We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Mahekal Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mahekal Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Incredible NEW experience
Ranked #64 of 197 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This property is amazing! The grounds are meticulously landscaped and a lot of attention goes in to the appearance of the property. I would highly recommend it for anyone. The service is top notch and friendly. We stayed for 6 days in 45B. I would recommend getting a Palapa room. The food is good, you get breakfast and dinner or you can swap dinner for lunch. The restaurants on the property are very nice and clean. It is easy to access the very clean and beautiful beach, which is one of the best in Playa. If you want a relaxing laid back atmosphere, this is the property for you. Don’t get caught up on the other reviews about the food, it was good! Dinner each night was a different theme, mostly buffet style. Breakfast was light with fruits, yogurt, cereal, and eggs to order. There are many dining options on 5th Ave, which is only a 5 minute walk away. The rooms have no TV, Phone, or internet. They do provide internet in the lobby and bar areas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    766
    409
    92
    45
    30
See reviews for
284
709
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Four sisters looking for a great resort to enjoy the beach and have some fun. It was so perfect for us. Our little home was so cute. we were just steps from the beach and the bar and the restaurants. The beach was perfect. The location was also perfect. we could just walk thru town and shop and have some great food and beverages. The grounds are immaculate. Staff was friendly and the happy hour drinks ...well Happy! One thing to note in Playa these days is the tip may be added into your bill. Make sure you look before you tip. We had to pay extra for our little bar fridge but it was worh it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Little casitas definitely make you feel at home. Glad to read that our Beach Resort was a good choice for your sisters trip.

Happy Hour is a daily Mahékal tradition at Casa Club, thanks for joining.

We believe that personal tips always help to plan a better trip. We appreciate your review and hope it's useful to the Trip Advisor community.

Hasta pronto amigas,

Social Media
MAHEKAL BEACH RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Came for our 20th anniversary, and it was incredible from start to finish. Terrific and effortless transfer service to and from airport. Every positive thing you have already read is completely accurate- hands-down best stretch of beach, absolutely stunning property and views, and the best service we have encountered in years of traveling. We stayed in 4C, the deluxe ocean front casita with attached plunge pool. It was stupendous. Views from the room, the pool, and the terrace on the beach were unsurpassed. There is nothing like having your lunch ordered and served in your huge palapa-roofed terrace- on the sand but not in the sand. Had ceviches, tacos, grilled shrimp- all amazing. Seconds away from the excellent air-conditioned room. Gorgeous walk-in rain shower, incredibly spacious room, fabulous housekeeping, great furnishings, really a joy. Alexandra in reservations was so helpful and friendly, Boli, the concierge was a gem, and all the waitstaff, especially Guadaloupe, was terrific. On our anniversary we had a stupendous grilled lobster dinner on the beach in the moonlight with champagne- so romantic. The whole beach was ours. Security works seamlessly and hand-in-hand with the rest of the staff to take care of everyone on the beach. The Sunday night 'Mexican' dinner featured a wonderful mariachi band, and the food was EXCELLENT. In summary, I am still dreaming about it and we will no doubt be returning. Gracias Mahekal por un magnifico aniversario!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

After quite a bit of research, my wife decided on Mahekal Beach and we were not disappointed.
A slight misunderstanding on the room location worked itself out and we settled in to enjoy the fantastic beach, great food, awesome service, friendly staff, and comforting security.
The breakfast buffet was outstanding! We ate the dinner buffet which was made more enjoyable with the entertainment provided.
Downtown was a short pleasant walk and loaded with more great restaurants, complete with mariachi bands.
We had a great meal at the Origenes bar across the street
The ride from the airport was a short 40 minutes in a clean comfortable vehicle with a great driver.
We plan to return.

Room Tip: We stayed on a beach location, loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have been staying at this resort yearly since 1988, often mutlple times a year. The reason we keep coming back is the outstanding location, beach and ambiance. The bartenders and waiters are unbelievable. Many have been at Mahekal for many, many years. They always remember your name, what you like and are super friendly and competent. Bolli is one of a kind. The best concierge we have ever met. The grounds are clean and beautiful. That being said, many things are changing and not for the better. For the last few years, we have noticed little to zero senior management involvement except for the food and beverage manager with guests. Weddings seem to be a priority to the point that wedding guests take over the bars, restaurants, etc.. They pretty much destroy the tranquil environment we so much enjoy. Many of the wedding guests carry on with their partying late into the night. At such an open air resort, this noise bothers everyone. The dinner menu has become very limited. Mostly buffets and, when meals are served, they are limited to selections which are repeated continuously. Communication among the front desk, housekeeping, and maintenace has become spotty at best. Front desk personnel do not seem to know when units are ready for occupancy or if there are maintenance issues with them. For example, this year when we checked into our room, after waiting until 4 PM due to late check out of the previous occupant, the A/C was not working. The reception folks did not even know there was a problem, but housekeeping did. The word was not passed along. Maybe this is one example of what happens when senior management is not involved. The owners have just purchased Los Palapas next door. Plans are to do extensive remodeling and to combine both resorts into one. Suspect this will further dilute management attention to the little details and guest satisfaction. Let's hope for the best.

Room Tip: Rooms near the beach, have better breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We thank your review, it's always good to hear from repetitive guests, since they can compare and evaluate better. We will pay attention to your comments. They help us notice details and try to change or solve.

