We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comprehensive Review: All you need to know” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Wyndham Azteca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Viva Wyndham Azteca to your Saves list
Viva Wyndham Azteca
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo Xaman-Ha, Lote Holetero No. 8, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #65 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Comprehensive Review: All you need to know”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The hotel, the community, the beach, the food, and the staff are all amazing.

Food: We never got sick of the food, which is shocking for a 2 week stay. The main buffet has a a very nice bistro style outdoor dining area that overlooks a courtyard. Getting a seat is never a problem. The al a cartes are very nice and make for a nice change of scenery. The Italian a la carte is the best. There is fantastic coffee at the snack bar and lobby bar. The snack bar is great, containing, pizza, burgers, drinks, fruits and everything you need if you don't want a full meal.

Maya: You can use all of the facilities at the Viva Maya. It is about a 10 minute walk. You will probably not use the Maya much because the Azteca is so much better in that it is way less crowded. This means the Azteca stays cleaner, less busy, less hostile, and more relaxed. You don't have to line up for a drink at the Azteca, unlike the Maya.

Staff: Friendly, polite and never make you feel like you're putting them out. Great staff to patron ratio. Everything is very clean all the time.

Playa: You will be in a gated hotel in a gated community. It is probably safer than any hotel where you live. The location is great with water sports and a dive shop onsite. The hotel is in the middle of the hotel/resort strip.

Guests: The hotel is small. This is a great thing because the less people, the less annoyances and less problems. Nowhere is busy. You will have no trouble getting a beach chair. You may have some trouble getting a chair under a palapas (umbrella). Most of the guests will speak German or Italian. The average age is about 45. So it's a relaxed atmosphere, not the place if you are looking for a party/spring break style resort.

Beach: One of the nicest beaches in the world. White sand, turquoise water. It's large, clean, and the water is not super wavy because the island of Cozumel acts as a breaker.

Room: Standard. Beds are a bit hard. There is a little fridge, but it is not refreshed with drinks. There will only be some drinks on your arrival, but that is all. Nothing fancy or negative about the rooms. See my room tip.

Amenities: Gym with steam room. Hot spots for Wi-Fi, and an internet cafe on site. There is an overpriced store on site in case you need any thing in an emergency. There is daily stretching, beach volleyball, and other activities. The activities crew does a great job being inclusive but not harassing you. The quality of sports (ie, nice beach volleyball net and beach) is very good. There are very good nightly theatre performances. There is music and dancing in lobby bar. You can get very comfortable free bicycles to bike ride around Playacar, or Playa del Carmen. They come with a lock. I highly recommend you use them to explore. There is a laundry service as well. Simply bag it up and it will be returned to your room, clean and folded for a fee.

Overall: Many places advertise that they have all sorts of amenities like table tennis, tennis, snack foods, gym, etc, and you find out that they are just garbage, unusable, but there for the advertising to say they have it. That is not the case here. Everything as as good as you could imagine. Having stayed at many all-inclusives this was far and away the absolute best in all categories. You will not be disappointed. If you go for a great beach, great food, a great pool, relaxation, or whatever, this place will exceed your expectations.

Price: Do not let the fact that this place is very reasonable priced deter you. It feels like a boutique hotel (mainly because it is not crowded), not a giant resort. I suppose because of this I would not recommend you bring kids. You will not feel pressured to tip either. Its worth every dollar and more.

Room Tip: The rooms on the norther side a newly renovated, but the view to the ocean is not as good because of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear customer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to inform us about your experiences at Viva Wyndham Azteca. It is very important to us to receive feedback from our customers.



It is very rewarding to read your good remarks about our services and facilities. Also we are very happy to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations.


Please remember that we will be glad to welcome you back at Viva Wyndham Azteca and thank you for recommending us on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    982
    300
    95
    68
See reviews for
756
916
50
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I just returned from a week long stay at the Wyndham Azteca with a group of 6 all between the ages of 25 - 32. This is our 3rd time staying in Playacar and we thought this was the best resort yet.

Hotel/Rooms
The rooms are what I have come to expect from any relatively decent all inclusive in mexico. Our room was clean, the beds were hard but doable, there was a small balcony and all basics. We did not have any problems with our room, but a couple we traveled with had to change rooms because their original one had an overwhelming musty smell. Their 2nd room flooded the first night they were in it. Additionally, while we were there a room 3 doors down from us was obviously having some maintenance issues as there were repairs/cleaning going on in there for a number of days. so...i suppose its possible you could have issues with your room, but we had none. a couple things that were different from prior resorts we have stayed in: there was no in room bar and they would not refresh the mini fridge. neither of these was an issue for us, but for some they might be.

