We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple yet Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Portena

La Portena
Calle 38 between 5 th ave & 10 th ave, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Simple yet Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

It was our 2nd or 3rd day in Mexico. We were staying at a condo on Calle 46 and was heading out walking down 5th Avenue. We had stopped at the mini grocery store the night before and never saw this place. We just happened to stop there on the way home when we saw several locals eating there. It must have been a good place. They were almost out of everything because of the holiday but we tried the choripan and pollo al limon, OMG they were amazing. We could not stop raving about it. I was determined to try everything. The arrapan, the ribeye, arrachera, everything was great!! Alex, the owner and his wife were beautiful people. My husband and I would just hang and talk with them. Just be sure to pre-order the beef empanadas, as they sell fast!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    23
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rehovot, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

A small unnoticeable place with great steak! really tasty and the owner, Alex, was really friendly!
A must go to in Playa!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Food its excellent, Ive tey arrapan, steak, choripan everything is well cooked, grilled done.
Arturo is a nice guy he's always there to assist u with a smile
Perfect place to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yummy steak in a cafe environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stopped there for dinner and I was put off a little by the 6 bar stools and bar forming a restaurant. But forget the basic nature of the surrounds as the food was lovely. The cook was really friendly and gave us a few holiday tips on places to visit. We enjoyed a tasty steak with a soft drink.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simple and Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We came upon La Portena while looking for another restaurant. I remembered the name from tripadvisor and decided to try it when we couldn't find our restaurant.
La Portena is at one end of 5th Ave so is a little bit out of the way. It is truly a hole in the wall and if you blink you might miss it, were it not for the good sign with the name all across it.
Even though I had read the reviews my family and I were still skeptical because there were only a few stools and a counter. Alex the owner saw us debating and told us if we were going to order we needed to do it soon because he had a party of 27 coming soon and everything would be gone in no time. We decided to stay. We ordered the hamburger, flank and chicken. There was no ribeye or empanadas or sausages due to his big group coming in. Everything is cooked on the grill.

Everyone enjoyed their meal. We sat on the stools and had a good time. The menu is small and not exotic but don't be fooled. They do what they do well. Our family of 4 ate for under $50.
The large group came in while we were there and went 2 stores over to eat and get drinks. Alex was so apologetic and gracious about not having some menu items available we will have to go back to have the rest of the menu.
If you are looking for ambiance or an exotic menu, then this is not the place. If you want good quality food cooked very simply but done well then visit La Portena.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Portena also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Portena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Portena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.