We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Good, Some Bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel to your Saves list
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Cozumel Mza. 81 Lt. 1 | Entre 26 y 28. Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
kildeer, IL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Some Good, Some Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is our second week long stay at Aldea Thai. We rent through BRIC. The location is the best, right on the street to the beach and only one block away from 5th Avenue. The pool is pretty and has plenty of chairs around it. The rooms are large, as well as the top floor with the plunge pool. The views from the penthouse are pretty amazing. The shower in the master looks cool, but really are a pain because water always leaks around them and you use 1/2 your towels trying to keep the floor dry so you don't slip and kill yourself.... They are very skimpy on the soap, shampoo and towels. Both visits we were without water for two days. There were cock roaches in the room, we did complain and they came and sprayed, but still gross.... When we stayed in Jan., they were putting in new steps so we had to walk through construction the entire visit and use the elevator the whole trip. There is only one elevator, so quite a pain! The units are starting to get run down and need some TLC in order to keep up how good the place looks from the entrance. For the money I find the place to be very average and not well run. We have stayed there twice but won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    49
    30
    21
    44
See reviews for
41
63
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We decided to rent an apartment for the weekend, the deal was quite expensive, I think because of the owner decision, we had an upper deck terrace villa and the views were amazing, private jacuzzi and pools just for us, but next time, definitely will rent something with better downtown location...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morelia, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

They say your rate in dolars is less than the bank, but when they charge you they do it for the highest available and they say it´s your mistake for not paying at their bank.

Laim excuses, very bad service, I woulod recomend it at all!! there are other great companies at Playa del Carmen for rentals!!!

Thiefs!!!!

Room Tip: Not from BRIC!! even at Alea Tahi other companies do rentals
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Definetly one of a kind experience,what a service and what a Villa..we stayed at the Penthouse 2 Bd villa compliments of my membership at La Divina by Aldea Thai...It went a lot more than what we expected...true to their word ,we Had a Chef preparing a delicious dinner for 4(seafood,delicious)..From our arrival Alex was great,service and atention to the max,from taking us to walmart (with a private driver) to all the Restaurants in town (I think there is 15) fine dining by the way50% off...all the way to the pool area and Mamitas beach what an experience..we are very happy and satisfied with our investment and we look forward to our next visit.
By the way We stayed at a unit that had just been remodel and almost the same as the villa they show us when we purchased...Honestly a world class operation..GREAT EXPERIENCE:
JOE & SHELLEY C.
San Antonio Tx.

Room Tip: As a member you should request units with Roof Garden,private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We recently rented a two bedroom online from Mistik after a recommendation from a close friend. Although there is a great looking facade a quick look and Aldea Thai quickly showed its true colors.
Of our five nights staying at Aldea Thai, there was constant construction taking place in the hallway and below our balcony on the second floor. One the second day of the stay the air conditioning waned. With the windows open, nothing but noise and dust flew through the open windows. After tracking down someone to speak to we were told that the electricity in the entire complex would be turned off for the entire next day. Although the air conditioning and the electricity were not related, we were told that the lack of electricity may fix the AC issue. Once the electricity was properly restored, the AC was not. Consistently we found it difficult to communicate our issues and Spanish had nothing to do with it.
Cutting to the chase, there was a consistent lack of communication between my group and management. Even the man selling reservations services in front said that there were issues with management and Aldea Thai is falling into dis-repair. Although we were refunded for two days that we stayed, I would not recommend staying at Aldea Thai until they figure out how to manage a condohotel.

Room Tip: My suggestion is that you go through a condo owner not Mistik. The rooms on the third floor with ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cancun
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful and relaxing week at Aldea Thai. We have been owners of the Private Residence Club for 4 years now and this was our first return visit. Although there was some reconstrurction going on, it did not detract or disturb our vacation. In fact, itwas great to see the improvements and we upgraded to the 2 bedroom penthouse. Looking forward to introducing the family to Playa del Carmen in 2013. Great location, great people, great vacation!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have my own way to consider the different reviews in TA but even after reading almost every single post I had some concerns. My conclusion after 3 days in Aldea Thai is if you do your job before the booking, chances are u will make the right decision.

Only book through mistik. great staff, awsome costumer service, plenty of beach towels(4), water bottles(6), mamitas and kool beach clubs access, etc. We had an a/c problem with our first room but they fixed it in 10 mins and they gave us the option to switch to another room with a better ocean view. we took the second one!

The hotel itself is in great shape. Nice pool, well maintained chairs, lobby, modern furniture, etc.The location is close to perfection. is half block away from Mamitas Beach and is at the end of 5th avenue.
Our room, jr suite, was large, modern and clean. Had great lighting and a small private balcony with 2 chairs and a table.

Just be aware that sometimes young crowds get loud at the pool (not all the time). but we were at the beach, in la quinta, taking advantage of everything PDC has to offer and at night we didn't have any sleep problems.

I highly recomend this place if you book through mistik, but remember this is not a resort, is a condohotel.

Room Tip: ask for the ones facing the beach. 226
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel

Address: Av. Cozumel Mza. 81 Lt. 1 | Entre 26 y 28. Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.