We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Origenes - CLOSED

Origenes
Calle 38 y Flamingos, Playa del Carmen 77720, Mexico
984 8732270
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $40
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Overall Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoyed our meal at Origenes. Although we are regulars in Playa del Carmen, we had not dined here before. My husband and I had the Ceviche which did live up to its wonderful reviews. We also had a fish and a pasta that were good. The soup however was salty and impossible to eat. The musicians that were playing were quite good and overall we felt that it was a good choice with nice atmosphere. Do expect the prices to be on the high side for Playa.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    63
    17
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful little restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Excellent food, attentive staff (Marko and Arturo great waiters)! Free wifi. Great fresh juices. Ate here often, as our resort just down the street got tiring after a while.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very disappointent, what a change in two years”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Two years ago we had a fabulous meal, excellent service and enjoyed the entertainment. With that, we returned with high expectations, although the restaurant has dropped down on the Trip Advisor list.
The service was the worst we have had during our seven week visit to Playa. I had ordered a fish dish, 30 minutes later I was informed they where out. I reorder the beef medallion and to say the least it was tasteless. Two different shrimp dishes where ordered from our table and they where blah. Fine dining takes time; however, we where extremely disappointed considering the pricing (high) for the meals.
Another point was that we had made reservations; however, our seating was behind the massive pillars. We could not see the entertainer and the music was muffled. The server could not be found, never checked back on our meal. I certainly will not go back. As a final point, our condo is close by and we have been walking by this restaurant daily/nightly, not very many customers. Try Como Como on 5th, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IGH
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner here. We had the tortilla soup, shark tostadas and the grouper. It was the best grouper I have ever had. It is a great atmosphere and they had live music. We will plan to go back the next time we are in Playa Del Carmen.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Tortas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This place can be a bit pricey. But lunch is a steal! They have yummy torts and seafood. Live music at night that is no too intrusive. The service is fantastic. Great hidden gem!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Origenes also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Origenes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.