We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a holiday!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viva Wyndham Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Viva Wyndham Maya to your Saves list
Viva Wyndham Maya
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Paseo Xaman-Ha, Mza. Lote Holetero 5 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #87 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“What a holiday!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Just got home well 5 hours ago, had to write a review straight away, we had the best holiday you can imagine, couldn't fault it clean, good food, fantastic staff, Mauricio on archery was great fun and so helpful, all the waiting staff in the buffet restaurants wetre great got to a point where you never needed to ask for something it was at your table before you were! Beach nice and clean. We were recommended by our friends who had stayed there before and we were not disappointed. Would definately come back, Im sure some people find fault but to be honest you've got to be a bit anal if you can find something to moan about, obviously not everthing is to everyones taste and as someone said on the bus a holiday is what you make it and everyone made it for us. The A-La-Carte restaurants are a very high standard we had six chances to use them and we used all six, and I would even have paid for extra and thats not bad considering its all inclusive. Only one suggestion I would like to make is that all the sunbeds had padding as some of them were very uncomfortable where they had seen more use than others. But that just an observation not a moan. Hope to see you again in the future.

Room Tip: We asked for a quite room on a high floor we got room 1426 which was quiet except when some of the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear guest,



Thank you for your kind and detailed review regarding the Viva Wyndham Maya and its facilities and services.



We are very glad to read that everything corresponded to your expectations and that we were even able to exceed them when it comes to customer service.
This is in fact the greatest compliment a Resort can get.



Thank you so much for your enthusiastic and motivating comments and we assure you that we will try our utmost to make your next visit as enjoyable as the first one.



Kind regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,421
    1,824
    701
    247
    145
See reviews for
1,385
1,595
90
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Levittown, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Every time that I go to Playa del Carmen, I stay at this hotel. I will never stay anywhere else. I absolutely love this hotel! I'm not a buffet fan, but the buffets are excellent as well as the included restaurants. The beach is amazing, and every night they have entertainment.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to express our deepest gratitude for your generous comments and for posting your review on TripAdvisor.



We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful Resort. We are also delighted to hear that you are part of our group of loyal guests, whom year after year honor us with their preference.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a very near future!



Kind regards,


General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City,Ut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We went to the Viva last December. We emailed them a couple of weeks before we arrived and requested a room by the beach and pool. Got exactly what we requested so that was nice. Loved the court yard - very relaxing in the evenings or waiting for dinner with the bar and coffee right next to it. Sat with new friends we met from Canada (Daniel and Lynne) and really enjoyed it. The coffee shop/bar by the pool was a great place to go especially early in the morning to watch the sunrise. The rooms were clean, nothing special. Food was good never went hungry. Ate at all the AlaCartes the Mexican and Steak were very good. The one above the Bar by the pool the service was good, however we had the chicken and both my husband did not eat his and I did and was very sick all night and most of the next day. So we think it was that cause we ate exactly the same for the rest of the meal. The pools were great, very cold this time of year since they are not heated, but we enjoyed them anyway. Drinks were also very good. The dive center staff were great and we went on two wonderfull snorkel trips with them. Also, it is a five minute walk to Playacar and the shopping center which was very convient. We had a very wonderful and relaxing time. We will definately go back to this resort in the future.

Room Tip: We had a room right by the pool and it was so nice to go back and forth to get stuff when we needed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your valuable feedback about your stay at our property.

It is really rewarding to read your positive comments and we are glad to know that your stay at Viva Wyndham Maya was enjoyable.

Thank you for choosing our resort and for recommending us on TripAdvisor.



Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We chose this resort to celebrate my wife's 50th. Birthday and we had a wonderful time. The staffs were very friendly and helpful. I cannot say anything negative about our stay.

The only suggestion is that the hotel should have a Breakfast for those of us who had to depart at 5AM for the airport. Maybe a breakfast box to use on the bus on the way to the airport.

Thanks to all of the staff who have made our trip a very memorable one and see you next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I would recommend this hotel 100% great staff & ppl.... We had an amazing wedding our room was fantastic perfect view... Hope too see it again very soon
Food was very good and of course great bar tenders they treated everyone excellent please check out the Viva Maya.
Location was great close to market & 5th ave... We all felt very safe thanks viva maya

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We recently returned home after spending a great 2 weeks at Viva Wyndham Maya, Mexico.

My wife and I visited the area 10 years ago for our honeymoon and it was our intention to return with our children (2 girls aged 9 and 5). We chose this hotel on a number of factors, reviews, price and location and we were not disappointed!!

Our first impressions were very good, lovely open reception area, quick check in with okay reception staff (not the best I might add), our room was over looking the gardens which was the quiet end of the hotel, the room itself was big enough for 4, could have done with more cupboard/draw space but overall we managed, bathroom was a good size with a powerfull shower, the plumbing needs attention as the toilets seem to block from time-to-time but maintentance staff a very helpful.

