We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Zip Line Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa del Carmen Tours

Playa del Carmen Tours
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
+52 1 866 728 1438
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Playa del Carmen's #1 tour company saves you $$ on a wide variety of fun, safe and exciting tours, activities and excursions, all departing conveniently from Playa del Carmen and the Riviera Maya. Toll-Free English-Speaking customer service is available to assist you with your questions and bookings 7 days a week by phone, live chat, Skype, Facebook or email. We offer one-stop shopping for everything from Mayan Ruins tours to cenote snorkeling adventures to ATV tours to cruise shore excursions - come experience the service, price and selection that has made us the go-to in Playa del Carmen for all these years.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Amazing Zip Line Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Went here on a rainy cloudy day and had the best time!!! Not a heights fan, but loved the 14 zip lines. I wish I could have done it twice, but we ran out of time. We also did the jeep tour and the the boat through the cenote. Do the jeep thing and but skip the cenote. The zip line was worth the cost all by itself.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johann&Sandra, Owner at Playa del Carmen Tours, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
So great that you really enjoyed your zip line tour. We like those too! Very exciting, and of course we offer really nice prices on the best zip line tours in Playa del Carmen which is exciting too! I enjoy the boat ride through the cenote as well, but I agree that the zip lines are the best part! Hopefully you'll be back in Playa del Carmen again soon. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    32
    15
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Wonderful experience with exceptional guides!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013


tour_taken: Snorkelling with Turtles.
tour_date: May 22, 2013
my_hometown: London England
tour_rating: 5-Stars.

tour_review: This tour was actually more like 6 stars!! We were a party of 8 and met Elliau & Jorges at Senor Frogs in PdelC as per arranged. We were a bit late but they were not at all concerned!!They were very friendly and courteous and happy to give advice and communicate on various topics.The snorkelling was fantastic & Elliau was a great guide. We saw loads of turtles even a baby and a large barracuda amongst all the lovely fish on the reef. A wonderful experience which we will all repeat when we return.Thank you

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johann&Sandra, Owner at Playa del Carmen Tours, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks so much for the wonderful review! It definitely is an amazing thing to snorkel with the sea turtles, and we really appreciate your comments on our guides. They try really hard to show everyone a great time, and it looks like their efforts are definitely well placed! There are so many great things to experience in Playa del Carmen, we can't wait to show you another part of the area on your next visit! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“JUNGLE MAYA EXTREME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a must do for families, but be ready for some physical exertion and heart racing moments! We took a group of 14 from ages 13 to 50 and everyone had a great time. Our guide Robbie was extremely helpful and knowledgeable not to mention just plain fun. The tour was perfect. Each and everyone on of us had our favorite moments of the day and we all agree we would do it again! The tour company was so easy to work with!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johann&Sandra, Owner at Playa del Carmen Tours, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
So happy that you found our company easy to work with, and had what sounds like an amazing time on the Jungle Maya Extreme. This is definitely an active tour, very exciting and fun, and also a great way to experience some of the most wonderful things the Riviera Maya has to offer. Of course our great discount price on this adventure doesn't hurt either! Thanks for taking the time to post your experience with us, we are so happy that we had a chance to be a part of your amazing memories of your visit to Playa del Carmen. Come see us again soon, ok?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Chichen Itza Tour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked our Chichen Itza tour via Johann and Sandra. The service was fantastic, quick response to questions, and all tickets and passes arrived well in advance of our holiday.

We were picked up for Chichen Itza at 07:30am and left at 08:30 from the central collection point.

The journey took us south to Tulum, then we turned into the jungle and made our way north west to Chichen Itza. The tour guide was very good, informative and knowledgeable. Then things went down hill.

We spent 45 minutes in a market place selling "authentic" mayan goods (Obsidian ornaments, and other craft items) which were, in most instances 20 times more expensive than the flee markets near to our hotel (£55 for a 2 inch obsidian turtle)! We then stopped very briefly in Valladoid (15 minutes) which was not nearly enough.. just about enough for a toilet stop!

After this we moved onto the food stop.. was ok but not great.

We eventually arrived at Chichen Itza at 2:30pm and started out tour at 3pm. Once we had finished the guided tour we were left with 30 minutes to explore the site which was far too short- beyond the main pyramid there is a whole section of the original site Mayan city which is 300 years older, and in all honesty far more interesting..

One thing to note, avoid paying for souvenirs until you get to Chichen Itza. When the site closes (4:30pm) all vendors are all but giving away stock and will accept as little as 100 Pesos (£6) for the same obsidian figures as the market place we stopped at.