Service
Overall the service was pretty good. The place was absolutely spotless and the maids went the extra mile to make towel animals and leave flowers in our room. all the dining staff were attentive and friendly. the Viva animacion staff was absolutely fantastic and they really made the stay. I know they can be overwhelming and I am not one to participate a lot - but the rest of my group did and really enjoyed the vacation more because of them. The only staff complaint i have is the service at the snack bar by the pool. The cook there was probably the most unhappy person i have ever seen working at a resort. I understand its work for them, but he did absolutely nothing to hide the fact that he was miserable every single day.

Food
The food was very good for an all inclusive resort. i especially liked the fresh juices they made every morning. i did notice several cooks using their hands to touch food (without gloves) but tried not to worry about it. We tried all 3 a la carte restaurants and they were all excellent.

Beach/Pool
Fantastic. we always found loungers with shade, the beach and pool were perfect. absolutely no complaints.

Location
The Azteca is in a gated community about a 15 min walk away from the PDC city center (5th ave).

Overall
Out of the 3 resorts we have stayed in this same area this was our favorite. The resort wasnt too crowded, the animacion staff went above and beyond to get us involved in resort activities, the beach was fantastic and the food/drinks were great for the price. This is not a 5 star luxury place - but if you can be a little flexible and low key you will have a great time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear customer,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and your friends at Viva Wyndham Azteca during your recent vacations.



It is a pleasure to know that you were able to enjoy our services and facilities. Our customer's satisfaction is our constant goal. Knowing we reached this goal in your recent stay is very rewarding for all our hard working staff members and it will reinforce their commitment to provide quality service to all of our guests.

We look forward to your return visit and again thank you for choosing to stay with us at Viva Wyndham Azteca.



Kind regards,


General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed at Azteca just recently - a basic, clean 4* resort. Food and drinks were very good, the beach - fantastic!! Service was ok, seen better but that comes with higher star rating. The property is small and compact, everything is within 3 minutes walk. Rooms - clean and comfortable, if possible get a room in section # 1 - the only one with renovated bathrooms. Food - overall limited selection but all very tasty, especially the Mexican section of the buffet. Drinks - quite good, nice middle shelf liqueurs ( Bacardi's, Jose Cuervo and El Jimador etc, great tequila varieties). Cappuccino and espresso at beach bar were very good.
Free kayaks and boogie boards, diving lessons as well as catamaran rides. Tips are appreciated, and definitely not asked for from the staff, however, do tip - these people work hard long exhausting hours for minimum wage.
Can't say about the shows, but from what I heard they sounded mediocre .... for better entertainment go to town. Playa is within walking distance from the property ( 20-25 minutes ) or a $7 US for a taxi to take you into town. Nightlife in PDC is worth exploring, and very safe - there is a police truck parked near the entrance of each night club we saw, security etc. 5th Avenue is a must see, both at night and during the day. All in all, if you want a good, relaxing vacation in a small, clean resort with nice beach, good food and drinks, you can definitely find it at Azteca. If you need luxury, I'd say book Riu next door.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamAzteca, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Google Translation
Cher client,



Nous vous remercions pour votre récent séjour au Viva Wyndham Azteca et pour avoir pris la peine de nous écrire vos impressions.

Nous sommes heureux d’apprendre que vous avez passé un agréable séjour au sein de notre hôtel.



Réitérant nos remerciements pour vos précieux encouragements, nous espérons avoir le plaisir de vous accueillir très prochainement à l’hôtel Viva Wyndham Azteca.



Cordialement,




Directeur Général

Viva Wyndham Azteca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

For a 4 stars resort the buffett food was dissapointing. The music at poolside was way too loud. The pool water was too warm. The front desk staff were rude and lied to us regarding guests making long distance phone calls. Then they lied again to cover their butts & were rude to us when we confronted them about it. The staff were more concerned about making the resort "look" perfect then they were about the rest, enjoyment and comfort of their guest's. One positive thing I can say is that the rooms were well cleaned and the chaimbermaids were polite to us.

