We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best creppes in Playa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Crepacabana

La Crepacabana
Ave 10 between 8 & 10, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Dessert, Creperie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best creppes in Playa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Here you can find the best and largest creppes in playa! They are awesome, especially the chocolate & banana, and the fresh cheese with marmalade! They are delicious and the french owner is very friendly and always up for a chat! Fresh fruit juices great aswell!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    165
    40
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Delicious,great staff,recommended!!!!
Made our day!

We ate Nutella and bananas and plain Nutella creeps - not too complicated but really well preformed.
The cheff was nice and smily, the ingredients were fresh. No complaints.
We will definitely come again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Banana & nutella is simply a good idea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I really don't know how you could screw up banana and nutella. The crepe was delicious. My partner had a goat cheese, mushroom, bacon crepe, and I actually thought his was better than mine. I'd go again. Probably nothing too amazingly special if you are used to eating crepes (but I am not, so it was great for me).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson Island, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Reserving judgment for now”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

After reading the reviews, my wife and I confess to a bit of disappointment in Crepacabana.

It was our second attempt to dine there; the first was in mid-morning, but we found it closed, and we remain uncertain the hours are. Our successful effort at dining was on a Saturday evening, and we both had bacon, mushroom and goat cheese crepes (after finding out that there was no salmon for the salmon-and-cream cheese crepes. Another diner found there was no coconut for his crepes.)

The fare was just okay. The crepe was a bit overdone, but the bigger disappointment was the lack of fresh ingredients. The mushrooms were poured from a tin can directly onto the crepe; not exactly what we were expecting. The preparations seemed in line with what was easiest for the chef to prepare, rather than what might taste best.

Given the absence of fresh ingredients, it's possible the sweet crepes, which seem to depend to a large degree on Nutella, might be better. But I'd avoid the dinner crepes if you're looking for something that might better meet your expectations.

The chef was very personable and we enjoyed our conversation with him very much.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lives up to its reputation!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just had a fabulous dessert at this place! The banana Nutella crepe lives up to the awesome reviews!! Yummmmmmm!!!!! Very sweet and great to share. I never would have gone to this little hole in the wall. I've gone past it a ton of times over the past 4 years without notice. Thanks to other reviews on Tripadvisor I decided to try it. Definitely will be going back and trying the many other crepes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Crepacabana also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Crepacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Crepacabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.