We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Playacar Palace to your Saves list
Playacar Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #8 of 199 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
staffordshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This was our 2nd visit. We last visited 4yrs ago and normal never return to the same place but we did a tour to vegas,cancun and playacar so we were happy to revisit as we fell in love with the place before
So check in was easy and we were offered alternative room of a sea view so we snapped it up. Wasn't the best decision as we were oposite the ice machine and lift. 2 bad combinations and would recommend moving. Also the ferry now blows the horn on the hour from 7am. My partner bought ear plugs.
Good to see the new pool tables but we did miss the ping pong table. The food was as excellent as before. Shame the sea was riddled with dark seaweed. Not the hotels fault. The only downside is the pool is small but the pool service is fantastic even if you tip or not
I did notice there is a definition of class at the hotel. Your wristband states what "class" or country you are from. Does this really matter ?
I would sat the entertainment staff are not interactive and actually do not approach you. My partner did play beach volleyball regular but they don't gain interest in knowing names etc.
Sometimes the pool is full of loud American bachelor party's and weddings take priority over areas. Last time they held theme nights outside but now there are always weddings taking over the outside space.
Still a good hotel and great location. But look at other resorts such as secrets the vine if you want more modern and chic.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,994
    528
    157
    40
    28
See reviews for
884
1,207
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

First of all this place is amazing and so beautiful. The staff is absolutely extraordinary. Jessica was the first to greet us and made us feel like family. The pool bar manager Jeraldo, i think spelling is correct, was fantastic. Also Fabiola was a big help. We felt at home and with family. These 3 are the main reasons we became members.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My fiance and I decided in Fall 2013 that we wanted to have a destination wedding, given a mixed family (my folks in the US, and his family living in Mexico). We just hosted 80+ guests at Playacar Palace in early May 2015. We reached out to Jaimi at Beach Bum Vacations early on in the process, as Jaimi was recommended as a friend of my family. Even better - she specializes in the Riveria Maya area and has vast experience with helping for destination weddings.
To make a long story as short as possible, Jaimi was instrumental in helping us select a property for the wedding. Having 18+ months to plan the wedding was very helpful; however, we know that her services could also easily accommodate a more condensed timeframe. She analyzed our desires and needs with meeting the differing feel of our guests perfect. We didn't want 'too much' party, yet we did not want a super quiet resort. Playacar Palace was the perfect happy medium for us.
We had a lot of logistics to work through with a blended group. If we ran into issues that needed further clarification, we always had very prompt responses and help (both from Jaimi and from the Playacar Palace staff).
Most of the wedding planning was handled off-site with Daniela (who is based at Palace Resort's Cancun office). Daniela was very patient and helped immensely with working through the various details. The only demerit I would note is that even though we had a large group (80 people/100+ room nights in total), the resort was not very flexible with extending discounts for certain services. For example, we had welcome bags delivered to the rooms before our guests' arrivals, and this was a service that seemed to be nickel and dimed. Also, the cost for floral decorations was very pricey and there was no way around those charges (or even a discount for the size of the group). You really have to have a vision in your mind, as the staff will not provide a blueprint of what 'a la carte' decorations and details you will desire for your ceremony/cocktail hour/reception. In all, Daniela's services were rated a 4.5 out of 5.
Every aspect on-site at the resort for our event was wonderful. Several guests stayed 3-4 nights and the staff was so welcoming and a joy. Service is clearly the top priority for this resort and their employees. Everyone had the time of their lives.
The only deterrent to the on-site support was the wedding coordinator we were assigned 30 days prior to our event. We were accustomed to having at least next day turnaround responses from Daniela. And, there were oftentimes that we waited 3-4 days just to have a simple email response. This delay was very uncomfortable, especially with the travel right around the corner. Also, the open arms attitude was not felt with this part of the process. In the end, it all worked out. But, it was very unsettling when flowers for bridesmaid, groomsmen and family members were still not delivered 45 minutes before the ceremony. These were the details that the coordinator missed and caused some concern immediately before the ceremony. Also, there was not much of an attention to try to help - everything was by the book in that sense. We had family members help set up various tables (memorial photos, table assignments, etc.) and I was told after the event that some of my family members simply asked for clarification of what table(s) could be used and the response was very sharp and stated that the Playacar staff would not help them with the arrangements. I feel these interactions should be noted; however, it's important to keep in mind that this did not deter from our overall experience. Our wedding and the festivities before and after the big day were absolutely incredible. We would not have changed a thing - and a large part of that is because we picked the perfect property.
