We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at Playacar Palace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Playacar Palace to your Saves list
Playacar Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kids Stay Free
Ranked #6 of 200 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Brockville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great time at Playacar Palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I recently spent a week at Playacar Palace, and I must say it was one of the best vacations we've ever had. You cannot get a better location than PP, right on a perfect beach and adjacent to the famous Fifth Avenue in Playa del Carmen. We had an oceanview room and I think it's worth paying the extra. The facility is in pretty good shape, beds are comfortable, etc., but I think what really makes this place special is the staff. Extraordinarily friendly and helpful to a person. I'd like to single out Andrea and Marcella for pool/beach service and Raul in the Asian restaurant. But really, everyone went above and beyond. The pool and entertainment team were really terrific, expecially Alexander.

I have two little quibbles that keep me from giving this place a perfect rating: the food, especially in the buffet, simply wasn't kept warm enough. The presentation and quality was excellent, but hot food should be hot. The a la carte restaurants are pretty good, but not extraordinary. Service is excellent everywhere, however.

The other thing they need to do is promote their night-time activities. People don't show up because they don't know about them. Nobody showed up at the karaoke. And not enough people for the other special night-time activities.

But these are small complaints and didn't detract from an excellent vacation. My wife and I will be back to Playacar Palace, I have no doubt.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,817
    474
    143
    38
    27
See reviews for
795
1,101
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salaberry-de-Valleyfield, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent a wonderful week in the resort from january the 12 to 19. The rooms are comfortable and and clean. The restaurants are good and my daughter who is celiac ( gluten free ) was happy to eat every meal with the help from the chief Guadalupe. All the personnal of the resort are gentle and well attentive to our demands. Special thanks to our waiter Israel for the breakfasts ans lunches. The resort is next to the fifth avenue. The beach is clean and has many chairs for all.
I would definitely go again in the future.

Room Tip: Choose partial ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This superb hotel is located in the heart of Playa del Carmen. We were upgraded to a Honeymoon Suite with Ocean view which was the nicest room I ever stayed in. The food and service were great! The all you can eat sushi was definitely our favorite restaurant.
The Beach is very nice and you can walk for hours if you wish to.
We would definitely go back to this hotel! :)

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinhedo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at Playacar Palace Playa del Carmen by cheer coincidence, as the hotel we initially had chosen was overbooked. We did not regret it. While the Playacar Palace is a smaller resort and located adjacent to the 5th Avenue of Playa del Carmen, it has a lot to offer: Foremost an outstanding service by all employees - no exception, fabulous food (Mexican and other), cleaniless of rooms and all other Hotel areas as well as the beach and a fantastic Spa. Señor Frogs located right next to our wing was not an issue at all. We could barely hear the sound. I recommend to make usage of the credits the hotel conceeds and arrange for reservations immediately on your first day. The usage of the Spa is limited to 400 points (or USD 400.00), but you can also use it for trips to the Mayan ruins and other. Be aware you´ll have to pay 16% of tax on any credit used. It is still worth it though.

Room Tip: Suggest to get a Full Ocean View with a little veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have just arrived back from this hotel but would have loved to stay longer. We were there to celebrate my husbands birthday, and on arrival were upgraded from our room to a suite which was amazing. Huge room, massive comfy bed and pillows, double Jacuzzi, and separate lounge area with furniture and large flat screen TV. We had two balconies a front sea view and one with sea and pool view. Mini bars and fridges stocked with good quality spirits, beer, soft drinks and water. Would agree with other reviews, the service from all staff was exceptional and they could not do enough for you, very cheerful and friendly, can't remembers names as so many were lovely. We did not book any excursions from our hotel, they are available if you wish to, but we did use resort credit to have a massage in the spa which was wonderful. We thought the standard of food for all inclusive was high quality, especially in the Italian and Asian restaurants, with plenty of choice each day. Everywhere was very clean inside and out, all looks recently painted and refurbished. Lovely pool, always sunbeds available did not have to put towels out early to reserve, although some people did. Location few minutes walk into Playa del Carmen, and for the ferry to Cozumel. This was our first all inclusive holiday as we would normally prefer to do our own thing and eat out, but this has spoilt us. Would stay here again, no hesitation.

Room Tip: Higher room for view Room 410 has front and side balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have never written a review before for a vacation but feel obligated to do so now.
We have been to Playacar Palace 6 or 7 times and the resort is wonderful, the staff exceptional and the location ideal. The quality of the resort should sell itself but unfortunately the Palace Resort ownership does not leave well enough alone.
During each of our visits, the enjoyment of our stay has been diminished by the marketing and sales staff. While the service staff is there making certain each guest is well taken care of, the marketing/sales staff is conniving to manipulate guests into becoming members.
We actually became members 5 years ago and even slightly upgraded our membership 4 years ago but I now feel it is important to warn first time visitors that the sales pitches are deceptive at best, and filled with calculated untruths at worst.
Prior to becoming members, our assigned rooms were always excellent. Since becoming "members" we have been assigned much lower quality rooms even though we were "promised" members always get the best rooms and our contract states members get the better rooms. This visit, we received our worst room yet even though I sent an email 2 months prior to our stay requesting a reasonably good room. For the record, my requests were not unreasonable; simply a high floor with a balcony and ocean or partial ocean view.
Our assigned room this year was outside the elevator an ice machine so we could hear conversations at the elevator at 6 am and ice being made at 1 am. After 3 days of requests, we were finally moved to a better room. Ironically, while asking for a room change at the front desk I witnessed a new arrival "non member" being assigned a high floor, full ocean view room with a balcony; so much for members getting "better room."
It was funny discussing with other members the second tier treatment of members. I learned from another member that THE RATES FOR NON MEMBERS VIA THE INTERNET ARE CONSIDERABLY LOWER THAN WHAT MEMBERS PAY. Of course, members are supposed to be paying "discounted" rates.
I strongly recommend Playacar Palace as a wonderful resort but equally recommend that you do not become members. Finally, with their sales pitch (think the worst stereotype of a used car salesman), they do not permit you to have a lawyer review the contract. As members, when you ask for anything the pat answer is, "sorry check your contract."

Room Tip: Do not become a member!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We came to this resort to be close to the 2015 BPM Festival, and could not be any closer to most of the events. Every event was within walking distance. Also convenient was 5th Avenue - we were literally steps away - so there were plenty of things to do during the day and night. Although we ran out of time, the ferry to Cozumel was also only 5min walk away.

The resort itself was lovely. The room was spacious and clean - we had an ocean view deluxe, and could not have been closer to the beach/ocean.

The staff was very friendly and courteous. Ricardo, who may have been part of hospitality, was so lovely. He made us feel welcome from the get-go, and throughout our stay, always asked us how we were, what we were up to, and provided great suggestions for more activities/excursions.

The only thing, the food wasn't THE best. It was good, but it was the same every day. We could have used some variety. And for that reason, we chose to eat on 5th Ave for something different.

We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront Resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen’s famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our amazing Resort features 200 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This Resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of “Playa” at night. Playacar Palace it’s all inclusive, all incredible and all yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico
Playacar Palace Resort
Playacar Palace Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playacar Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.