We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay In Playa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arena Blanca

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arena Blanca
Save Saved
You added Arena Blanca to your Saves list
Calle 38 and 10th Ave. | New North End of Playa, Playa del Carmen, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Stay In Playa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights in December in Unit 2 and could't recommend it more.

Location: the best! Love the upcoming more authentic vibe of this end of 5th ave. You are walking distance to all but really found ourselves dining, juicing, doing yoga, drinking coffee and enjoying this section of playa.

Service: Was fantastic. Reservations were easy, timely and detailed. The staff on the grounds are fantastic.

Condos: Very well maintained. Has all you need to enjoy your stay with some extra space, rather than a hotel room. Well furnished. Enjoyed the roof top desk! You are closer to some restaurants on 30th which can be noisy on the weekends but nothing ear plugs don't solve.

Overall would recommend Arena Blanca and would consider staying again on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Arrived with my sister after a very hectic whirlwind New York visit beforehand and really needing some rest & relaxation.
We got into our condo and all the energy returned. Quality throughout and very clean we turned on the fans to clear out the himidity and were refreshed and energised in no time. We changed and took a walk down 5 Ave. then hit the pool on our return. And this was to become our daily routine at the end of each day before heading out again to explore the restaurants for dinner.
Manuelle the security guard welcomed us every evening on our return which was a lovely touch. He doesn't speak English but still we were able to communicate and he is very likeable.
Whenever we saw some of the caretakers of the condos they were warm and friendly and do a very fine job!
Heaps better than a hotel stay and I will be returning as soon as I can with my son so he can experience the amazing place that is Playa del Carmen and Arena Blanca Condos!

Highly recommend this fantastic condo!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed in Unit 11 which is a penthouse with a roof top terrace. The condo is well appointed and nicely decorated. It has all the amenities one would need for a short stay. The grounds are very well kept and the staff is friendly and helpful. We found the street to be a bit noisy and on weekends we could hear the sounds of drunken singing from a karaoke bar next door. Other than that, everything was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Arena Blanca was a nice place - just a little far from most of the action in Playa and a bit noisy. The swimming pool is beautiful, but located almost directly on the street which is a very BUSY highway. Aside from that, no problems.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had gotten in touch with one of the owners about a year ago before my first trip to Playa. I was going back and forth on whether or not I wanted to stay in a condo or a hotel for my first trip-he was very patient and helpful as he helped me understand some of the pros and cons of each. I ended up staying in a hotel for that first trip but knew when I came back less than a year later Arena Blanca had my name on it.

We had a unit on ground level. It was very clean, spacious and had everything we needed. The water cooler was a great perk and helped keep us hydrated. I also liked the location a lot, very close to 5th Avenue but it was on the quieter end which was great. I would definetly stay here again. Prompt refund on the security deposit, great communication from the managers. Couldnt have asked for more.

Oh and I have to say this because I just couldnt believe it. The housekeeping didnt come every day but when she did come she CLEANED OUT MY HAIRBRUSH! My disgusting, hairy hairbrush that I don't even like to clean out and it is my own hair. Talk about above and beyond!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our first trip to Playa del Carmen and to Arena Blanca's beautifully landscaped gardens with swimming pool are filled with palm trees and bougainvilleas. Our penthouse condo was very spacious and tastefully decorated,the rooftop terrace was on two levels was great. The upper level had a great jacuzzi which enabled you to look out to sea. The lower level had loungers and a palapa for shade if you wanted it. There was also a dining area and food preparation area unfortunately there was no private BBQ which would have been nice

The location of the condo is a block and a half off the beach and around the corner from great restaurants, bars and shopping, but away from the more touristy side of Playa.

The staff were helpful and attentive and the night security guards were friendly.

If you are a light sleeper, noise from the road at night might disturb your sleep, nothing that ear plugs or a few drinks won't sort out!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

The most beautiful friendly place in the world. Central to 5th Avenue, main shopping strip in Playa, close to the best restaurant in Playa (La Cueva del Chango). It's situated at the north end of 5th Avenue so its not as noisy and a block away from the Caribbean beaches. The Condo's are furnished for comfort, ease and are very secure. Has own kitchen, fridge, laundry, two toilets, large shower and large lounge room.The staff at Arena Blanca are so accommodating and helpful I was amazed. I had the inground pool outside my condo.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arena Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arena Blanca

Address: Calle 38 and 10th Ave. | New North End of Playa, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Because of its classic architecture and impeccable construction, Arena Blanca is known by the locals, as "the beautiful building". The building has a gorgeous two-bedroom condo (with a spectacular rooftop terrace) and numerous charming one-bedroom poolside condos. Arena Blanca is known for its great design, maintenance, and staff. From the iron gates to the arched stairways to the brick-ceilings (known as "bovedas"), Arena Blanca has many traditional Mexican elements. And together with modern elements, they create a very comfortable and beautiful vacation property. We are proud of the special care and attention to detail found in the building, thanks to the skill of the local builders. The difference is noticeable...And the location? Es perfecto! Arena Blanca is ground zero for many of Playa's favorite restaurants including La Cueva del Chango. And it's just a few minute walk to the quaint area known as "Little Italy" and a ten minute walk to the touristy center of Playa del Carmen. Close enough but far enough away! The short walk to the Caribbean via Calle 38 is one of the most beautiful walks in town... past the gardens of our favorite restaurant, La Cueva del Chango, and the charming beach front palapas hotels. We love being so close to Mamitas Beach, a diverse and colorful beach that provides the best people-watching in Playa. Rent an umbrella, pop open a cerveza, and enjoy the view of the beach and beach-goers... it’s a feast for the eyes. You just might think you’ve died and gone to heaven, right here on earth! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arena Blanca Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arena Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.