We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best pizza in Playa del Carmen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piola

Piola
Av. 5ta Mza. 152. LT2, Local 1, Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #180 of 787 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
La Paz, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the best pizza in Playa del Carmen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

My favorite place when we want to eat italian pizza in Playa del Carmen. Very nice location close to the beach in downtown , affordable prices and good service with many different tastes of pizza,calzone,bruschetta and other good things.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    138
    50
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Playa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Set in one of the more pleasant areas of Playa's fifth avenue, this restaurant absolutely serves the best pizza we have tried in Playa. The large pizza is more than enough for two, with a great selection. However, the restaurant is popular and can get busy with a certain kind of tourist that feels the need to screech to one another and the tables are quite close together so that can be unpleasant. Overall though, excellent pizza, the location is nice and we weren't disappointed with the service. Go early in the evening before it gets overcrowded.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Paul, MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Piola for great pizza & pasta, but lower your expectations for service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Piola’s is an inexpensive Italian restaurant up on 38 Calle about 200 ft east of 5th Avenue. I love coming to this restaurant because my kids will pick up the tab, what a value. This is some of the best thin crusted pizza in Playa. The wait staff has always been a little bit thin. Hence, the service can be slow, and absent minded at times. We ordered a side dish of pasta carbanaro, and they brought fusilli in a white sauce instead of the fettuccini made with alfredo sauce and bacon. Oh well it’s Mexico, and they are a little under staffed. He almost forgot to bring my after dinner drink, but it only took two reminders. We ate the fusilli and enjoyed it. Three of us ordered their basil martini, wow is that ever good. My daughter enjoyed her sangria. We ordered two small pizzas. The Modena (tomato sauce, mozzarella and parma ham 100 pesos) and the Fugazetta (tomato sauce, mozzarella, sweet peppers and ham 120 pesos). Both were wonderful. They offer more than 50 choices of pizza, 9 blanco pizzas and almost an equal number of choices for their pasta dishes. We all shared the profiteroles for dessert, and I was embarrassed at how we devoured it.
Piola is set among some old large trees for shade and it’s all lit up at night. It’s a very pretty atmosphere. They have redecorated the inside of the restaurant and it’s much more inviting then in years past. It now has a floor to ceiling glass wall in front that can be completely opened. I’ll endure the shaky service, which is consistently shaky, because it’s inexpensive and the pizza is good. It’s one of the value restaurants in Playa.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Food.....Terrible Service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Food was good but the service was NOT. Our waitress looked miserable the entire time, and provided us with crappy service. She also got our order wrong and didn't even apologize or make any adjustments to the bill. Won't be going back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Basil Martini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My new favorite drink in Mexico. Clean and refreshing. Good food.
Came back a second time. Hand made pizza's. Nice bar tenders.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piola also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Piola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.