We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a try!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Bistro

Mayan Bistro
Hotel Aventura Mexicana | 10th Avenue & 22 Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 873 1876
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Italian, Mexican, Pizza, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Escape the hustle and bustle of 5th Ave and dine with us in our beautiful gardens just a block off 5th Ave on 22nd. Our service is friendly and sincere while our cuisine is an international blend that reflects the diverse culinary backgrounds and experience of our chefs. We are sure you will love our food as much as we do!! Oh yeah we also have the biggest wine pour in all of Playa!!
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“worth a try!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

decent seafood, i ate there as part of the included package from the adjacent hotel, Aventura Mexicana.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    64
    18
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Good service but the food does not match the reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed 5 days at the Hotel Aventura Mexicana. As it rained almost everyday, we had to go more often to this restaurant than we wanted.

The breakfast was ALWAYS the same and there was one guy in the morning who was quite impolite. The breakfast was included in our room but when you order a la carte, you had to pay for your dische. The first morning, I ordered an omelet and this waiter was never there. I always had to call him. It is a waitress who finally helped me twice. When he finally came back to my table and I asked him where he was all this time, I saw in his attitude that he was going to be impolite. I looked back at him severely to warn him. But, still, he showed me the card on the table and told me: " look Mam, this is written self service ". I turned the card on the other side to show the sign " TIPS WELCOME " and told him that we don't tip for self service but for a plate ordered outside of the breakfast included with the room fee. Anyway, that breakfast has to be changed at least twice a week especially when it's average.

We ate 3 times there at nightime and ordered some soups which were really average when you know the delicious soups they have in Mexico.

One night, I ordered their Arrachera and asked to have it medium well...I got it medium rare and it was tasteless. However, I ordered lots of green vegetables with it and, the waitress, Gaby, asked the chef to add some steamed spinach for me and it was delicious !

The last dinner, Mom ordered a Marguerita pizza, and they had personal ones, which she appreciated a lot as she does not eat a lot. The pizza was excellent, thin and crispy. I tasted it and can confirm it. I ordered some Alfredo pasta. They did not have fettucini which usually comes with this dish and I had to choose spaghetti. There was too much sauce and this latter was way too thin. It was not an Alfredo sauce but a liquid Alfredo...and no cheese or parmesan on the side.

Anyhow, the last night we went to a great argentinian restaurant on the corner and had, finally, a superb diner !

I must admit, though, that the manager, Christopher, was extremely nice and a real gentleman. Indeed, one night, they were closing (they close at 9h30 PM which is really early at Playa del Carmen) and, still, he offered us as a gratuity, a delicious guacamole and 2 glasses of white wine. He did not have to do that and we really appreciated the gesture. In addition, our last night, knowing that we spoke french and that my mother was half French, he offered us 2 small and cute boxes of fine french chocolate, Douceurs de France. Such a gentleman ! And, guess what, he was American !

I must say that it's a little hard for me to write such a review but I'm a professional and Top Contributor; therefore, I always have to tell the truth and this was our experience at Mayan Bistro.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice small hotel restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Good little restaurant with a small lunch menu and tasty drinks. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Nice place to sit and enjoy drinks and Mexican fare..

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Birthday Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I ate at the Mayan Bistro for 5 days. Every meal was cooked perfectly. Hats of to the cooks, the servers and to management team, their commitment to the customers is very evident and we appreciated their great service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“One of the best meals we had in playa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The place is small, friendly and intimate. Food was fantastic, drinks tasty. It was well worth going. Real gem!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayan Bistro also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Mayan Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.