We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location / value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Wyndham Azteca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Viva Wyndham Azteca to your Saves list
Viva Wyndham Azteca
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo Xaman-Ha, Lote Holetero No. 8, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Duffel, Antwerpen, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location / value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I went to Playa Del Carmen, Cancun with a friend to visit Mexico and enjoy some parties in Playa Del Carmen. We were welcomed with a smile and a cocktail. We got our cards to access the room and got a card for the towels. You got the option to hire the safe in your room for 2 dollar a day.

The service in this hotel is very good, when you need something they will get it for you. The beds are good and big. Everyday our room was cleaned and towels were changed.
The location of the hotel is perfect. You can walk about 20 minutes to the city of Playa Del Carmen which is perfect if you want to buy things, party or just hang out.

You can also access the other Viva resort which is a 5 minute walk on the beach. You can go in the pool, drink, eat and do everything there.

The food selection in the hotels was quite good. A lot of food to choose from a buffet or you could arrange a reservation for one of the 3 special restaurants. Those were also very good.

Had a great vacation and I will probably go back there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear guest,



Thank you for the fantastic review!



It is wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay during such a special occasion. We truly appreciate it when our guests take the time to inform us about their experience at the Viva Wyndham Azteca and we are thrilled to see that yours exceeded your expectations.



It would be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon and we thank you for your gracious review.



Kind regards,



Massimo Carugati

General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    899
    281
    87
    65
See reviews for
689
834
47
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have stayed here in 2009 and were happy that apart from new showers and the minibar not being refilled any more not much has changed - which is both positive AND negative.

The resort is one of the smaller resorts on the Mexican Riviera which in my opinion is a plus, as you don't have to be shuttled around a huge resort and don't need 15 minutes from your sunbed at the beach to your room. Also you can just walk along the beach to Playa del Carmen, we found out that walking along the beach is actually faster than using one of their free (but unfortunately very old and rusty) bicycles. Still the resort is large enough to offer a variety of restaurants (3 la carte + buffet restaurant), beach activities and plenty of sunbeds - but you have to be as early as 6am to get a decent sunbed in the shade.

For the first two days we were allocated a 1st floor room facing towards the backside which was quite a shock as I had asked for a ground floor room near the pool well in advance ad had also forgotten that the balconies are just 1 ft. wide, obviously being unfurnished. So if you don't want to wake up looking towards concrete and would actually sit on the balcony make sure to get a room on the ground floor, otherwise you also won't be able to dry your wet beachwear due to the lack of a laundry line in the bathroom. We were really glad to move rooms after 2 nights.

The hotel does it best to keep the resort clean and well maintained, you will always see somebody sweeping, cleaning or painting, however the rooms should be upgraded in the near future as the furniture in both rooms we had started falling apart (which is unfortunately also true for a lot of sunbeds at the beach) and the rotten smell which has been pointed out in so many reviews here is definately coming from the air con and you will not get used to it - not even after 2 weeks, it is absolutely disgusting. Furthermore the air con can only be turned on or off in three speeds, however the temperature will always stay the same (ice cold) no matter whether you turn it up to 30C or down to 15C.

Concerning food and drinks we were absolutely happy, even a picky eater will always be able to find something there's just so (too) much choice at the buffet. We tried all of the a la carte restaurants and were absolutely satisfied with all of them, although in our opinion the Italian one was the best of them. We also had dinner at the sister resort Viva Maya, however the hotel seems to cater more for the North American market and restaurant staff was either completely unfriendly (Miramare) or being a bit too american-over-the-top-superficially-friendly to get a tip. Staff at the Viva Azteca was always cheerful and friendly, be it at the reception, restaurants or one of the maids, only the guest service team were a bit indifferent and never ever smiled (not even on their lunch break *lol*).

As most of the other guests we didn't participate in any activities and agree with fellow reviewers that the that the animation team with their constant oh-oh and eh-eh and running along the beach desperately trying to find victims for their activities is just too much and sometimes started disturbing us and fellow guests. Why not turn the noise at the pool a bit down like the neighbouring resorts? Oh and when it comes to activities - a cross-trainer in the gym would be nice, there is one at the Viva Maya but was occupied every morning, so a second one would be a bonus...

Would we stay here again? Probably yes, but only if the air cons are being changed and if we get guaranteed a ground floor room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay at Viva Wyndham Azteca.



We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations. Your experience and the information you are providing will help us to continually improve our services.

