We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low key, excellent service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Bistro

Mayan Bistro
Hotel Aventura Mexicana | 10th Avenue & 22 Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 873 1876
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Italian, Mexican, Pizza, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Escape the hustle and bustle of 5th Ave and dine with us in our beautiful gardens just a block off 5th Ave on 22nd. Our service is friendly and sincere while our cuisine is an international blend that reflects the diverse culinary backgrounds and experience of our chefs. We are sure you will love our food as much as we do!! Oh yeah we also have the biggest wine pour in all of Playa!!
Albuquerque, NM
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Low key, excellent service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

The friendly staff stands out. I had a generous glass of good house white wine to start. Then I had a decent Mayan salad, with goat cheese, tomato, walnuts and lettuce served with 3 different dressings. For a main course, I had tequila shrimp with spinach. The sauce was delicious. At the end, the owner brought 2 semi-sweet chocolates, a perfect ending for a first class dinner. This place is not fancy, just excellent.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    182
    51
    15
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very nice setting outside in an older colonial hotel. Food very fresh and very good. Have the tortilla soup for starters! Drinks and service excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

On a hot, humid day, we intended to walk from our car to another restaurant, but then spotted Mayan Bistro with its Trip Advisor award sign. The waiter welcomed us warmly and was so, so nice. We had a delicious lunch. It was so nice to have a refreshing salad with perfectly cooked shrimp and fruit, instead of heavier fare. Since we were not staying in PDC, we did not have a chance to go back, but I strongly recommend Mayan Bistro.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“YUMMY FOOD AND GRACIOUS SERVICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

The Aventura Mexicana hotel's Mayan Bistro has amazing food, drinks and most importantly, a staff that really cares. My husband and I were in PDC for a week in February and we loved this restaurant--I think I had the grouper a la plancha several nights in a row (so fresh!). Chris, Nicholas, and Gaby were great: Chris, we appreciate your hospitality, humor and life stories--always entertaining AND thought-provoking; Nicholas and Gaby, you always gave us a smile and amazing service. The rest of the waitstaff and cooks--y'all rock, we appreciate each and every one of you!

Nicholas was the very first person to wait on us the day we arrived. He made us laugh, kept the drinks and food coming (we chose the VIP all-inclusive option at the hotel--A MUST if you are staying there), and he helped us to completely forget our less-than-awesome commute from Houston to PDC. Thanks, Nicholas!

We especially loved the super-fresh guacamole, grouper, awesome egg dishes for breakfast, and some surf and turf dish that was amazing. Free Wifi was a plus, too!

While we were having lunch outside for the umpteenth time, we even encouraged a couple perusing the menu from the street to give it a try. We saw them at the restaurant for consecutive days thereafter--they seemed to love it too! :) The Mayan Bistro has an ambience that feels both laid-back AND exclusive. The staff AND the food (made with TLC) make this restaurant magical--make a stop at this gem during your travels to PDC and don't be surprised if you're here for breakfast, lunch AND dinner! ;)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
“Great Food Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I recently stayed in PDC at Adventura Mexicania & ate 90% of my meals at The Mayan Bistro. The food was fresh & well prepared. I had gotten the all inclusive so I was able to sample many items on the breakfast, lunch & dinner menus. The service was excellent and the atmosphere was festive but relaxing. I would highly recommend this restaurant & staying at Hotel Adventura Mexicana. Great time! Alcoholic drinks were excellent too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayan Bistro also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Mayan Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.