On the return we stopped at a Cenote, conveniently they were also selling very, very expensive Tequila- another shopping stop!

We finally got back to the resort at 9pm.. I make that a 13.5 hr day to spend only 2 hours at one the 7 wonders of the world.. the direct drive is a 5 hr round trip.

I cannot fault the service from Playa del Carmen Tours, but wished we had simply hired a car and made our own way, and spent the full day at Chichen Itza... shame really.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johann&Sandra, Owner at Playa del Carmen Tours, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hola Simon!

Thank you for the kind comments about our services and the ease of booking and assistance you received through our company. We do try really hard to help everyone have an amazing memory in Playa del Carmen, and I'm so happy that you posted such nice comments about us even if the tour you booked turned out to be not as good as you had hoped.

We take these comments very seriously and try to always ensure the best possible experience for our guests. The tour used to be really good, but it seems that the operator did some changes recently that were not good ones. Based on your comments and those of other guests, we have now changed operators for this tour and taken many steps to improve the experience. We are very excited to share them with you.

Gone is the handicrafts shop (though you can still find plenty of items for sale at the ruins if you are interested in that), we have changed the restaurant, there is now a full 3 hours at the ruins (1.5 hours of guided tour, and 1.5 hours of free time to explore on your own), and we have extended the visit to Valladolid to a full 45 minutes so that you have more time to go around and look. It is already a very long day though, and of course the main thing on the tour is Chichen Itza, so we don't want to stop for longer than that, 45 minutes is plenty to see the colonial center of Valladolid and take some photos. We do offer another small group tour that visits Valladolid in a lot more detail, but of course there is a price difference as well.

We do stop at the cenote where you can learn about what a cenote is, and why it is important to the Mayas, and also swim in its cool, clear waters. This is something that is very popular, and many guests really enjoy to visit a cenote, swim and learn about it. There are items available for sale there, as there is everywhere that has tourist traffic, but we have no association with these vendors and can't do anything, it is their land and they have a right to offer goods for sale there. The prices are high, yes, I agree with that, there are certainly better deals to be had elsewhere, but such is the nature of a tourist attraction. You pay for the convenience and of course there is no need to buy anything if you do not want it or think the price is too high. Remember too that bargaining the price is part of the culture in Mexico, it is expected, so things are not priced nearly as high as it may seem at first glance if you know what I mean.

We do also offer private tours where you can spend as much time at the ruins as you like, but of course there is a price difference there. For the rock bottom price of this tour, you get an amazing value, though it is true that if you pay a lot more for a private tour, you will have a more personal experience. It just depends on your budget, whether you enjoy to share the experience with other people, and how much you value the comfort of an air-conditioned motorcoach for the long 3 hour drive to Chichen Itza vs. a van or car. Many people really enjoy the extra comfort that a bus provides, and others really like to meet and share the experience with other people. Different people enjoy traveling in different ways, which is why we offer all kinds of different ways to see Chichen Itza - private tours, bus tours, small group tours, etc.

We do really appreciate your business and your feedback on this tour, and we are committed to the satisfaction of all of our guests. We have worked very hard to bring new changes to the tour that we are certain will result in better experiences in the future, we are very excited about them. Thank you for helping us to be a better company. Please come back and see us again soon, we have some pretty great private tour options at great prices, I hope we'll have a chance to show you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful and safe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I arranged this tour through my hotel Transat rep at BP Coba. I think it was $20.00 per person for full transportation and about 4 hours worth of shopping in Playa Del Carmen. It was safe and professional. I would absolutely do it again as a tourist and recommend it to all 1st time tourists.
There's lots of great shopping and many places to enjoy a great meal.
I ended up dining at senior frogs at the end of the strip. The entertainment was great, but the food was blah! I wish I would have went somewhere more authentic, but still enjoyed the trip.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johann&Sandra, Owner at Playa del Carmen Tours, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Beautiful and Safe. That is a very accurate depiction of Playa del Carmen! It is such a cozy place, with so many wonderful things to see and do, and of course eat! Senor Frog's is a really fun party place, but there are definitely many better places for good authentic Mexican food throughout Playa del Carmen. Senor Frog's is about as "touristy" as it gets, but that's also part of it's appeal, every day is a party there! Sounds like maybe we'll see you in Playa del Carmen again soon, this time to stay for your whole trip, that is great! See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa del Carmen Tours also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Playa del Carmen Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa del Carmen Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.