We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pizza is good.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of That's Amore

That's Amore
5th Avenue | Between Calle 28 and 30, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Improve this listing
Ranked #147 of 788 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The pizza is good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Well, The pizza is good a thin crust but not as thin as many of teh Italian pizza places make them. I had peperoni but I always felt like it wasnt big enough for teh price I paid. So I had it 2 xs and I havnt tried again, I looked for a new pizza place. But, then again, it is on 5th Ave, a very very touristy part of 5th with alot of restaurants so like anywhere in the world, you pay alittle more when in a busy area.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    45
    16
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We have now gone to this restaurant and experienced the same thing twice. The staff was, at best, indifferent and the food was average. We really tried to like it because it is close to our condo, but we will never go back.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Just Came back and already Planning My Return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

My girlfriend and I just finished having dinner and I was glad we went to That's Amore. I had a lasagna and my girlfriend has an eggplant pasta. We shared a Bruschetta that had prosciutto, mushroom and cheese. There were many different types to choose from. It was different and nice. We also shared a bottle of wine, which was at a good price. We ate on a Sunday and we had $20% off the bottle of wine. Not sure if the special is only on Sunday's for wine, but worth a stop to see. There is a large selection of Italian wines to choose from. I seen may ordering pizzas, which will be my next thing to order. They looked so good!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great choice if you've had enough of Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Don't be fooled by the slightly cheesy name, the Italian food here is great. Sit out on the street and watch the people go by, whilst enjoying excellent service and great value for money. It's located at the quieter end of 5th Avenue - go if you need a break from Mexican food for one night.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles (Valencia) CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicioso, Delizioso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Owner Ricardo and staff prepare and serve delicious Italian meals, I especially recommend the pasta and pizza.. Enjoy the fine food and vino while watching people stroll on La Quinta. Great food, excellent service and value! Playa's finest.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed That's Amore also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to That's Amore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage That's Amore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.