Thank you once again for your comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our resort.

Best regards,




General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Good food,very clean, will return next year, clean beaches, great sailing,plenty of things to keep the kids busy,staff very friendly never had to wait at the bar. great place would recomend to any one for a relaxing holiday

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear guest,



Thank you for having taken the time to write this positive review.



The most important goal to us is to provide all of our guests with happy and memorable vacation experiences. We are glad to know that we have achieved this.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Viva Wyndham Azteca and we would be delighted to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,




General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

First time in the Mayan Riviera. Resort great, close to beach , although surf was up due to wind.Lots of lounges in the beach area, but people have a tendency to put their towels down early, and don't show up until much later if at all.. Had access to other Viva resort about a 12 min. walk. About a 25 min. walk to downtown, with access to Cozumel Ferry. .Accom. good, staff pleasant. Food variety excellent - unbelievable at the choices.

Room Tip: Not familiar enough with the whole layout - but we stayed on the top floor - 3200 series, close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear customer,

It is really satisfactory to receive your positive feedback and to know that we fulfilled your expectations during your stay at Viva Wyndham Azteca.

We will take your observations into consideration, as they will assist us in our ongoing commitment to improve our services and facilities.


Thank you for recommending our resort and please remember that we will be pleased to welcome you back.



Best regards,




General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had a great holiday here with friends. We were somewhat concerned before we went about the food, after reading some of the reports on trip advisor, especially as holiday food is extremely important to our two husbands! However, we need not have worried. The selection of food in the buffet was consistently excellent, and I defy anyone to eat everything even over a two week period! The fruit, vegetables and salads were gorgeous and the cheese very tasty too. We often ate there three times a day and had no complaints. Occasionally there would be a tough piece of meat, but no problem - just go back and get something else from the vast selection! Breakfast in particular was set out to cater to the tastes of just about any nationality you could imagine.

We also enjoyed the three a la carte restaurants. The men liked the Italian best (steaks!) but the women probably liked the Mexican best. The seating for this is outdoors and on the night we went was verging on the chilly, so a wrap, jumper or suchlike is recommended. Being British, we were somewhat disappointed that the resort do not in any way enforce their stated policy of long trousers and shirts with collars in the a la carte restaurants.

The serving staff in all the eating locations were unfailingly great to us - helpful, cheerful and with great senses of humour. We did tip frequently, but did not feel that this really affected their attitude towards us. Bellita, who manages the a la carte restaurants, was particularly sweet and is to be congratulated on her management of them.

We so enjoyed the cocktails! It was great fun trying the specialist ones that were served every night, and those by the lower bar in the late afternoons. The wine was disgusting, seemingly watered down to random different strengths on different days! However, we had been warned on tripadvisor of course, and could have paid for good stuff if we wanted. We decided that so long as we treated it as a drink rather than wine as such, then it was often bearable. We often decided to stick to unlimited delicious cocktails instead though!

We had an ocean view room (booked through the dependable Virgin)which we were very happy with. Some of the rooms further back in the complex did smell strongly of damp. Wonderful view from our room, a proper balcony with chairs and table, and we were able to dry our swimming gear on these every day. The bathroom was fine, the shower great. We were not bothered to have to take flannels with us, again having been warned of this on trip advisor, as it something we often have to do in Europe anyway. The room was kept impeccably clean, and we loved the towel animals every day. As for there only being two bottles of water in the mini-bar, we tipped the maid for extra the next morning (she gave us 3) and then realised that all we had to do was refill our bottles all the time from the more than plentiful purified water taps everywhere around the complex. We had also taken a couple of water flasks with us (again warned by the wonderful trip advisor). So, what's the problem? Ecologically it makes total sense.

The activities were brilliant. We didn't really join in much ourselves, but were always politely asked and not hassled in the slightest. We often really enjoyed watching others doing dance classes etc, and particularly enjoyed seeing the children. The children's activities are obviously fantastic, and they were all enjoying themselves so much. We did go to one evening show, put on by the hard-working, enthusiastic animation team. We decided it was great for families with children up to about 12 years old!

The beach is just incredible, with fabulous walking along the edge of the sea for a long, long way in each direction. We particularly liked walking to the right, where eventually the hotels stopped, giving way to countryside. All very pretty, and if you look carefully there are many iguanas on the rocks on the beach at this point. There are plentiful straw shades on the beach - which is more than some of the hotels have. You really need to see the hotels beachside rather than roadside before choosing one. The sea was never totally calm when we were there, but going in the roped-off area worked very well. A couple of days all we could do was jump the waves rather than swim, but that was great fun too. It is very shallow for a long way, so completely safe for supervised children.

We went on a couple of outings - booked through Virgin as we had a bad (and dangerous) experience in Thailand when we booked an excursion through an outside provider (don't ask!). Chichen Itza is a must, and going to the sink hole afterwards was great too. Our guide was fine, but unfortunately not very inspiring or enthusiastic. This was probably highlighted as there was a great contrast to the guide on our first trip , Riaz on the Coba Cultural. Coba was very interesting, but best of all was going to a Mayan settlement in the afternoon and being taken around the smallholding and habitations of one of the self-sufficient families. Riaz is half-Mayan himself and just oozes knowledge and enthusiasm. It was immensely interesting.

We did go to see the sister hotel, but decided we liked ours much better. In particular, we loved the pool bar with the view right down to the sea, rather than the seemingly somewhat claustrophobic one in the middle of the complex at the other hotel. Depends what you want really. We liked being in a smaller hotel, particularly as it was not noisy at night time.

This is not a 5 star hotel and you don't pay 5 star prices, and you shouldn't expect 5 star accommodation. We have been to Sandalls in Jamaica, which cost us considerably more. There were some things we preferred about Sandalls, but there were very definitely some thing we preferred about here too. Overall we were very happy, and would particularly thank the staff who work so tirelessly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear guest,



Thank you very much for your kind and detailed review of our Resort, its facilities and services and for sharing it on TripAdvisor.



We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that the Viva Wyndham Azteca contributed in making your visit to the Mayan Riviera an unforgettable experience! Your comments about our staff and about the impeccable service make us very proud. Your kind remarks will be passed on to them.



Once again thank you very much for sharing your experiences.



We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.



Kind regards,




General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Sask
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the Viva wyndham Azteca from March 7-14th. It was absolutely awesome. I have been to this resort before, and I must say each time it gets better. The location is perfect! Everyone(staff) is amazing. They go out of their way to make you feel important, cater to your every need. The smiles, drinks, beach, rooms, total environment, is breath taking. It is a smaller resort, which being as this trip was for relaxing, the size is perfect.
If you plan on going to playa del carmen check out blue lobster on 5th ave, the seafood is fabulous. The taxi is $7, or you can walk it in 15 minutes. Another highlight is our room was on the 3rd floor so always wi-fi, most of the reviews and people we spoke to said they had to go to the lobby to get wi-fi, not us, we had it most always, except on the beach. The entertainment staff worked their butt off and it showed.
Yes its a 4* resort but the food is impeccable, fresh fish every night, the fruit and vegetables were so fresh, just as if they just came from the garden. The deserts were also great. You will not be disappointed with this resort, unless you are looking for a partying atmosphere, but then you can go to coco bongos :-)

Room Tip: 2325 was a great room, wi-fi and newer, awesome view of beach and gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear guest,



There is no greater compliment than to hear from our loyal return guests that their stays are exceptional time and time again.



We are delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay while enjoying our convenient location and entertaining activities. We look forward to your next stay with us and thank you for your positive review of the Viva Wyndham Azteca.



Kind regards,




General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The staff at the Viva Wyndham Azteca are the best!!
And I want to Thank, Angel, Oscar, Mario, Enzo, Camilla
Daniel, Roberto and everyone else for helping to make our
trip as great as it was.
Jackie Campbell

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear customer,



Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you at Viva Wyndham Azteca.
We are glad to know that you had the chance to enjoy your vacation at our resort.



We would be delighted to welcome you back to our Resort and thank you for recommending the Viva Wyndham Azteca on TripAdvisor.



Best regards,




General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viva Wyndham Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Azteca

Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha, Lote Holetero No. 8, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#64 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Azteca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be close to everything. White sand beaches. Mayan ruins. Lush jungles. A championship golf course. And exciting nightlife. The Wyndham Azteca All-Inclusive Resort, a stunning resort on the breathtaking Mayan Riviera on the east coast of the Yucatan, has it all. And it's just 45 minutes from Cancun International Airport in Mexico. Explore captivating Mayan ruins. Find your own private seaside cove, or experience the fun in the sun and nightlife of Playa Del Carmen, just two miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Viva Wyndham Azteca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Azteca Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Viva Azteca
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Viva Azteca
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Azteca Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Wyndham Azteca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.