We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for breakfast, lunch or to satisfy a sweet tooth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Celine

Chez Celine
5th avenue with Street 34th | Center Town, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52(1)9848033480
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great place for breakfast, lunch or to satisfy a sweet tooth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great place for breakfast or lunch! Try the quiche carpese or quiche Lorraine for breakfast with a nice coffee option or OJ! The baguette sandwiches are always great as well as the amazing variety of pastries. They do an awesome crepe after 4 pm and try the creme brule as well. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Mülheim
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I love the fresh bread with butter and honey. It's a nice place for breakfast right in the center of Playa del Carmen.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BohemianRhapsody1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
289 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“French Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

.cr3edible version of typical French boulangerie with a ll the required selections. Excelent quality, good service.Sandwiches , quiches, and pastries won't disappoint.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sweetwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

A yummy French bakery that makes pastries and sandwiches. The Serrano ham on baguette with sun dried tomatoes and cheese was delicious!! The pastries that we took back to eat later were tasty, particularly the chocolate croissant. Overall, very tasty and I will definitely go back on my next trip to Playa.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maizegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Gluten free review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I do love that I was able to find a treat at a bakery, but it was just ok. They have mousse and a chocolate cake that are gluten free. I tried the cake. It was ok, strange texture. I put it in the fridge for later and it was better cold. Firmer, but a bit too crumbly. I hear the pastries and tarts are amazing, but can't eat them so cannot comment. I've been there a few times.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ErynOsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLPlaya, Owner at Chez Celine, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Eryn, we are working on offering more and more gluten free products. As of today, we have
the coconut macaroons, the chocolate cake, the chocolate mousse, the crème brulée, the carrot cake and a dark and white chocolate mousse cake that are gluten free. We don't have all of them always but feel free to ask to our manager. Kind regards, Céline (Owner and Pastry chef)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Celine also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Chez Celine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing