We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Playa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Bistro

Mayan Bistro
Hotel Aventura Mexicana | 10th Avenue & 22 Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 873 1876
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican, Caribbean, Pizza, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Escape the hustle and bustle of 5th Ave and dine with us in our beautiful gardens just a block off 5th Ave on 22nd. Our service is friendly and sincere while our cuisine is an international blend that reflects the diverse culinary backgrounds and experience of our chefs. We are sure you will love our food as much as we do!! Oh yeah we also have the biggest wine pour in all of Playa!!
Saint Michael, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best in Playa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The food used to be very good here. Now it is even better! New management, new chef and the best wait staff I've experienced in a long time, especially Nickolas. Jorge is an artist behind the bar and a true gentleman. Try the tequila shrinp! Priced reasonably and tasted fantastic. The carbonara was rich and very tasty. I had the chef's challenge and he made a scallop dish that was extrordinary. Very creative. For lunch the fish tacos were the best we've had in Playa. Fresh and cooked perfectly. You will not be disappointed in anything you order here. We can't wait to come back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    79
    22
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best food we had in Playa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at the hotel and ended up having several meals at Mayan Bistro. We were blown away that the restaurant at our hotel had the best food of the trip by far. We tried the Burritos, Tortas, Carnitas Tacos, Mexican Corn, French Toast, and a few other specials I can't remember. Everything was delicious and the Negra Modelo on tap was nice and cold. The staff remembered us and were very kind. There are a lot of food options in Playa and this one is a must visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The food here was incredible, even the plain-old chichen quesadillas we had for lunch one day. During the day the service was fantastic - servers were very attentive, friendly and helpful. One evening however we dropped in and it seemed like the staff was more interested in the television than paying attention to the guests. Aside from that it would have been a 5 star review.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Much Improved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just spent some time down in Playa. Always stay at the Aventura which houses this restaurant. There has been a change in the management here and what an improvement! Christopher, the manager, is a breath of fresh air. He is friendly, available, always has a smile on his face and a warm greeting for all. The staff, Nicholas and Gabby in particular, are wonderful, the food is much improved. I had the grilled fish one night, grouper, and it was delicious. The Pina Coladas are to die for, had to have at least two each day. I was very happy to see such an improvement in the atmosphere and food. Check it out next time you're down there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“2 for one happy hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The staff and location were just a bonus
The food was excelent I had chicken mole both visits
Do not miss the coconut ice cream

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayan Bistro also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Mayan Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayan Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.