We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mahekal Beach Resort to your Saves list
Mahekal Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off and free upgrade
Ranked #66 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great resort, perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The location is perfect, on the most beatiful beach in PDC and at the same time just 5 minutes walking distance to 5th avenue where all the "action" is. The rooms were nicely decorated and very clean. The view of the sea from our room was beatiful. The service was perfect during our entire stay. If to point out one thing we didn't like is the food at dinner which was avarage at best. Overall we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    401
    93
    45
    30
See reviews for
285
716
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our 4th trip to this resort. We absoultely love it. The service is great and really enjoy our time there. Special thanks to Jose, Luis and Roggelio they were so helpful and made the stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Director General at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
It is great to know this was your 4th visit, and that you enjoyed the time you spent with us once again. We will let all of our staff know you appreciated their service, but specially our waiters Jose, Luis and Rogelio. They and all of our staff work hard to please all of our guests, so everyone has a memorable stay.

Greetings from Paradise, and looking forward to your next visit!

Emilio Palazuelos
General Manager
MAHEKAL BEACH RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

the rooms are spotlessly clean. During the rains you will need to use towels to sop up the water inside the windows. Once the air conditioner was repaired, it was frigid cold! Every employee was super personable fantastic and exhibited pride in whatever job was at task. I hope that after the renovations are complete this facility will still be within a modest price range. I would return again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Director General at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Emilio Palazuelos
General Manager
MAHEKAL BEACH RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

What a great place to truly relax and disconnect from the rest of the world. No phone, No TV, No WiFi, no nothing in your guest room, truly free to enjoy a well deserved holiday. Great food and a very clean hotel!

Room Tip: ocean view is only way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Mahekal Beach Resort for 3 nights. We had a lovely time. The staff were very friendly, service was superb, the food in the restaurant was nice and location was great. We highly recommend other people to stay there.

Room Tip: higher floor would suit people who like the quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Director General at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Greetings to New Zealand! One of the things we like the most about being an international destination is to welcome people from all over the world. It's great to read that you had a lovely time and that you found our service to be superb. We are also happy to know you liked our food and our location. We hope to welcome you again in the near future and extend our greetings to everyone in the land down under.

Hasta pronto amigos,

Emilio Palazuelos
General Manager
MAHEKAL BEACH RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Mahekal is very nice! It is very relaxing and a great value. Everyone that works there has the best attitude. The food is also fantastic. I will recomend it to all my friends. Look forward to returning there in February

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The location is fantastic. Away form the hassle of Playa, but in the best beach of the region and very close to shopping and restaurants in Quinta Avenida.
The rooms are all you need for a fantastic holiday, without TV and net.
The employees, particularly at the restaurant, are very, very nice, one can see that they have the experience and the will to serve.
Good breakfast, good dinner, sometimes buffet, sometimes à la carte.
Of course this is not a typical 5 star all inclusive resort. This is a small hotel, catering for people who have some "taste", who enjoy a peaceful and relaxed holiday. if you want big buffets, modern rooms, shows at night, etc, then stay elsewhere. This is for roamance and tranquility.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mahekal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahekal Beach Resort

Address: Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahekal Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahékal Beach Resort is a legendary resort village located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. It has 121 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of Fifth Avenue, the celebrated entertainment, shopping, and restaurant district of Playa del Carmen.The thousands of loyal repeat guests at Mahékal Beach Resort describe it as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed, a unique Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy undoubtedly the best beach in Playa. Our guests love the fact that we have never compromised our truly unique ambiance and style. In keeping with that style, our rooms do not offer television, radios or telephones. Instead, they feature original, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, private terraces with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally-crafted Mexican wood furniture in an outdoor seating area where you can enjoy our magical sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mahekal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahekal Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Shangri La Caribe Hotel
Shangri La Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Mahekal Beach Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahekal Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.