We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and VERY CLEAN!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Tortuga Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida 10, esq Calle 14, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good location and VERY CLEAN!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

OK, I stayed at this hotel this past weekend with a girl friend. I will say the hotel was very quiet!!!! A little too quiet if you want action. They do provide passes to a beach club which was good. The hotel itself is great. They also provide a full breakfast included in the cost of your room. The grounds on the hotel are immaculate!!!!! I have NEVER seen a hotel that was so clean!!! The pool guys were constantly picking up leaves in and around the pool. The room was nice and the beds were very comfortable. The rooms came with a mini bar - fully stocked - and a coffee maker. But you can also get coffee brought to your room in the morning from the restaurant before breakfast if you want. The staff was very friendly and Carlos was especially helpful with dinner options!!! Our favorite was Lateral - yummy!!! The breakfast provided at the hotel was good and Jose was a great waiter!!! We loved the fruit drinks they made for breakfast. I would definitely recommend this hotel especially for a quiet relaxing time - would be an incredible place for couples!!!!! Will definitely try them again with my husband.

Room Tip: We had a room that you could walk onto the patio and dip right into the swimming pool. I think they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear T Johnson,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.

Johanna Reside
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,230
    460
    104
    43
    20
See reviews for
104
1,185
71
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

me and my boyfriend spend 6 nights at this hotel last month.. and although it's been a while it was very important fir us to write this review and use this platform to say thanks to all of this friendly and kind staff.. the frontdesk, the bellboy, the manager, everyone was so kind and helpful! the room is very comftrable and always clean and there is an amazing menu breakfast include in the price, and most importsnt, an amazing oaziz poll that we couldn't get enough of! we had an amazing time and we highly reccomend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Hi Elizabeth T,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us, it is always a great
reward to hear that we have exceeded our client’s expectations which
is what we are always striving to achieve. We have shared your
comments with our staff and they extremely pleased and appreciate
you taking time out to thank them. Please keep in touch with us
through our facebook page, La Tortuga Hotel Spa there you can learn
about all our promotions for repeat clients etc etc. Once again, we
thank you and on behalf of management and staff, we sincerely are
looking forward to welcoming you back to our home from home
boutique hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights at the end of August, all the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The Junior suite was good value....ours was quiet expect for the occassional noise from nearby construction works and the odd security alarm outside (which is out of the hotels control). The included breakfast was good and the service excellant at El Bistro, they even helped us out with a coffee and toast prior to opening one morning as we had a early morning tour departure. The only things that could be improved is the shower pressure and the time it takes to for housekeeping to clean your room. (be careful if you leave your own towel in the bathroom, my beach towel went missing until I located it on the housekeeping trolley). I recommend this place as it is a very nice boutique hotel for the money.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Junior Suite or swim up room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Valued Client,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon. Keep in touch with us through our facebook page, there you can learn about all our promotions and free upgrades for our repeat clients…
Johanna Reside
La Tortuga Hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for a week at la tortuga in August 2012. I have to say that this hotel is the best. Friendly staff, clean rooms, beautiful scenery, tasty inclusive breakfast every morning, and helpful staff. We will definately come back and stay here next time we are in playa del Carmen. we had an amazing time.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Hello Dianondiice,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. It makes us really proud and happy to read a review like yours. For us to have such loyal customers like yourself and to receive such encouraging and positive words is the best reward, for all our hard work and obsessive attention to detail and your comments means that we are truly achieving that La Tortuga Hotel & Spa is renowned for and that is exceeding all expectations of our clients.
On behalf of management and staff, we wish you all the best for the future and we sincerely hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.

JOhanna Reside
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights at the hotel as the last part of our trip to Mexico. The hotel is very cute and most of the people working there were very nice and kind, BUT UNFORTUNELY there were 4 things that upset us and when you plan and look forward a trip like this... you expect more.
1. The parking reservation we had made and confirmed was canceled at last minute when we were there, having to move our car and paying more than we expected.
2. The hot water in our room never really worked till our last night there.
3. The person who was at the door during our stay, Carlos, is useless, he just opens and closes the door, but when he had to take us to our room didn’t help us with our luggage although we were carrying lots of things and it was obvious that we need it help.
4. We booked through booking but ending up paying much more. Instead charging us in dollars they converted to pesos with an outrageous exchange rate. But the last day, they did charge us what we consume at the restaurant and bar in dollars with a fairest rate… So what happened?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

I can't think of one thing to fault this hotel on. We stayed for four nights as part of our honeymoon, after staying in its sister hotel Cabanas Tulum. Greeted with a drink and made to feel special. It felt like it was a secret haven in the middle of a busy town. Great location too. Staff were ever friendly and chatty and helpful. Would love to go back some day!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Linda L,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us and that we help to make your honeymoon a memorable one. Once again, we thank you and hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you and your husband back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.
Johanna Reside
La Tortuga hotel & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We got 3 different hotels n i will say this one was my pick out of a fancy one beplaya n all inclusive reef. Complimentary breakfast is very good, dinner u get one 25% off coupon for el bistro. Food is good! It is quite n comfy, best priced hotel i found n it is clean. Location is very close to beach, one bad thing was that it doesnt have parking n parking lot on the street charges 20$ per night, drive around n park in street. Compiter by bar was good idea n comes in handy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Tortuga H, Guest Relations Manager at La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hello Sirfar,
Thank you for taking time out and writing about our boutique hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you are recommending La Tortuga Hotel & Spa as a great hotel to travelers. We sincerely hope to have the opportunity Sirfar of welcoming you and your family back to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Tortuga Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida 10, esq Calle 14, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#68 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Tortuga Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, two blocks from the beach and just around the corner from 5th Avenue. Air conditioning, Cable TV, telephone, fan, private bath or shower, bathroom amenity kit, safety box, hair dryer, coffee maker,minibar. Junior Suites and Superior Junior suites feature a Jacuzzi indoors or Rooftop, bath robes, slippers, flat screen tv. Spa services, Pool bar, happy hour, wifi, onsite restaurant Como Como Osteria Mediterranea, solarium, meeting facilities,ice machine, water treadmill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Tortuga Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tortuga Hotel Playa Del Carmen
La Tortuga Hotel And Spa
La Tortuga Playa Del Carmen
Hotel La Tortuga
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tortuga Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.