We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"SWEET CAPRI" is a sweet condo in a terrific location, steps from 5th Avenue and a short walk to the beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun and Sea Rentals

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sun and Sea Rentals
Save
You added Sun and Sea Rentals to your Saves list
Calle 46 Nte (Ctm Av) And Flamingos Street, Playa del Carmen, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"SWEET CAPRI" is a sweet condo in a terrific location, steps from 5th Avenue and a short walk to the beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Just as good as its pictures in the advertising, it was hard to find fault with this condo. The only issue would be the noise from the incessant traffic on busy 10th Ave which forced us to keep the windows closed. Our vacation was from Jan.12 to Feb.11 of 2014.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

very bad experience.....very nice 3 bedrooms condo , but very very noisy,police station few steps from the front balcony about 20 police man round up at 7am.....no sun at all for the whole day by the pool because of the building situation.....4 toilets not working well,even had a flow during the night,had to get up and clean everything for hours.....wifi worked only few days out of 28 days stay....owner and repair man would come in the condo very often while we were away....and on top of all ,they will suck every penny out of your deposit (500$usd)for any reasons....NEVER AGAIN !
I have to mention that employees did everything to help,but out of their control,and the managers bob and eileen bryan,are very nice people but nothing but fake........I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE AT ALL.

Room Tip: always check with tripadvisor before you rent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We used Sun & Sea Rentals for the first time & Paul was simply amazing! We booked a one week stay in El Faro Million $ View for Thanksgiving week & the location of this complex was right in the center of downtown Playa (located on the water & calle 10 norte. The condo is located on the beach, the complex had views of the caribbean blue ocean & it was 1 block to the pedestrian 5ta avenida. Paul greeted us upon our arrival & gave us a quick overview of the condo. The complex has a huge swimming pool, with plenty of lounge chairs around the pool & on the sand. We purchased an inexpensive ice chest & took it down to the beach with us every day. The condo we stayed in was "turn-key" with a fully equipped kitchen, TV w/ cable in the living room & the two bedrooms, DVD players, stereo, two & 1/2 baths, and a beautiful balcony off of the living room & master bedroom. We will continue using Sun and Sea Rentals from now on! Thanks Paul!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This review is about a year overdue. Feb/March 2013 was our second year renting from Sun & Sea Rentals and we're already booked for next year. There's a reason we keep coming back! We have enjoyed the very best service, attention to details, and prompt responses with any questions or issues. I will admit, the only "issue" we've had in our experience renting from this company was a blender that needed replacing and within an hour or so, Paul was right there with a new one. Sun & Sea has a lot of properties and both Paul and Eileen have taken the time each year to show us different rental options, however, we seem to consistently land at Aqua Terra 305. It's a lovely condo that really meets all of our needs. The private rooftop is awesome! Aqua Terra is a beautiful building in a great location. Close enough to everything Playa has to offer but in a nice neighbourhood that's away from the nightclub noise so you can get a good night's sleep. (Speaking of sleep, the beds are super comfortable!) There are some fantastic restaurants just minutes from the condo, fresh juice bar, bakery right across the street and grocery shopping close by. This condo really feels like home away from home for my husband, myself and our friends & family who visit us there each year. Eileen & Paul, thanks for everything- see you next winter!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed in Aqua Terra 308, a beautiful Penthouse with a sweet private terrace with jacuzzi on the top floor. When we arrived we found chilled beer and tapas in the fridge, what a cool welcoming! Sun and Sea Rentals treated us really we'll and had everything top notch for us, couldn't have been better. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We rented back in earley march 2012 a condo located in Puerto Morelos. we paid at that time 50% because the people of sune and sea said to make sure to garanty the rental is was much better to reserve early,
On Nov 12 we email sun and sea about our coming trip. Sun and sea reply weilcome to beautiful Playa Del Carmen, So we replied back that we did reseved at Puerto Morelos.
Two days later we are told that the condo has been sold and that we couls not go anymore to the original place. Sun and Sea offer two alternate choice one more expensive in Puerto Aventuras and one at AQUATERRA on stree 34 in Playa Del Carmem.
Since it was quite late in the season we face no choice at that time we also has 6 flight tickets paid.
The condo itself was not too bad except for the noise on street 34, The choice of the Puerto Morelos condo was to take in family with some important healt difficulty to move around so that we were right and the beach. So to make our life a little easier in Playa it necessited to rent a car for 9 days the additionnal cost =$ 760..
I still dont understand why it did not happen because sune and sea should have had a contrat with the owner about their rental agrement apparently there was nothing except verbal. Another question is when was that condo sold why has it been discover after my email?
I know sun and sea will say they did their best but to me they woke up too late have a major lack in their follow up
Finally sun and sea did not try to find another place in Puerto Morelos they only look inside their condo availability again has it was very late in the season we had no option.

May I recommend to Sun and Sea to change their name to WAIT and SEE that would be more appropriated to the quality of their service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

First of all, we love the condo… and thank-you for the beer and snacks! I went through the binder that you had prepared and found the code and everything we needed. Once again, I am very impressed with your level of service and preparation. "Flattery" you say? Well, my comments are mere appreciation for an amazing job Eileen. My wife and I have been renting condo’s in Playa for the last 8 years and your preparation and attention to detail has been the best we have experienced. We would love to buy you dinner so that we can chat about the area and potential opportunities.

Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sun and Sea Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun and Sea Rentals

Address: Calle 46 Nte (Ctm Av) And Flamingos Street, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SUN AND SEA is a online marketplace for holiday renters to find best deals for accommodation and a platform for homeowners to list their property & get complete control for their property management. We connect people who have vacation properties with those who are looking for a place to stay. Guests can build real connections with their hosts, gain access to distinctive spaces, and immerse themselves in the culture of their destinations. Whether it's an urban apartment or countryside castle, SUN AND SEA makes it effortless to showcase your space to an audience of millions, and to find the right space at any price point, anywhere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sun And Sea Rentals Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun and Sea Rentals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.