We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, nice pool and jacuzzi, helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Tortuga Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 10, esq Calle 14, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cozy, nice pool and jacuzzi, helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

Caught a quick 5 day, last minute siesta in Playa del Carmen, and enjoyed the accommodations and hospitality at La Tortuga Hotel. Clean, cozy, nice central courtyard with a pool and jacuzzi where you could have your happy hour drinks 2 for 1 every evening. Helpful staff, centrally located. A nice place and a good value. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    440
    101
    42
    20
See reviews for
99
1,148
63
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2009

La Tortuga was everything and more than what we had expected. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel as though we were on vacation. Lisa and Daniel greeted us at the reception with cold drinks and loads of information to start us on our way. Walking through the hotel to our room was spectacular and there was never a moment we were not pleased with the accommodation. Happy Hour was from 5 to 7 pm each day and either Fidel or Marco were there to always greet us with a smile and good conversation, not to mention the always great drinks to go with relaxing by the pool or sitting in the Jacuzzi.
El Bistro is the hotel restaurant where we had breakfast every morning before starting our day. The staff there are also fantastic as well as at the sister restaurnat "El Bistro on 5th" where we had our last dinner in Playa with Martin as our waiter, and he and the rest of the staff and of course the food, were excellent.
Erica took care of our room for us during our stay leaving us nice towel animals on the bed each day. Very creative!
Some reviews I've seen on hotels in Playa del Carmen complain about the noise but you need not worry about that at La Tortuga. We always had a good night's sleep.
With all of this, the hotel is still within close proximity to all of the action you might desire. Beaches are closeby (two blocks) and the main drag (La Quinta) is one block away. Mamita's Beach Club is not far either and is a great place to relax under an umbrella and enjoy the sun and fun.
If you haven't guessed it as yet, we had a blast in Playa del Carmen and will look forward to visiting again in hopefully the not too distant future.

Keep up the good work mi amigos!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark, de
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

I'm so glad I chose to stay at this small boutique hotel. The location was perfect, a block off 5th ave in the heart of everything. Everyone was wonderful from Lisa(front desk), Marco and Fidel(bar), and the waiters in the restaurant. We stayed in room 116 which was perfect-next to the Bistro, steps from the pool and jacuzzi, rooftop hottub and next to the rooftop solarium. Included breakfast was wonderful with a good variety (loved the mexican style eggs). At night the lights around the pool area make a wonderful atmosphere for relaxing. The drinks at the bar are so addictive (I wish I could have one right now). The only negative I would mention is the internet connection is very spotty so don't rely on it. Also the pool was a little chilly for my taste but the hottub was perfect. Other than that the next time we are in Playa we will definately be staying at the Tortuga again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

This is my second visit to La Tortuga, and I'd like to go back again. The location is convenient to the town's highlights, the staff is friendlier than anywhere I've ever been (and equally helpful), and the restaurant an enjoyable place for a meal.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

We just returned from a 5 day trip in Playa. We stayed @t La Tortuga Hoteland I cant say enough good things. The staff was very helpful (our Spanish is very limited and they helped with all our questions in English) and the hotel facilities are beautiful and safe.
Pros;
Location – right in the middle of it all but far enough away from the clubs to be quiet and restful.
Facility – beautiful in every way with a great pool, bar and restaurant.
Rooms – our room was large, clean and the air conditioning can freeze you out if you want.
Safety – there is only one way in and it is always watched.

Price/Value – Its pricy compared to some locations but if you consider the free breakfast (its order off the menu at the wonderful restaurant not some dinky continental buffet) and the free beach club you save $30 to $40 USD each day.

Cons;
The only thing wasn’t great was the fact that the spa was closed for repair and they didn’t tell us that until we tried to book services.

Summery – Go to Playa and Stay @ La Tortuga Hotel. We spent the extra cash and got a junior suite. The room came with a rooftop deck and hot tub that maid our trip.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

We were so pleased we bypassed the all-inclusive megqa-resorts in Playa, for us they were too far away from the action and required transport to go everywhere, but I guess thats a personal choice.

We chose La Tortuga after much research and were thrilled with our choice. Set only a block back from 4th Ave where all the restaurants, bars and shops are, and 2 blocks or so from the beautiful beach, the location couldn't have been better for us as it was nice and quiet at night.

The grounds and hotel common areas were immaculate and the gardens were well tended and beautifully leafy offering plenty of shade, especially around the pool. Our room (205) was light and airy with whitewashed walls, terracotta tiled floor and two queen beds. Double doors led out to a sunny balcony with table and chairs and overlooked the pool, restaurant and bar. The bathroom was modern and there was plenty of storage.

Alas, due to some of the rooms being updated, we were affected by noise during the day. Our concerns were met immediately and we were offered a choice of rooms to move to which was nice. We were fortunate to be upgraded to one of the hotel's best rooms at no extra cost which made us very happy. This superior suite was fully refurbished throughout with king sized bed , a flat screen tv, private jacuzzi set into a bay window, decent wardrobes with ironing board and iron, and a bar fridge and drinks trolley. The powder room had marble twin sink vanities set into a huge wooden beam for a counter top, hairdryer, and a separate room housed the spacious shower and wc. Outside on the deck was a king sized outdoor four poster bed for lazing around on.
Bliss ! The pool was large and irregularly shaped and wound its way around the whole hotel. An indoor/outdoor lounge area with lovely soft lamps, couches and coffee tables was the perfect place for pre dinner drinks and the adjoining restaurant served tasty and well priced food. We ate there 6 out of 9 nights. Marmita's Beach Club is a leisurely 15 minute walk from the hotel where you can use the beach lounges and umbrellas all day, or you can take a 15 minute cab ride to another swanky private beach club and rest on queen sized matresses on the sand - ahhh!!!!

Thanks to all staff at La Tortuga for their friendliness and great service, you were all super, especially our favourite barman "Diabalo" who makes the meanest tequila cocktails in Mexico.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

Last February we went to Playa Del Carmen and stayed at La Tortuga. We meant to post a review as soon as we got back because we had the time of our lives but then we forgot. The hotel is really pretty and the pool is super fun, though kind of cold. We booked a junior suite with a rooftop jacuzzi, it was really nice to relax in it at night with some champagne. The spa was also really great. The hotel restaurant was one of the best in the town that we tried and very affordable. The complimentary breakfast was to die for. The beach club was also really great with Frozen Margaritas and yummy snacks, though it was pretty crowded on the weekend and hard to get a beach chair, but during the week it was perfect. We loved the towel animals that waited for us on our bed when we got back from the beach. We totally hope to go back next Feb.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida 10, esq Calle 14, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#69 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tortuga Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, two blocks from the beach and just around the corner from 5th Avenue. Air conditioning, Cable TV, telephone, fan, private bath or shower, bathroom amenity kit, safety box, hair dryer, coffee maker,minibar. Junior Suites and Superior Junior suites feature a Jacuzzi indoors or Rooftop, bath robes, slippers, flat screen tv. Spa services, Pool bar, happy hour, wifi, onsite restaurant Como Como Osteria Mediterranea, solarium, meeting facilities,ice machine, water treadmill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Tortuga Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tortuga Hotel And Spa
La Tortuga Hotel Playa Del Carmen
La Tortuga Playa Del Carmen
Hotel La Tortuga
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.