We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Aguachiles

Los Aguachiles
calle 34 & avenida 25, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great place! Absolutely delicious! Aguachile negro! And tostadas de atun fresco!! Delicious!! You should try on 34th street and constituyentes street too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    341
    148
    31
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“just everything is fresh and taste amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

i tried a lot of restaurants in Playa since i arrived 3 month ago, but this is a place you shoud not miss, great seefood, fresh, great service always with a smile and not expensive at all

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fresh fresh fresh!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you want DELICIOUS fresh fish, ceviche, shrimp, agua de jamaica, at a reasonable price, Aguachiles at 34th street is the place to go. Look no further. Aguachiles IS THE BEST.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall - best finger food around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were scheduled to eat at some of Playa's (allegedly) best restaurants during our family vacation. Arriving too early to check in, we were directed to this very unimposing restaurant which is substantially off the beaten touristic path. Luck that we did. Our 8 person pack of finicky eaters went crazy for the simply prepared, very fresh tacos and other delights, including an entire deep fried fish. They did say that they were planning a move closer to the Cozumel ferry pier - let us hope that if they do in fact hit kitsch central, that they will retain the aspects of the restaurant that make it a special place. Other than the Sur Steakhouse, I cannot say that we ate any better in PDC than this very cheap and happy place. Note that while the restaurant is full of locals (always a good sign), the waiters seem uniformly happy to joke around in English.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican, Cheap, Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

If you like seafood and want some authentic Mexican cuisine, then Los Aquachiles is a must-visit. The menu is mostly soft-shell tacos and tostadas (at around 20 pesos each - bargain), with a swarm of salsas at your table to top them off. You'd likely just walk straight past this place without having been given the hot tip; but for a cheap, simple, and delicious Mexican meal, put this place on your to-do list.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Aguachiles also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Los Aguachiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Aguachiles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.