(Also, we LOVED the asian restaurant at the resort... .literally, the best sushi we have ever had. The quality of the food and drinks was top notch!) We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a central or more quiet side of the hotel (side away from Senor Frogs). And, pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Let me preface this with saying we are members since 2002 and although we have visited several properties, we have only stayed at Moon Palace for the past 12 trips. Anyone who has stayed at Moon Palace understands the scope of size of that property, located on 487 acres.
Airline issues got us off to a rocky start; however, those details aren’t pertinent to Playacar Palace. We arrived at noon and our room was not ready yet, however Moises provided us with a pager that alerted us when we could get room keys. We asked for GM David Rubio’s availability and I expected to be told they would contact him. Surprisingly, David magically appeared and was gracious enough to give us a mini tour of the Zen garden, Namaste tea area, spa and gym. We were so delighted to run across Francisco and Guadalupe, who both were previously at Moon. We also met with Saskia—who zipped through our information packet and sent us on our way. At Saskia’s suggestion attend an update meeting, which we hadn’t done since 2009. It was fairly painless and our vacation time was respected with a short, 2 hour meeting.
Our room was ready shortly after 3—room 525—not concierge, however the view was the priority for me and that was fabulous—and so was the balcony! The room was the normal that we are accustomed to, however, the television seemed a little larger and the drawers/bar seemed taller, which was great for a standing height for the laptop! I also appreciated the double door closet doors, which always seem easier to get at things instead of the sliders. Loved the nightstands that lit up and the best ever? The bathroom had a fan! Now that may seem like a silly thing, however, we are so used to no fans, it was wonderful to have. The rest of our gang arrived by 8pm and we had a great dinner at the Steakhouse Terrace outside of Café del Mar—excellent Caesar Salad!
Wednesday was a pool day and we had loads of fun with Ana! Braulio is the newest addition to the entertainment team and he had only been there a week but it seemed like he was very comfortable with his surroundings and the rest of team entertainment! Of course, throughout the week we met Perla, Juana and Christian and they did a great job checking on us and keeping everything rolling! Want something to eat? Wood fired pizza, fish tacos, beef or chicken nachos, chicken enchiladas and more—easy and delicious!
Wednesday evening we were fortunate enough to be invited to Alquimia for a final test run. It is about 20 courses and it is visually and audibly stimulating and we have never experienced anything like it. Tucked in an abandoned area of the hotel, this unique dining setting allows an experience for 12, now operating 6 days per week and the menus will have a theme and will be changed. The cuisine was amazing and something you see in some of the competitions on the Food Network and the presentation was fascinating. Even if you don’t think you are going to like something—try it. Your eyes will fool you! I am not going to give away the experience, however, I will say that tableware is placed after each course to give time to appreciate the presentation and the smells before you dig in! Brilliant! At the end, the staff and chefs came out and chatted with the guests and that was a great experience. One of the courses is a drink prepared by Ulises Tonatiuh Alvarez who happens to be the bar manager for the property.
Another of Ulises’ bartending skills is his love and knowledge of tequila. We were also fortunate enough to partake in the tequila tasting and Ulises was kind enough to wait for our entire group to get back from an excursion. Knowledge, passion and a true love of the agave and its history makes this something special—not to be missed!
Thursday evening—off to Teraza for Italian! Adhere to the dress code as we saw people turned away! Domingo was our wonderful server and Antonio was our sommelier and made some great suggestions we utilized resort credits on! Yum! Parmesan risotto, margherita pizza, great steak—we loved the food at La Trattoria at Moon—this is better!!!!
Saturday—we were off to Momo for teppanyaki. Chef Mario did a great presentation and was very entertaining and Fernando was our server! We are not real fans of this type of preparation as the seasoning is not strong enough and we also realize they are preparing for 12. I can’t fault them for engaging the people around the table or the service. We were there again on Tuesday night and the sushi was excellent! If you’re doing teppanyaki—make your reservation early as they fill up the early hours quickest==also the teppanyaki area requires long pants and collared shirts for the gents. However, if you use the menu service at the regular tables, there is no dress code.
Sunday took us for a day trip to Moon Palace to see the friends! We had lunch at Manglar and enjoyed catching up with Maceidao and Juan Perez—Juan has been our server since 2002! We zipped to Fragratta to see Miguel Vazquez and then to Moon for bellboys Roberto, Gil, Emiliano, Javier, Rogielio, Marco and welcomed the newest addition, Efran! A quick stop to Caribeno to say hello to Jorge and server Roberto, who just passed his sommelier—they had just had a special dinner for all the gentlemen who had passed the sommelier, and Roberto shared his photos with me! If they could move all these people from Moon to Playa—that would be such a bonus for me!
