We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playacar Palace

Save Saved
You added Playacar Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Playacar Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Best Rate Guarantee
Ranked #8 of 200 hotels in Playa del Carmen
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had never been too Mexico before so didn't really know what to expect. Not sure if we just got lucky but he staff were genuinely warm and welcoming, the food was excellent and the drinks plentiful. The head chef, Fransisco Ulloa, was omnipresent making sure all the guest were enjoying their food. You can tell he took great pride in the quality of the 3 restaurants. Benito and Gerrado kept everyone well refreshed and always had a laugh at the pool bar, and Fernando likewise in the luna lounge. Israel always looked after us with a smile in the restaurants and the whole entertainments team went to great lengths to make sure if people wanted to do something it was there to be done (although I have to say Alni was my favourite). I would recommend that the food by the pool is confined to a certain area, I found it fairly disgusting to see people shovelling food into their faces while still sat in the pool.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,583
    431
    134
    36
    27
See reviews for
697
974
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Playacar Palace is just awesome. Great food, great location, but most of all, the best service you can find...They strive to make you feel like you own the place - The people everywhere in the resort are there to take care of you...Guadalupe, Sotero, Edgar, Meira, Isabel, Araceli, Micelia, German, to name a few - OMG they are just awesome. The Hotel was completely full and we still got great service. To the member administration management team: I wish you took care of members the way resort staff takes care of resort guests - their service is simply amazing.

Room Tip: Most rooms in this property are very good with partial or full beach views. There are some that do n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We just returned from a 6 night stay. It was the first all-inclusive experience for our family of four, and we loved how easy Playacar made it to enjoy our vacation without worrying about food and drinks. Service was superb, everyone worked very hard to help us enjoy our break. We booked through Costco and got a room upgrade, which happened before. Room 100, though lovely and huge, was quite loud with clanging throughout the night, and we had several plumbing issues during our stay. Resort credits can be useful, especially for the lovely spa experience, but can be difficult to use. All of the restaurants had a nice variety of good food and we looked forward to every meal. The ocean was beautiful to behold but unfortunately there was an influx of seaweed during our visit that littered the beach and filled the water with debris, and the ferry to Cozumel, while incredibly convenient as it is steps from our hotel, does give off a persistent diesel odor. Still, it was a very enjoyable stay, and we are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Room 100, though lovely and huge, was quite loud with clanging throughout the night, and we had seve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We just returned from Playcar Palace, it was great!! We traveled with two other couples just for a vacation from the daily grind. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay; the place was beautiful, the staff was super friendly (Perla, Ulesis, Javier, Fransico Javier, Julio, Silvia, Jessica, & Gerado just to name a few!), the food was super yummy, and the drinks kept coming! Excellent resort, 2 thumbs up guys, thanks for a great vacation!

Room Tip: Ocean view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having seen the Playacar Palace many times from the Cozumel ferry, we never planned to stay there. However, my son and fiancé picked it for their destination wedding.
The entire all exclusive resort experience was well beyond our expectations. Great food, top quality cocktails, clean rooms and great service. Highly recommended . Make sure you get a chair by the pool that is served by Perla...she is awesome!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Everything at this resort was spot on. Would/will recommend to any of my friends and family. Roman was especially great. Very attentive and an overall great host. Had a blast with him and the other waiters at The Luna Lounge. Victor at the Hibachi Grill was over the top as well. Already looking forward to my return visit.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Playacar Palace is ideal for families as it is not too big and has a very safe feel to it. The atmosphere is very relaxed and everyone makes you feel as if nothing is too much trouble for them. The location is perfect for the ferry to Cozemel and to walk to the shopping area. We visited two of the sister hotels and the children were eager to return to the Playacar Palace as we all agreed was the best. The food was to a very high standard in all three of the restaurants, our favourite being the Italian. Leonel and Rafael were superb and made each evening spent there a memorable experience and the standard of the food was excellent. The entertainment team were so friendly and always smiling-(Alexandro) and all three of my children enjoyed some of the activities with them. The bar staff and beach waiters worked very hard and refilled drinks before you even asked, which was a big hit with my family! I have never felt the need to write on trip advisor before but always read the reviews, but this time feel I can say an extra thank you to David the manager and all his fantastic staff for making our family holiday one we will always remember. Mexico is a fantastic place to visit with so much to do and see but this hotel is a must to complete a perfect holiday. Started saving for the next trip already! The family Foley

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront Resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen’s famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our amazing Resort features 200 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This Resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of “Playa” at night. Playacar Palace it’s all inclusive, all incredible and all yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Regatta Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico
Playacar Palace Resort
Playacar Palace Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playacar Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.