We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paamul Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paamul Hotel
Federal Road Cancun-Tulum 305 | 12 miles south of Playa del Carmen, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Cabanas Paamul)   |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 198 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Mérida, Yucatan, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Paamul has a Beautiful beach along the maya Rivera location. I stayed in the hotel room and my experience there was Very clean, comfortable, and quiet. The restaurant had great food and service I would definitely come back. The next time I come back I hope to experience the cabanas.

Room Tip: For Room service if you want, just ask the staff and they will bring to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    20
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
43
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Paamul is truly one of the best kept secrets in the Riviera Maya area. The small hotel is beautifully situated right on the beach and has a wonderful outdoor restaurant within steps of the hotel. The hotel rates are very reasonable and the food is amazing for the price. The service is top notch and all of the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is very well maintained and all of the rooms have an unbelievably gorgeous view of the ocean. The only disappointing part of the trip was leaving Paamul. If you desire a place to get away from the fast-paced circus of life, Hotel Paamul is the place to go.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Paamul is basically a high end Mexican trailer park where trailers are parked under thatched roofs and have walls built around them. The residents are mostly American and Canadian. There is a open air resturant with great food open from around 8am to 9 pm. The small two strory hotel is beautiful with spacious rooms on the beach literally steps from the water. Although rocky and a little difficult to go into the water without swim shoes, the beach is stunning. Paamul is a very very quiet laid back piece of paradise to relax at but is very close to the nightlife of Playa De Carmen by car.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms have a patio. Upper floors have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobe Sound Fl
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

BEACH IT - HOTEL PAA MUL

I stepped out of the room, onto the porch and then onto the pure white sand. Two minutes later I was in the crystal clear blue waters of the Caribbean Sea snorkeling out to the reef. A stake marks the reef where an array of sea fans, sparkling juvenile fish, masses of blue fish made me feel like I was in a bubble of fish life, a turtle was spotted and an array of sea life.

Checking into the dive shop on the premises you can dive for a reasonable rate. Ask for Cindy and get certified on your vacation.

Dining on the terrace the view of the sea is a view you can experience all day or dip into the pool adjacent to this restaurant. You can walk three miles on a secluded beach for your exercise, located next to the hotel property.

The rooms are air-conditioned, 2 queen beds, frig, microwave, TV, tiled bath with hot water and the balcony outside to sit and read for hours. Choice of a room is downstairs right on the beach, upstairs with an incredible view or the wooden cabanas on and just off the beach. My choice is downstairs right on the beach.

If you are looking for manicured lawns and 5 star surroundings then this is not for you. This hotel has the atmosphere of the tropics at a reason price. Oh, next to the rooms on the beach you can get a massage or your nails done. What more do you want? I always put my friends and relatives at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I went for a weekend getaway with my friends. The coral reef is very near and is filled with fishes. We went scuba diving and we even touch a turtle! The rooms are clean, comfortable with 2 queen beds, fridge, microwave, TV and satellite but with view (which by the way is breathtaking) who needs TV.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in the hotel in Paamul. We had a second floor room with a beautiful view of the water and beach. The rooms are very nice, modern, bright, clean, hot shower in a beautiful tiled bathroom, open kitchen/dining area, 2 queen beds, closet, dresser, cushioned couch, desk. We had lots of room, and really enjoyed our stay. The outside sitting area was very nice as well. The pool and kiddie pool were very nice, and cleaned daily. Snorkeling and swimming right out front was very good.

We ate at the restaurant once....prices are a bit high, but food was good and a good variety to choose from. There is also a small hut by the hotel where they do massages. My husband had an excellent massage at a very reasonable price.

There is a small grocery store at the end of the road going to Paamul where we purchased some items for our kitchen - it is an easy walk to get there. There is also a small outdoor taco tent/stand across the highway that serves excellent tacos. Don't let the looks of it fool you....it is worth a trip across the highway.

Paamul is a very nice little town. Fun to walk around and see all of the RV/palapa homes that people have created to be their own.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2008

My husband and I read about Paa Mul in our Lonely Planet guide book and decided to go check it out. Cabanas Paamul suffered a lot of damage after hurricanes Emily and Wilma. As a result, the owners built a new upscale hotel that has about 10 or so rooms. They do still have a few cabanas, but the lady at the front desk suggested we get a room in the hotel instead. We were very impressed with the quality of the new hotel. It is very nice and the best part is that this hotel actually has really comfortable beds! The rooms are all right on the ocean and have sliding glass doors which open onto a small patio right in front of the water. It's really gorgeous. The price is somewhat high - $100 a night . But, you might be able to bargain with them if you book a longer stay and contact the hotel directly. Also, the restaurant had very good food and they have a really nice pool. You can book a snorkle trip there too for about $25 for 3 hours. The seas were rough when we were there, so we didn't get to go. Note that the beach here is more rocky with many shells and broken coral because it is situated on a bay that is surrounded by a reef. So, it doesn't have the white powder sand that you might find in Tulum or Playa del Carmen. For this reason, I don't think there will be as much development in Paa Mul. So, I would definately go back there. The only catch is that you really need to rent a car if you want to stay there because it is so out of the way and there isn't much to do besides enjoy the view.

  • Liked — Comfortable Beds, Amazing View, Great Shell and Coral Hunting
  • Disliked — Very out of the way, price is a little high for us.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paamul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paamul Hotel

Also Known As:
Cabanas Paamul Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Cabanas Paamul Hotel
Paamul Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico
Address: Federal Road Cancun-Tulum 305 | 12 miles south of Playa del Carmen, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Cabanas Paamul)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a dreamy place in the heart of The Riviera Maya next to the Caribbean Sea on one of the most spectacular bays of the Mexican Caribbean. All suites are located 60 ft from the ocean and include two queen size beds, air conditioning, hair dryers, safes, mini refrigerator, coffee makers, microwave, Cable TV and private beachfront terrace. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paamul Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Paamul Hotel to your Saves list