We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shrimp” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Carnicero - CLOSED

El Carnicero
5a Avenida entre 26 y 28 | Colonia Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
9848033727
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Steakhouse, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: El carnicero ​ The best steak house in Playa del Carmen, which offers fine fire-grilled steaks, fresh seafood and fish, chicken and Italian classics.​At “El Carnicero”, you can find competitive prices and treat yourself to delicious, angus beef prime: 100% mexican. Carefully selected and brought from the northwest of the country.Further more, every morning we wake up early to go with the fishermen and choose the best fresh fishes for you!!!​Come on in and enjoy our delicious Italian dishes and bring a taste of “El Carnicero” to your home buying directly with us the steaks of your preference... This is what makes unique at "El Carnicero"!!!!Come eat with us at "El Carnicero"!!! Sincerely,The Management and Staff
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great shrimp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here. Shrimp was very good!! The rest of the meal was just so so. The vegetables where especially pathetic, streamed frozen broccoli...... Sad, yellow and soggy. The free glass of wine with the special was nice. All in all, probably about average for the PDC 5th ave strip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
144 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not bad for when you are craving meat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have eaten here a few times over the past 3 years with each time being a different experience. Be sure that the meat they show you is the one that is going on the grill as sometimes their cuts can contain more fat that needed. The service is good as well as the prices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AjoPirata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
1 review
“Excelent meat, very good quality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Amazing food, i really enjoyed the "filete"! The service was excellent! If you want to eat an incredible peace of meat, this is the right place.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Imacolombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is an excellent spot right in 5th to sit and watch the people go by. Very comfortable and friendly service and atmosphere.... Great steak!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travellinggirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

My friends & I came across this restaurant when we entered 5th ave. One of the first things that caught our eye was the food specials that included a drink (i.e. soft drinks, sangria, margarita). The prices are sooo worth the amount of food they give you. I had the fish fillet with garlic sauce & it was AMAZING!!! The best part is they offer free wifi which is great, since I didn't have Internet access the entire trip I was in Mexico. Anyways, everyone should eat here, it's great!!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kessa14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Carnicero also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing