We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Bistro

Mayan Bistro
Hotel Aventura Mexicana | 10th Avenue & 22 Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 873 1876
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Italian, Mexican, Pizza, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Escape the hustle and bustle of 5th Ave and dine with us in our beautiful gardens just a block off 5th Ave on 22nd. Our service is friendly and sincere while our cuisine is an international blend that reflects the diverse culinary backgrounds and experience of our chefs. We are sure you will love our food as much as we do!! Oh yeah we also have the biggest wine pour in all of Playa!!
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a really pleasant evening in this bistro with our three daughters. The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    65
    18
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nicholas was wonderful, he made our stay at Aventura Mexicana such a warm experience. We will definitely be returning to Playa del Carmen and staying at this hotel again !!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Found this one on tripadvisor and decided to try it based on the reviews. It was an easy walk from where we were staying at the Peregrina Condos. We are a family of 6 with a couple of kids who are picky eaters. There was a variety of food on the menu so everyone found something. I had the chicken kebab with spinach mashed potatoes which was excellent. The tiramisu was also excellent. Chris is the manager (not the owner) and he checked in with us a couple of times to make sure that everything was OK. Our waitress was also excellent. There are never cast-iron guarantees with restaurants because everyone's experiences differ depending on various factors but I got the sense that it would be hard to go wrong with this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food was very good. Service was fantastic.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Nicholas gave excellent service and the food was very good quality. Drinks were also fantastic. The food was a great value compared to other places on 5th Ave.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic flavors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed across the street from Mayan Bistro at Hacienda Paradise and just went in one night out of convenience. What a treat! Our waitress was terrific and gave us good recommendations based on our inquiries. The flavors were very specific and fresh! The owner, Christopher, is very friendly and will stop by to make you feel at home. It was definitely the most expensive meal we had in Mexico, though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayan Bistro also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Mayan Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.