Monday—off to Cozumel! We stopped at Cozumel Palace for a quick bite and then were picked up at the dock! I don’t know the exact name of the tour as my nephew booked it—Karla is the owner and I couldn’t find her information. It was booked through the vacation planners, however, resort credit was not applicable--$65 per person and a great deal! We were off to snorkel Palancar Reef, Columbia and El Cielo. Captain Pancho and Freddie took great care of us and prepared fresh guacamole and Pico de Gallo while we snorkeled. El Capitan also kept an eye on us while we were splashing around and Freddie was our tireless guide. The areas they took us were amazing and I was reminded of another world I spent a bit of time with when I was a teenager. Visibility was great, the starfish were amazing and our hosts were wonderful.
Monday evening we were back to Café del Mar for Mexican buffet. Sous chef, Emer Martin made an excellent Sea Bass with a Red Pepper Coulis. The chicken with Mole sauce brought tears to my eyes as the mole was SO delicious. It was a Mole from the Oaxaca region, so chocolate, avocado leaves, almonds, raisins and about 20 other ingredients make it a memorable no miss!
THE Spa. Magic. I’ve never been sure about the proper sequence of the hydrotherapy circuit before, but Jessica guided me through it. Completed that trip by falling asleep on the heated ceramic seats! Ana did my pedicure and Susana did my best French manicure ever! Those ladies used to be at Aventura and are happy to be at Playacar. Maricela worked magic during my Pul Xha ceremony—which was a seaweed wrap, an Aloe massage and a refreshing facial. The spa seems to be empty between 11-1 and 5 to close. These were my preferred times and it didn’t seemed rushed in the least. Husband Chuck is a connoisseur of Hot Stone Massage and he said Dulce Maria did the best ever. Susana did an excellent pedicure and manicure for him!
I can’t say enough great things about David Rubio. Innovative, hands on and accessible—he is the epitome of a great GM. Look for the new reading area, tucked away along the first floor corridor—hang out in a hammock of the Zen Garden. All spaces he converted into somewhere special. Thank you, David—for your hospitality and a new friendship.
This is a special property and if you haven’t been, you should go. The ferry is an easy walk through a courtyard. Do buy a one way ticket so you can come home when you want; Caribe was $10 each way. The breeze is incredible and everything is open—always! The Zen Garden—quiet and removed, yet so alive! And the teas from the Namaste area—each afternoon—the most amazing tea—hot and cold! From the open air reception area to the lobby bar, the doors are open and the breeze is constant—which totally changes the atmosphere in and out of the air conditioning.
Overall—a great time, a great staff and maybe a new home for me? David instructed Chuck there was to be “no cheating” on him with Moon……… lol!

Room Tip: 525, 240--sittable balconies and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogersville, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

7 glorious days in Paradise, May 22-29, 2015. Check in with Fernando was smooth and easy, our room was ready when we arrived and the drink we had upon arrival was cool and refreshing. The carnation was also a nice touch for the ladies as well. The swim up bar is a nice spot to get out of the sun, GERARDO IS THE BOMB !!! He is very personable and the best bartender. Perla has a sweet smile and worked so hard, she made sure we had our snacks and drinks everyday. Hugs and kisses to you all XOXO !!! Jessica and her sweet "older" sister HAHA! Fabiola aka Fabulous, I can not say enough about the Playacar Palace Resort. The gym is top notch as well. This is our second visit and we will most definitely be back! Food is delicious !!! Sushi was our fav :) Our friends will be scheduling their wedding soon. Hope to see ya'll in September !!!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Loved the modern look of the Playacar Palace! For an all-inclusive, the food was great (always love the breakfasts!!) and sushi was very good! Although it was close to the pier where the Cozumel ferry docks, it was a blessing and a curse because it was very convenient, as with the proximity to señor frogs, the ferry caused waves. I wish there was more of a beach to Playacar Palace, but for a relaxing vacation with family, it definitely hit the spot!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Highly overated. Staff tries very hard to sell,sell,sell, free 1500 hotel credit, very limited, as to what you can get. If you do purchase something there is a whopping 16% tax on it. Pool small. Ocean full of seaweed. Food pretty good. Staff not very interested in you if you ask too much. Water leaking from floor above, through a light socket. People above room ran water over top of jacuzzi every night. Hair dryer in room so hot it will burn your head. Will not go back. Rather go to Florida.

Room Tip: don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront Resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen’s famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our amazing Resort features 200 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This Resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of “Playa” at night. Playacar Palace it’s all inclusive, all incredible and all yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico
Playacar Palace Resort
Playacar Palace Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playacar Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.