We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BUYER BEWARE!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fridas

Fridas
5th Av. between 12 st. and Calle Corazon, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
998 803 0004
Improve this listing
Ranked #456 of 768 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Southern Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“BUYER BEWARE!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Sooo many restaurants on 5th Ave. and we stopped at this one. Big Mistake! We ordered a bucket of beer and nachos, which was on special. We then ordered lunch for four of us and proceeded to eat. When the waiter brought out ticket, it seemed especially high so we reviewed the ticket. There were multiple items we were charged for but that we did not have. In addition, I asked about what meatless dishes were available; the waiter suggested the burrito with veggies, no meat. When our check arrived, were were charged EXTRA for NOT having meat in the burrito. Crazy! Paying $140 for lunch for four people was out of the question! When we questioned the waiter about the charges for items we did not have, he took a couple of small charges off, but we still ended up paying was too much for a lunch that was not at all that great. Definitely won't stop in here again, and would encourage anyone who does to thoroughly review your bill.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    56
    28
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We visited in February 2013 and when we came back this year, the staff recognized us and were pleased to see us again. we even got a special desert for the occasion!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Food was ok, service was good. Great place to sit & watch the people walking on 5th Ave. Drinks were good. They have several tv's on so watching the games were good.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quaint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stopped in for a quick bite whike on a stroll through the city. The staff seemed very unorganized and it was as though it was everybodies first day at work. The food was overpriced for what it was which was disappointing. Ordered chicken tacos and the chicken was processed, not fresh. My husband ordered a grilled chicken breast dish which was also the same processed meat.
The highlight of the restaurant was the artwork and decor inside.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Typical Mexican Faire”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Nothing exciting, nothing terrible. Can't say I'd go back. Our server was good. They try to hook you in for an extra $20 by taking a photo when you arrive and slapping it on a bottle of tequila.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fridas also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Fridas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fridas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.