We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Italian trattoria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Famiglia

La Famiglia
Avda 10 con Calle 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
+52 984 803 5350
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Open: 4:00 p.M to 11:00 p.M
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Charming Italian trattoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Intimate trattoria with delicious basic Italian food - homemade pasta cooked to perfection, yummy fresh pizzas, best service (Giovanni is just the friendliest host ever), and great local wines even by the glass. Just a perfect non pretentious charming restaurant.
Prices are not pretentious either - not typical for Playa Del Carmen.
Best Italian trattoria you could possibly want.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    110
    21
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best pizza ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Nice and Charming!
Great service in Italian, french and/or spanish.
Pizza were fantastic and they have a lot to choose from.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a great little restaurant and stands out from the crowd in Playa, location is quieter, food is delicious and the service entertaining and attentive. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We visited this restaurnat twice during our 10 day stay in Playa del Carmen. both times we ordered a pizza as an appetizer, first the margarita, and then the sausage. Both were excellent, as were the entres we tried: black pearl ravioli with salmon, gnocchi with pesto, ravioli al fresco, fettuccini with salmon in cream, gnocchi bolanese. This is the best Italian restaurant in Playa, so you'll need reservations.
Our only problem was that both times around 7 or 8pm it was still so warm in the place, that the fans barely helped. It's hard to appreciate the quality of food when you're uncomfortable.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Make a reservation...it's worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

So, I showed up at around 6pm...without a reservation...how was I supposed to know?! I was informed by the host that there wouldn't be an open table until 8:30pm!! I walked away a little disappointed because the restaurant looked almost empty. Well, we ended up walking past it a little later and it was indeed packed. We decided to get massages and ended up stopping by again at almost 9pm because we were still craving some good Italian food...and this place did not disappoint!

We have been to different parts of Italy and this definitely reminded me of that time. Apparently family owned and it shows. The staff was friendly and attentive. The food, however, was so tasty and flavor-packed! I don't normally like clams, but we ordered what was the special at the time which was spaghetti with clams cooked in white wine. Wow is what I remember saying. I think these were some of the best clams I ever tasted, seriously folks, no lie. I had a pretty great glass of their red wine. Needless to say my Italian food craving was well satisfied.

***NOTE: MAKE A RESERVATION!!...if you don't, don't be surprised if you are turned away. it was worth the wait, but learn from my mistake so you don't have to! cheers and buon appetito! Oh yeah, when I went there was a little construction going on the street in front, so we didn't spot it at first.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Famiglia also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to La Famiglia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Famiglia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.