We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Playa del carmen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mahekal Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Mahekal Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mahekal Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Festive Season Special
Ranked #66 of 199 hotels in Playa del Carmen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise in Playa del carmen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel has a very nice and natural lay-out, with several 2 story chalets/cabanas. Each cabana has its own veranda and 2 hammocks, the rooms are simple with terracotta tiles and 2 windows, the bathroom has good natural light, a shower and a make-up mirror (nice touch). The rooms have a nice and efficient air-con and do not have TV or telephone., the room had 2 double beds, the mattress was firm and comfortable, the pillows were clean (what a relief no moldy smell)we stayed at room 8B-with glorious views of the sea, I counted 20 steps to the beach. The hotel provides lounge chairs and towels, with plenty seating. The swimming (02) pools are on the smaller side but very nice. The hotel offers a half-board system, the breakfast buffet is wonderful, plenty of fruits, pastries, juices, etc, then you can still order pancakes, eggs etc:, dinner is the other meal included, but if you wish the hotel is very flexible and you can exchange for lunch, provided you tell the front desk in advance. I found the quality of food very good. The steak and fish I had been excellent and service friendly and efficient and no waiting on line forever.
The location of this hotel is excellent in my view because you are located very close (10 minutes walk) from Fifth Avenue is lined with hundreds of shops, bars and restaurants, travel companies where you can book many day trips. A 20 minutes walk takes you to the Ferry (we went to Cozumel 25 Us dollars both ways) or walk to the main avenue and get a taxi. I would highly recommend d this Hotel to my friends, if you are travelling with teenagers (I have two) this may not be the place for you ; it could be boring, with no TV in the rooms and, Internet Wi-Fi (free) available only in the lobby You may prefer to stay in one of those resorts that you have to wait 14 minutes for the elevator and ,walk 1 mile to the beach or take a ride on a golf cart and , if you are lucky you will find a free chair to sit on!

Room Tip: Room 8b- best beach view, without paying front roow price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We think that descriptive reviews, certainly help travelers read different opinions. Thanks for sharing yours.

Loved the term, "glorious views" the Caribbean can be amazing sometimes. Hope to have you at Mahekal some time soon.

Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    754
    401
    92
    45
    30
See reviews for
283
709
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here with my extended family. I have never stayed at a place with better and friendlier service. The food is also excellent. I highly reccomend this place for families. Also the drink prices are very reasonable and they dont gouge you on the services or food prices.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was year 17, and it was as good or better than any prior, The ocean, the pools, the people, food, and staff make this a fabulous place to forget the rest of the world, yet a walk down fifth avenue and you hear all languages see all types of people and the world. This year the City of Playa del Carmen allowed a concert to blast loud music late into the night, ear plugs and a pretty good nights sleep, too bad for the people who got steamed and left, the next day and night were beautiful, sun, breezes, moon shining on the waters and the quite we all love. For us its just part of the lore, besides a bad night in paradise is better than an good night most other places. Reservations for year 18 have been made. Hope to you and our old friends in December 2013.

Room Tip: If you want the room for changing and sleeping, most all the rooms are great, the ocean fronts of co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMahekal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks for your review, we love to hear from guests that have visited Mahékal for many times. We are happy to know you are coming back for the 18th. time.

Thanks for your understanding that Playa is a vacation town, and special thanks for your nice attitude towards the loud music. Holiday season is a busy town with parties all around.

Looking forward to see you soon, please let us know if there's anything else we could help with.

Hasta pronto amigos,

Social Media Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is our 23rd year staying at the resort and we would not stay anywhere else. The food is amazing. The staff is incredible. Charming beyond compare. Individual huts instead of a concrete giant. Guests actually talk to each other. You thrive in this friendly in this one of a kind place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Travelled here last year in August and it was a simply beautiful place. The cabanas are beautiful and they give you a true feel of mayan culture. The restaurant was quite good with good service and the beach was beautiful. It was a quick 5 minute walk down to 5th avenue even though the resort seemed miles away from the hustle and bustle of the shopping district. I would def return.

Room Tip: We had a beachfront room.....def worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is our fifth year staying at Mahekal between Christmas and New Years. The property improves with each passing year, but maintains it's low-key "quiet" beachfront feel. I travelled there with my wife and 2 daughters and we stayed in beachfront bungalow 4C and 5C during this trip. These are just 30 feet from the oceanfront and have hammocks and chairs on their front porches.

