run restaurant (still missing Papa-RIP) which treats people like they are part of the family. Great service and great food...no need to say more.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellente!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I dined here last night after a recommendation from Mapchick and reading the reviews here. This place is absolutely amazing and the best dinner I've ever had in Playa. The place isn't fancy, has only 4 tables (probably best to go very early or late), and is a couple blocks (easy walk) off Fifth. I had the carbonara pasta and my husband had the lasagna. Both were amazing. I don't think I've had Italian this good since being in Italy. And the best part... It's very reasonably priced! I have a feeling we will be back before we leave in four days.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PapaCharly Pastas also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to PapaCharly Pastas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PapaCharly Pastas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.