We are happy to read our waiters make you come back, yes they are great! Your comments will be shared with the team.

Will keep you posted via our social media and website about any upcoming plans. Always trying to offer our guests mahekal days in Playa del Carmen. We hope we can welcome you again soon.

Social Media Team
MAHEKAL BEACH RESORT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoney Creek
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our Home away from Home.....Mahekal is truly paradise....The staff at Mahekal are more like our family....they are truly warmer than the Sun :)
We have been spending our vacations at Mahekal for many years, back in the Shangrila Caribe Days. We are so happy that the most important facet to this resort has not changed...the people that work and make this home away from home the paradise it truly is. From the moment you arrive and are welcome back by Oswaldo with his wonderful, warm smile and genuine hospitality to Gabrial and Jose walking you down the little garden pathways leading to your cozy home for the duration of your vacation to the warm and welcome hug and giant smile from Boli with the true care to be sure everything is "just right" during your stay. The wonderful wait staff who manage to remember what room you were in last time you were with them for your last vacation, how you like your egg's and that you only want one coffee for my husband as I prefer the juice. Delightful attention to detail and genuine warmth....the beach is always such a delight not just because it is blissly beautiful, but our Amigo Manual is such a wonderful happy addition to our long warm sandy days in the sun.....we truly love his upbeat funloving attitude toward life and his appreciation for his job with the Mahekal family. The maids and gardeners do such a awsome job in keeping this paradise perfect in every aspect...truly beautiful everywhere you turn and spotlessly clean. The guards keep us feeling safe 24 hrs a day and also manage to welcome us back and recall our names and faces.....really, this place has the most amazing people.
Relaxing~Peaceful~Wonderful~
We are looking forward to our return to our Home in Mexico and our Family in Paradise
Adios till then
Dom and Tina Dionisi

Room Tip: All Great Rooms :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Public Relations Manager at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
The Dionisi! So good to hear from you!

We also think of you as family, it was great to welcome you for one more year, and counting. Thanks for sharing your magical experience with other travelers. Little details make a difference, and guest preferences are the first thing we try to remember.

We will share your review with the rest of the team. Relaxing - Peaceful - Wonderful, we like that trilogy.

Hasta pronto amigos, thanks for that chat at Casa Club.

Social Media Team
MAHEKAL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was our 3rd year at Mahekal.

Pros:
1. Beautiful clean beach
2. Lunch is tastier than dinner (Cubana sandwich..yummy)
3. Clean rooms
4. Nicely furnished (We love no phone or TV)
5. Hammocks on balconies (Very Relaxing)
6. Beautifully kept grounds
7. Wildlife (Birds, Iguanas, Coti’s…the occasional cute stray cat)
8. Amazing Staff (Oswaldo, Claudia, Alberto, Jose, Vincente, Manuel..and so many more)
9. Boli (the concierge is so helpful, and responsive to your needs)
10. Wi-Fi in lobby (computer for public use)
11. Walking distance to Ave 5
12. Close proximity to great restaurants (Piola, Origenes)
13. Very reasonable drink prices (as they are not included in the meal plan)
14. Live music on selected nights in the bar. AWESOME!
15. Deli across the street sells water and snacks for a fraction of the price on the resort.

Cons: *I know these may be personal opinion and/or preference

1. Way too many kids…. and parents who aren’t winning any parent of the year awards any time soon.
2. Dinner menu-There was a menu of 10 items that was repeated almost every other day.
3. Increasing number of large loud wedding parties taking over the bar, pools, and restaurants. Not very relaxing.
4. Remodeling resort soon…not sure if this is good or bad.
5. AC in our room could not keep up with the heat.
6. Sheets very rough, pillows very lumpy, bed very hard.
7. Wish they had an adults only area- ie pool, bar.
8. Free bottled water in room tasted nasty.

Room Tip: Ocean rooms are a bit noisy (from surrounding beach clubs) but, get a great breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Public Relations Manager at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Greetings to San Diego,

Thanks for your opinion, liked your "easy to read" list. Thanks for all the compliments under the Pros. Boli and the staff are always a star on our reviews.

We appreciate the comments under the cons. We will pay special attention to all. And change or modify whatever is possible. Always trying to offer you a better service. About weddings, there's always a season when it gets busier. Don't hesitate to ask about, when planning your next visit, we will try our best to have the more updated information available.

We love to hear from repetitive guests, we hope you come back and let us welcome you again.

Gracias,

Social Media Team
MAHEKAL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mahekal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahekal Beach Resort

Address: Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahekal Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahékal Beach Resort is a legendary resort village located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. It has 121 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of Fifth Avenue, the celebrated entertainment, shopping, and restaurant district of Playa del Carmen.The thousands of loyal repeat guests at Mahékal Beach Resort describe it as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed, a unique Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy undoubtedly the best beach in Playa. Our guests love the fact that we have never compromised our truly unique ambiance and style. In keeping with that style, our rooms do not offer television, radios or telephones. Instead, they feature original, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, private terraces with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally-crafted Mexican wood furniture in an outdoor seating area where you can enjoy our magical sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Mahekal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahekal Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Shangri La Caribe Hotel
Shangri La Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Mahekal Beach Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahekal Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.