We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pelicano Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pelicano Inn to your Saves list
Pelicano Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 8 entre 5a. y Zona Federal | Zona Federal, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Mission, Kansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location and service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

See comments below. Great location, great service, but owner needs to spend some $$ on cosmetic outside repairs. The Staff, from housekeeping, to managers are excellent and certainly take pride in doing a good job. Hotel right on beach, 1 block from 5th Ave, close to many good restaurants.
Very affordable for couples or families. Our ocean view rooms on 3rd floor were very quiet, and awesome view of the ocean.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms on the 3rd floor are great for the price. Quiet and great views. We stayed at this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    47
    30
    15
    15
See reviews for
18
49
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My family and I had a great experience at this hotel. We went in July 2013 for one week. The service was great, and all the amenities mentioned on the website were as is. We had our room cleaned every day, new sheets and towels every other day. We didnt have any plumbing problems. We did have a safe which is very helpful when you go out of the hotel. The ocean view from our balcony was unforgettable, such beautiful site. The hotel restaurant had such nice employees and great service. The food was delicious, their menu had a variety of foods for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Not to mention the drinks! Do try their pina colada! its amazing, and also their lime margarita ;-) We tried all their drinks all week. The hotel is located in a perfect location infront of the crystal clear turqouise waters. Just one block from the famous 5th avenue, and other local stores and restaurants. We had no problems with the neighboring hotels and their loud music. We were told that weekends were especially loud til dawn, but we didnt have any problems at all. We had a great time at this hotel, while it lasted.
:-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days in mid Feb 2013. You are right in the middle of everything, and within walking distance of MANY great restaurants, Starbucks and Walmart (which as a fabulous deli for breakfast thru dinner choices).
I love to camp, so this hotel in paradise is a few steps up from camping. You do have a roof over head and my bed had a mattress pad so it wasnt as hard as some beds in Mexico.
We had a small fridge in the room, 2 beds a small table with a couple resin chairs.
The bar area on the beach side of the hotel is ran by an probably owned by someone outside of the hotel. They decided to work on an iron gate ,sawing and hammering at midnight. Which required getting up, was awake anyway and going to the front desk to ask them to stop. Some of the waiters at the bar continued to short change my brother on day 2 of being there so we stopped eating or drinking there altogether.. Just went to walmart and got our beer and snacks.
The reviews about toilet paper is true.... you may run out so I went to the public beach rest rooms there in the hotel to gather back up in case we ran out.
The rooms were cleaned every day.Pillows are sparse and they dont always have extras.
Our air conditioner worked fine, it was in the upper 80s everyday so it was nice to have. And even tho the ceiling fan had exposed wires it did work real well.
SOOOO, for the price and since we are far from picky in paradise it worked fine for us. My husband may need some convincing to go back. But when I throw in the better than camping he gets it.
Hotel desk staff all were very nice.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for the Ocean view, lower right had a full fridge with a king bed, my brother and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The good: Came back here after 12 years. Pelicano Inn is a beautifully rustic holdout in an area quickly becoming slick and gaudy. Courtyard garden is beautiful and quiet. Location on the water and in the middle of pedestrian zone can't be beat. Exceptionally good price. Friendly, English-speaking staff. Free wi-fi worked great for me. Except that Playa has lost its small-village charm, I would go back to Pelicano. It's not luxurious, but has beauty and warmth - more than what I would call 'bare bones'.

Not so good: I wish the rooms still had hammocks, the hooks are still in place on the balconies and patios, and the mattresses are really bad (I bought a hammock, it's worth it). Used to put free quart of bottled water in every room, now they charge. Noise from Fusion bar nearby ruins the ability to listen to the surf at night in the ocean view rooms (but apparently does not disturb the 'garden view' rooms so much). Concierge was lacking: recommended garish Vegas-style show, and when I said that was exactly NOT what I was looking for, instead of suggesting low-key locals-style activities he said 'oh you gotta go'.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are quieter at night. The ocean front rooms are REALLY on the beach - the night c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Budget hotel at great location at beach. I am staying here three weeks. The first room we were given had no frig, no towel racks, or much besides the beds. There was a bad leak at the bathroom sink which we asked to be repaired. They worked on it, but it was never fixed. We asked to be moved to another room which was pretty much the same, but we were given a frig upon request. It, too, has a bad leak by the toilet and the faucet lifts straight off and leaks if it is not on just so. They can't seem to fix the leaks. I have to regularly ask for extra towels to place on the floor for the leaks, have had to ask sevral times for toilet paper after the room has been cleaned, had to ask to clean the room when it was missed, and asked to return a mattress pad that had been removed for some reason. The staff is very friendly and nice, but there seems to be a "band-aid" fix on things.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We har a wonderful stay here in December 2012. Great quiet hotel with charm, perfect location and wonderful staff (all from smiling cleaning ladies, the boys in the restaurant to the helpfull guys in the reception). Good value for money and far away from the all-inclusive hotels. Nice atmosphere in a beautiful building and chilled garden. And not to forget the perfect SPA. No names mentioned no names forgotten. Will definitively stay here our next time. Warmly recommended!

Regards,
Lene

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Pro:
What I like about this place, was the location and the building was like authentic Spanish Villa right at the beach next to the 5-notte street which has all the shops and restaurants.Staff were very nice and helpful, rooms were clean daily, had AC and frig and little balconies.
During my stay it was the BPM fest going on, and couple of my friends who stayed at the different hotels near by they said they cant sleep at night because of the clubs and the party's don't stop until 6am. I didn't have that problem at this Hotel :-)
I would definitely stay here again for 3-star Hotel and beach front, cant complain :-)

Con:
The hotel furniture and decor can get a little upgrade.

Tips:
All the front ocean view have a nice balconies tv, frig, AC, I recommend rooms: 301, 302, 303,304,305, 306

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelicano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelicano Inn

Address: Calle 8 entre 5a. y Zona Federal | Zona Federal, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pelicano Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pelicano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelicano Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Pelicano Playa Del Carmen
Pelicano Inn Playa Del Carmen
Pelicano Inn Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelicano Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.