We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to the hype!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Portena

La Portena
Calle 38 between 5 th ave & 10 th ave, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lives up to the hype!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

After reading all the reviews, I knew I couldn't go wrong with this place! And, it delivered. I had the sausage sandwich and a ham & cheese empanada and both were awesome. As stated, the little market next store had cheap beer that I joyfully drank while eating. The owner is hard working and the place is unpretentious (a nice change from trendy 5th Ave). I cannot recommend this place enough, particularly if you're tired of paying the often outrageous prices at other places.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    21
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Good was outstanding! Service great and a good value as well. I'm sure I'll be back before I leave. ;-D

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“One of the best Changarros in Playa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

It is literally a hole in the wall type food stand, changarro. A tasty change from tacos. Very good prices and quality. Get a quick bite and have fun.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We went to La Portena last week in Playa based on the TA reviews, and they were spot on. The restaurant is really just a counter bar with a few stools and a guy cooking up some amazing meat. We brought our own beer and bought plastic cups from the store next store. I had the grilled sausage on a bun and my husband had the rib eye. We had just had steak on Quinta the night before, and the steak we had at La Portena was so much better and half the price. Also, they made a Chimichurri Sauce that was amazing. I was spooning it on every bite. The owner was working the grill that night, and he is really laid back. Chatty, but not too chatty, you can still enjoy your own conversation. The cliental was a nice mix of locals and tourists, the location is great just off 5th. This is going to be one of our go to place in Playa from now on.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Super cheap!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Very yummy food and friendly service. You have yo go next door to buy beer, but its not a problem. It's just a little dude of the road grill, don't expect anything fancy, but its good. Very inexpensive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Portena also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Portena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Portena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.