The staff at Mahekal is outstanding, greeting us by name each morning and evening, and the food is really great. The rooms have no television or telephone, so it is truly a wonderful way to get "off the grid" for a while (although you can get cellphone service and there is wi-fi in the lobby if needed).

The property itself feels like a garden and is impeccably maintained, with flowering plants and interesting (somewhat "quirky" but very cool) decorations like mushroom shaped lights along the walkways and trees wrapped in lighting.

I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing and reasonably priced vacation on the beach.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the oceanfront bungalows. I would recommend staying on the Caribe side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria C, Director of Sales at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear JSaaty,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. It is always great to hear such wonderful reviews from our long time repeat time guests. We love to hear back from you and our staff looks forward to saying hello every year!

Mahékal is proud to preserve our original values of offering an authentic Mexican Caribbean experience for our guests with a personalized and friendly staff in a relaxed, peaceful, and beautiful beachfront setting sorrounded by lush gardens where our visitors may enjoy a truly disconnected time.

We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Victoria Campos
Director of Sales & Marketing}
Mahékal Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We love Mahekal. This holiday season was our second time there. However, to our surprise there were massive Rave parties at the next beach almost every day of the eight we were there. These parties ran until 4:00 am and had aweful, very loud music. Using an on-line app for our smart phone, we measured the noise level at over 90 db at 2:00 am. This constant pounding of over-amplified base sound was almost physically painful. Then, there were always drunks on the beach theh next morning. We brought our daughter and her family with us for their first time visit. They swore they will never be back. It is very hard with young children who can't get sleep. The hotel management was powerless to impact on the noise and not very sympathetic. Otherwise, the staff at the hotel is great. Friendly and efficient. It is a shame that they will most likely be impacted by these parties that seem to be the new norm for Playa del Carmen. Too bad, it used to be a wonderful family place. Add to this that the TV in the bar area was broken from the day we arrivedd on 28 Dec until we left on 5 Jan. Internet service was practically non-existant getting on line was almost impossible and when we were on, it was very slow. The final problem, which was corrected when we complained, was that we paid for an ocean view room and were put into a cheaper garden view room. Of course, it was only corrected the next day.
DO NOT GO TO PLAYA DEL CARMEN OVER THE HOLIDAYS UNLESS YOU WANT TO RAVE ALL NIGHT, EVERY NIGHT.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria C, Director of Sales at Mahekal Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear jjvla,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate that you enjoy visiting Mahekal and are sorry the parties held at the Mamita's Beach Club were an unpleasant experience for you. The parties on the 28th, 1st and 2nd were not advised properly to the hotel industry and we were unable to advise our guests in due time in order to provide you with an opportunity to change your dates.

It is sad to learn your daughter had a such an impression on her first visit. Mahekal does not endorse these beach parties and we are working with the Hotel Association to present a formal complaint so these parties are taken in doors or their music time on the beach is properly regulated. We will continue to express our concern with the local authorities that these type of events are not allowed so our guests are not impacted.

We appreciate your comments on the hotel staff and have shared them with our personnel. All your comments have been approached with our staff so the proper actions are taken as we always strive to improve our guests' experience at Mahekal.

We do hope you visit us again at another quieter time and we look forward to seeing you again so you may enjoy the true spirit of Playa del Carmen!

Victoria Campos
Director of Sales & Marketing
Mahékal Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mahekal Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahekal Beach Resort

Address: Calle 38, Entre Avenida 5a y Zona Federal Maritima, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Shangri-La Caribe)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahekal Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mahékal Beach Resort is a legendary resort village located on 800 feet of white sand beach in the heart of vibrant Playa del Carmen. It has 121 thatched roof, palapa-style bungalows within steps of Fifth Avenue, the celebrated entertainment, shopping, and restaurant district of Playa del Carmen.The thousands of loyal repeat guests at Mahékal Beach Resort describe it as magical, memorable, and authentically Yucatecan. Our style is friendly and relaxed, a unique Caribbean experience where you can rock gently in a hammock on your private terrace and enjoy undoubtedly the best beach in Playa. Our guests love the fact that we have never compromised our truly unique ambiance and style. In keeping with that style, our rooms do not offer television, radios or telephones. Instead, they feature original, brightly colored, Mexican tile bathrooms, private terraces with hammocks for siestas and star gazing, and locally-crafted Mexican wood furniture in an outdoor seating area where you can enjoy our magical sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Mahekal Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahekal Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Shangri La Caribe Hotel
Shangri La Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Mahekal Beach Resort Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahekal Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.