We were amazed at how many staff were working during each day. There seemed to be a little army of Viva staff all over the hotel making sure guests were kept happy. The hotel was very clean, gardens well looked after and the eating areas were spotless.The pools were a good size and always plenty of room to swim, we always managed to get sun lounger, either on the beach (10yrds away from the pool) or the pool area.The entertainmaent staff were great, games/activities were offered several times a day but they do not pressure you to take part if you want to relax. They are great with the kids too!!

We found that the buffet restaurant was good. It offers a wide range of food for all, the girls always found something they liked from doughnuts for breakfast to pasta dishes in the evening...and ice cream!! The breakfast offering was always the same but plenty of it and a good variety, same with the lunch and in the evening the basic 50% was the same but the other half was different every night, they would have a Japaneese, Mexican or Italian nights all of which were very enjoyable. We dined in the Italian restaurant one evening and it was okay but not ideal for children....if you have kids you may want to stick with the buffet...!! The waiters were always very helpful, clearing plates within a minute of finishing and asking if they could get you a drink etc. The pool buffet area was good too, always plenty of choice, freshly made pizza, salads and hamburgers etc. However, the smoking was a little off putting in this area and perhaps they should make this a smoke free zone..??!!

The cocktail bars were fantastic, the staff very happy to serve you up one of about 30-40 different drinks on offer. The branded spirits were in generous quantities and the help-yourself soft drinks worked well. However, I do feel they lack ice creams in the pool bar area, these would be great to cool the children off, even if offered between 2-4pm daily would benefit.

Location was one of our key factors when booking and the Viva Wyndham is situated well, just away from the 5th Avenue, Playa Del Carmen (10 mins in a taxi), be prepared to be invited into every shop when you go there and do NOT believe them when they say 'I work at your hotel and this is my Mums shop'...as its a ploy to you to buy something. I think the shops just outside the hotel grounds (main road) offer enough not to have to visit 5th Ave...The beach at the resort is kept clean and tidy and is beautiful for an early morning walk......The hotel is also very near (20 mins) from Xcaret, an Eco-park which is well worth visiting. its quite expensive but well, well worth it but I advise you stay for the evening show to get your monies worth. We also visited Puerto Aventuras (30 mins), small marina complex where you can swim with/view dolphins and manatis etc...

Overall, whilst this resort is NOT a 7 star hotel in Dubai (like many reviewers expect it to be) it is a very, very good 3/4 star hotel with plenty of good things going on. I would return to this hotel if we visit Mexico again and would happily reccommend it to family and friends....

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are good/quiet rooms and nearer the buffet/bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear customer,

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and your family at Viva Wyndham Maya during your recent vacations.



It is a pleasure to know that you were able to enjoy our services and facilities. Our customer's satisfaction is our constant goal. Knowing we reached this goal in your recent stay is very rewarding for all our hard working staff members and it will reinforce their commitment to provide quality service to all of our guests.

We look forward to your return visit and again thank you for choosing to stay with us at Viva Wyndham Maya.



Kind regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

the good:
Absolutely outstandingAnimation Team and even betterKidsClubchc:
We were in Playa for the 5th time and always in difrent hotel. Those guys make the old routine of shows refreshing, are friendly, interacting with guests, tons of new ideas. We especially liked Halloween party, Hounted House and treat or treating. The trapeze is fun for kids and adults. Not seen in other hotels. Very friendly crew.
Kids Club: multiple acivities. Sweet, energetic girls: Elizabeth, Ana and Olga. Our 7 yo son was in love, he wanted to be there all the time, we were jalous.
Very nice beach.
the bad:
lots of smoking people, cigarettes tips on the beach, annoying with the little kid.
$2/day fee for using safe in the room (bizzare)
The ugly:
rooms so so: older, stinky, leaking shower, water on the bathroom floor -not a huge problem if you only sleep there. We changed rooms after few days: no smell, but still leaky shower.

bottom line:If you spend most of the time outside, particularly if you have kids you may seriously consider this hotel.

Room Tip: As of Nov 2012there is noisy construction (during the day) on right (north?) side. At Riu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VivaWyndhamMaya, General Manager at Viva Wyndham Maya, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear customer,



Thank you for sharing your comments with us on your recent family vacation at Viva Wyndham Maya.

Your special mention of the staff that enhanced the quality of your trip is greatly appreciated. We recognize that our staff plays a valuable role in the vacation experience of our guests. Reviews like yours serve to motivate us even more. We appreciate your comments made in your review as they will help us evaluate our amenities and services.



We would be honored to welcome you back in a near future.



Best regards,

General Manager
Viva Wyndham Maya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viva Wyndham Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viva Wyndham Maya

Address: Paseo Xaman-Ha, Mza. Lote Holetero 5 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#78 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Viva Wyndham Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 480
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Viva Wyndham Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viva Wyndham Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Viva Maya
Maya Viva Wyndham
Wyndham Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Playa Del Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Wyndham
Wyndham Maya
Viva Wyndham Maya Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viva Wyndham Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.