Room Tip: Avoid this resort. I won't return to this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Booked with Expedia. Arrived at the Maya and was told we were upgraded to Azteca due to no rooms at the Maya. I did not like this because there were specific reasons I booked the Maya.(swim up bar, larger theater, nicer property,larger resort,nicer pool, nicer outdoor snack area, trapeze,disco, market across street) I had no choice so went with it. The Azteca is okay. No real issues, just okay. Depends what you want. I wanted a fun, upbeat place. This is quiet, small not much going on at all. You had to go up a good ways to get a drink from the pool and beach. The beach was nice. The service was fine. The food was good. The buffet was average. The ala cartes were very good. we went to the Maya for 2 of them. The room was average, nothing special. Remember they do not give you wash clothes. Kind of strange you have to use large hand towels to clean your face. Fridge only gets stocked 1 time with 5 bottles of different soda. No biggie, we always got a glass of something heading to the room at night. There really is no nightly entertainment. The theater is funny. It is upstairs half open air very tiny. very cheesey. Worst I have ever been to. Shows at 9:30 pm. We walked out, it was that bad. Like a bunch of 5th graders, cute, but after 30 minutes we were done. Later talking to one of the activities staff, she told me none of them had any experience and were forced to come back at night to do the shows after working all day. All the music was lip sinking. One night they did have a little market at the resort for something to look at. We did go to Playa del carmen at night. 5th Avenue, don't miss. Lot's to see. Lot's of live music going on. 7$ taxi ride, 30 minute walk. We did an ATV adventure that was alot of fun and rode jet skis 55$ per person out on the beach. Free kayaks and boogie boards. You have to take lessons to use the little sail catamarans. All in all this place is fine if you like quiet, and small. Definitely worth the price which was very low! Just would have liked to stay where I actually picked and booked and researched! I would stay here again if I only could afford this, but if I could spend a little more I'd rather have a little more luxury. We had 2 teens that were very bored. They liked the Maya much better.

Room Tip: Doesn't really matter, because the resort is so small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear customer,

We appreciate the time you dedicated to write your remarks about your stay at Viva Wyndham Azteca.



As we mentioned in our response to your review regarding the Viva Wyndham Maya, we will take your comments into account with the goal to improve our services. The only way we are able to ameliorate our services is by listening carefully to our guests. We apologize for any inconvenience that you might have experienced.

We remain at your disposal.

Kind regards,

General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, Oklahoma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

A great deal of time and research went in to selecting this property, before making our reservations several months ago. My wife and I were quite eager to vacation here. Fast forward to May 2nd, 2012....after an exhausting day of travel, we arrived at the front desk to check-in, ready to get settled in and relax. Not so fast...

My wife and I were greeted by Angel at the front desk and informed we'd been "upgraded." Fantastic right? Nope. My wife and I were advised we would not be staying here, but would be shipped off to the Riu Yucatan. I asked if we may kindly decline the upgrade as we wished to stay here, as we'd planned. The story then changed from "you've been upgraded" to a "we have no rooms."

Angel blamed the problem on faulty air conditioners and claimed there were simply no rooms available at this resort. I later concluded (based on things I heard from other resorts, travelers and my observations of the numerous occupants) they simply overbooked. Regardless of the justification for our displacement, we were forced to gather our luggage, get a taxi and go elsewhere.

Thankfully this frustrating start to our vacation did not set the tone for the entire trip and we had an enjoyable time at a competing resort. After this experience, I will not be doing any further business with Wyndham properties.

You may elect to book here and will more than likely have a terrific experience. I am not the first one to post about similar problems with Wyndham and I wish I'd have heeded the advise of some of the less favorable reviews.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear customer,

Please accept a sincere apology for any inconvenience that you might have experienced during your recent stay in the Mayan Riviera. We appreciate the time you dedicated to write your remarks about your vacation. Your review will assist us in our commitment to improve our operations.

We remain at your disposal.



Best regards,

General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Nice location, clean rooms, nice beach. close to Playa Del Carmen. I walked into town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaDominicusBeach, Guest Relations Manager at Viva Wyndham Azteca, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear customer,

Thank your for recommending our resort on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your positive feedback.



Please remember that we will be pleased to welcome you back anytime.


Kind regards,

General Manager

Viva Wyndham Azteca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Viva Wyndham Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Azteca

Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha, Lote Holetero No. 8, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#46 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#64 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Viva Wyndham Azteca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be close to everything. White sand beaches. Mayan ruins. Lush jungles. A championship golf course. And exciting nightlife. The Wyndham Azteca All-Inclusive Resort, a stunning resort on the breathtaking Mayan Riviera on the east coast of the Yucatan, has it all. And it's just 45 minutes from Cancun International Airport in Mexico. Explore captivating Mayan ruins. Find your own private seaside cove, or experience the fun in the sun and nightlife of Playa Del Carmen, just two miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Viva Wyndham Azteca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Azteca Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Viva Azteca
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Viva Azteca
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Viva Wyndham Azteca Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Wyndham Azteca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.