We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Gran"d trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Porto Real Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Gran Porto Real Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Porto Real Resort and Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77500, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“"Gran"d trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Just got back yesterday and had to write my review. Wonderful little resort, fantastic workers, decent food, and great beach! We stayed in an Oceanview Jr. Suite which was perfect, because the resort is built from the beach and towards Playa Del Carmen. (Better views up front!) Ate in the buffet most of the time, and found the food decent for what we wanted. Also used the room service a few times, and was pleased with the quality of food.Pool was small so it was hard to get a seat together most days. Spent most of the time at the beach instead. Yes, there are sand bags, but nothing that spoiled our stay. Going a little north towards the next resort the beach was better. Nice resort, a little small, so if you want an exciting night-life, don't stay here. We didn't care, so for us, this was perfect. Very short walk to where the shops are, so we went there quite a few times! Pushy vendors, but not bad.
All in all, I would recommend this resort for those people just looking for a nice, relaxing time.
We give it an overall 4!!

Room Tip: "Oceanviews were the best for your money. I wouldn't bother upgrading to oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,143
    1,168
    409
    296
    202
See reviews for
1479
1647
68
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (881)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel was being remolded during our stay which caused some issue on departure; however the staff was outstanding expecially Emma Alex Lorenzo & Avila Alex. They never let our drinks glass get empty while at the lobby bar. If you are planning you should look into staying here. The all inclusive after five days the resturaunt got a little " same ole thing". Could use a change up every 3rd day.
Xel-ha was absolute worth it. Spend one full day, go early and stay until they close. Staff is great and the water is wonderful. If and/or if I go back to Cancun I would stay at this hotel and definately go to Xel-ha.
One of the friends got paint on there luggage leaving the hotel and the check out was dis-organized. They seemed to want us out asap and didn't resolve the issue while we were there.

Room Tip: Stay on the ocean side of the hotel. 2nd floor rooms are nicer. The room that face the street are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were able to go twice to Il Pescatore. The food was good for the value. We liked that we were able to find something that all of us could enjoy (pre-teens, teens and adults). Our waiter was a sweet older gentleman who was very attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stood for 5 days in November. The staff is amazingly nice and very helpful. Unfortunately it was the height of their construction. While sitting at the pool or trying to nap in the afternoon we were disturbed by power tools (drills, jack hammers, etc.). At one point I was having lunch and paint chips and debris started to fall on my table from the workers above the restaurant area. We were very unhappy with all the noise but tried to make the most of our vacation. Had we known in advance construction was scheduled we may have opted to stay at another property. The 2nd issue was the spa. I purchased a spa package and was taken into the men’s locker room to change. I was sooooooooooooooo upset. The after the fact explanation provided, after I let the front desk have it, was that the women’s locker room had a leak. The least they could have done was ensure no men were in the locker room and vice versa. I was there for a wedding, not a strip show! My third complaint is the United Vacations pick up.
We were told to be in the lobby by 9:40a for our airport transfer. We arrived a few minutes early, to make sure we were all set and did not cause any delays. At 10:05a a small mini-van arrives to pick us up. When we confronted the driver he showed up his pick up log and it clearly stated a 10am pick-up. No one seemed to care that we were give a completely incorrect pick up time. To make matters worse, 5 of us were piled into a small van and the driver made a second stop to pick up another 4 passengers. The back of the van was so pack , the driver s view was completely obstructed and had he slammed on his breaks a wheel chair and several pieces of luggage would of came flying on the passengers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GranPortoReal, Manager at Gran Porto Real Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Receive warm regards from Gran Porto, we would like to apologize for the inconvinient you went trough we were working to give our guests nicest facilities and service. We would like to invite you to contact us in acavazos@realresorts.com and give us the honor to host you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Playa del Carmen is a wonderful little town. There are good bars and a busy nightlife (not too much like Cancun). Most of the all-inclusive resorts are too far away from Playa del Carmen and this hotel is in the heart of the town. It is not as big as the other resort in the Riviera Maya but the facilities are good enough. The hotel has a big swimming pool, a beach bar, 2 restaurants and perfect lounge areas. The junior suite ocean front rooms are big and have a big terrace with hammock (very relaxing!). The staff is always helpful and not forget the cleaning ladies for the rooms. Be sure to leave a small tip every day. You will be surprised.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Food was great, not a big choice, but what was there was delicious. Staff was gracious and very forthcoming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed at this resort in November 2012. My daughter and I stayed in a standard room. Wish I had upgraded to one with a balcony, but the room was comfortable and the beds were good. Maid service every day and she did an excellent job. Loved the towel art she did every day. The buffet restaurant had a very good breakfast and we adored the waiters. They were so attentive and full of charm. We loved this resort and would love to come back. The only downside was the construction that was going on the whole time we were there. Incredibly loud noise from morning to late night. But I must say, the new tiles were beautiful. Big improvement from the old.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Porto Real Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Porto Real Resort and Spa

Address: Constituyentes No. 1, Playa del Carmen 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#60 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#61 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gran Porto Real Resort and Spa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Gran Porto Real Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Porto Real Hotel
Gran Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Gran Porto Real
Gran Porto Real Resort Spa
Porto Real
Grand Porto Real Playa Del Carmen
Gran Porto Real Mexico
Gran Porto Real Resort And Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Porto Real Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.