We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Crepacabana

La Crepacabana
Ave 10 between 8 & 10, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I saw this as one of the top restaurants in Playa and had to make this a stop on my trip last week. We were staying right on the beach, close to 5th Ave. I took a stroll over there a day for lunch. I had the banana and nutella crepe and it was AMAZING! I also ordered the strawberry water, which was just fresh frozen strawberries blended with water. The portions were large and the prices were very reasonable. ($5 for the crepe and $2 for the water). There were many crepe choices on the menu (sweet and salty/cheesy ones). I will be back here on my next trip...probably more than once!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    50
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Un freaking real.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Good stuff. I've tried crepes from vendors in London Paris and West Virginia. This was a light dance where my taste buds rejoiced with every tasty morsel, a stress-free and a surprisingly refreshingly treat. The best crepe I’ve ever had was on a busy street just off 5th. In the middle of the hot day you would be shocked how tasty a crepe can be.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“What's not to love about Nutella!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I would highly recommend a stop for a Nutella dessert crepe after dinner and a few cocktails. This place is not on 5th but its on the next block up so its not far off the beaten path. There is no ambience here so I would get it to go. They had many other crepe's but I only tried the Nutella.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Crepes in Mexico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

A really small booth on the 10th avenue, but definitely worth a visit.

We tried both the salty and sweet crepes and they were really good. If you really want to indulge yourself, try the one with the caramel sauce, it's just decadent.

The smoothies with fresh fruits were also really good, I recommend the one with strawberries and mango.

The owner is not very surprisingly French, so it's a good time to brush up on your french as well! :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must go place in Playa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I recommend this place to everyone. The food is simply delicious. The French owner, David used to work in a 5-star ranking restaurant. He got tired of stress and opened his own place. You can get fresh-made juice and different styles of crepe. I had the crepe made with goat cheese, mushroom and bacon. It was excellent! Don't miss this place, you will not regret. Now, this place certainly wins the word of mouth from me : )

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Crepacabana also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Crepacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Crepacabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.