We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alux Restaurant

Alux Restaurant
Av. Benito Juarez Garcia 217 | Entre las avenidas 65 y 70 Sur, Col. Bellavista, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 147 1563
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alux Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $70
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Av.65 y Av.70
Description: Alux is located in a natural cavern. We are the largest cave restaurant in the world. The restaurant tables are located in the main vault of the cavern where we can seat up to 120 people. The space includes a fully stocked bar, free WiFi, and 18,000 year old geological formations as the backdrop for your dinner. There are additional vaults as part of the cave system. The lounge, a large space with it's own bar ideal and a full stage, is available for private events. El Encanto is another vault, this one with a low ceiling and marble flooring. It can be set up for small gatherings. El Deseo, Amor, Magia, Pasion, Inspiracion and el Beso are small vaults ideal for an intimate dinner. They are often used by couples on anniversary dinners as well as a truly unique space for a wedding proposal. The last vault is perhaps the most majestic with the greatest collection of flowstones and stalactites. It is used for wedding ceremonies and other joyous events. Alux is more than a restaurant; it is a unique and unforgettable experience.
Stenungsund, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

A very nice restaurant with a excellent service. Good food and a very special atmosphere. We can recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Manager at Alux Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation! We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    230
    87
    40
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A must see !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We go for the atmosphere !!
Food could have larger portions my husband was still hungry prices a little high. All and all a great place to see the walkable tour is the best, love all the rock water falls small quaint rooms to visit in.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Manager at Alux Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thanks for the review, we appreciate the feedback. Glad you enjoyed it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Surprisingly wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

When you think of dining in a cenote, you think that this will be an interesting experience just for the atmosphere. We're were delightfully surprised by the excellent service, a unique menu and excellent food.

There were 6 of us and we were served by a very attentive waiter who made sure we had our every need taken care of. I highly recommend it!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Manager at Alux Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your review and the positive feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your dinner with us. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere kinda pricey for the food and drink. I didn't expect it to be humid in the cavern. They had to have fans on.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Manager at Alux Restaurant, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us Laurel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Underwhelming.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We have eaten here before and were not that impressed with the food. However, we had some friends in town and they had never been there and wanted to go for the experience. They had heard the desserts were really good. They have more friends arriving later in the week and wanted to see if it was worth taking a larger group. So...we went for dessert. We were greeted with not a "Welcome" but do you have reservations? We said no, do we need them and he simply walked away. We went down the stairs and waited and then after a while he returned and asked us to follow him a few more steps and then put his hand in our face and we were told to wait again. We waited a while longer and then were seated. We said we would like to order desert. They brought only one menu for 4 people. The menus smelled very strongly of mold/mildew. Our napkins were also damp/wet. We were asked if we wanted drinks. We had already had a big meal and drinks at another restaurant but I felt a little awkward not ordering anything to drink so I ordered a water. I was brought a Fiji water bottle with no glass. Nothing wrong with Fiji water but I knew it was going to be more expensive than the bottles of Cristal that were on every other table in the restaurant (with glasses). No big deal, 50 pesos water without a glass versus 10 pesos water with a glass. Just seemed a little odd. We each order desert. My cheesecake was 3 1x1 inch squares of cheese cake with a lot of chocolate drizzled over the plate. That's fine, small dessert, but for the price goodness, seemed a little bit underwhelming. Two others in our party ordered cream brulee, which was served ice cold. Again, not a big deal but usually it's served room temperature with the sugar on top at least warm. Again, a little underwhelming. We will not make the choice to go here again over all the other great restaurants in Playa. Our guests also decided they would take the rest of their guests arriving later in the week to a different restaurant. The interesting atmosphere just doesn't seem to out weigh the lack of service and overall quality of the restaurant. It seems to be a place that is trying to be an upscale restaurant but just isn't able to pull it off. I would think if you took away the interesting location of the cave as part of the restaurant, that the actual restaurant would not survive here in Playa. There are just too many other places with quality service and great food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard C, Manager at Alux Restaurant, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such an extensive review. I am sorry to hear that your reception was less than ideal and your experience as a whole did not live up to the service standards we are known for. Your feedback is essential for us to make improvements and I have spoken with my staff about your review in particular. We train our staff constantly and hope that the next time you visit us you find our service up to your standards. I would also like to encourage you to try some of our dishes, I think you will be pleasantly surprised by our Chile Mexico Lindo. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alux Restaurant also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Alux Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alux Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.