We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Bistro

Mayan Bistro
Hotel Aventura Mexicana | 10th Avenue & 22 Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 873 1876
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Italian, Mexican, Pizza, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Escape the hustle and bustle of 5th Ave and dine with us in our beautiful gardens just a block off 5th Ave on 22nd. Our service is friendly and sincere while our cuisine is an international blend that reflects the diverse culinary backgrounds and experience of our chefs. We are sure you will love our food as much as we do!! Oh yeah we also have the biggest wine pour in all of Playa!!
stamford, ct
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

TA reviewers had us excited about this place. But our experience was less than positive. The service was nice, but the food was very average. We wouldn't go back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    184
    51
    15
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The food was good--everyone liked their meals. The wait staff was very helpful and attentive. Overall it was a very good experience and the atmosphere was very nice.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I was walking by the main entrance of the Aventura Mexicana Hotel and saw and add regarding a prize the Mayan Bistro restaurant had won, this was the hook which pulled me in.
My son Roderick, his wife, his kids and me had a wonderful father's day dinner.
The food was simply excellent, the service from Ms Gabriela Lopez was first class, drinks prepared by Bartender Jorge were the best we had in Playa del Carmen.
I recommend Pescado a la Talla and Pescado al Tikin-xic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great atmosphere, even better people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The staff is awesome. Friendly and professional. As for the food: "Chef's challenge" where you select your protein (beef, chicken, scallops, shrimp, fish) and briefly describe how you would like the dish prepared... (Sweet, spicy, with beans, etc. etc.) is not only a creative and fun way to dine but was absolutely delicious on two separate occasions... To top everything off the 50/50 bar (chocolate and vanilla warm cake and mango sorbet) was muy bien.. Mayan Bistro is a must.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful fresh food and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I went here for our first wedding anniversary. We loved the food and desert! Everything is fresh, not frozen! The atmosphere is lovely and the service is beyond great, thanks Christopher!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayan Bistro also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Mayan Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.