We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Playacar Palace to your Saves list
Playacar Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #5 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Zionsville, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Impeccable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

If you are looking for a boutique experience then this is the place! The moment you arrive and receive your warm towels to "take away the stress of traveling" and your cool tropical drink you will understand! The staff is the reason our family and many others return time and time again. Wonderful location, wonderful drinks at the bar and wonderfully appointed rooms. :)

Room Tip: Oceanviews are nice but cost $$ for the upgrade :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review. The entire Playacar family truly appreciates the time to write your review.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me for any further questions or comments

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,778
    467
    139
    36
    27
See reviews for
769
1,080
16
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have traveled all over Mexico searching for the perfect vacation spot for great service and food, activities for all ages, and most of all a great beach. Look no further, we have found it here at Playacar Palace! Every employee provided exceptional service; from the reception desk, bellboys,wait staff to the cleaning and maintenance crew. Every request was met with the most sense of urgency and importance. The attention to room details, such as the espresso machine, fully stocked refrigerator and liquor cabinet made the experience just that much better. We are members of the Palace Resorts and have experienced four of their resorts, each with a different flavor. The Palace member shuttle service to the other resorts gives you many options to choose from. But if your looking for a laid back, relaxing experience this is the place, it's proximity to the shopping areas; Ave 5 and the Cozumel ferry less than a block away make it ideal for alternative daily excursions. The beach, is one of the best we have ever experienced; Deep white sand, crystal clear water and the cool ocean breeze make it absolutely breathtaking!
Thank you Playacar Palace,
The Quiñones Family

Room Tip: Choose rooms above the second or third floor and on the south side for a quieter stay, most all roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review. The entire Playacar family truly appreciates the time to write your review.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me for any further questions or comments

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Took a girls trip for a week in May. Was our first time to Playa del Carmen but won't be the last! The staff was friendly, attentive, and truly made this a great experience. We went to the sister/flagship one day and although it is massive w/more options, we quickly realized and appreciated the personal attention and privacy at Playacar Palace. So if you're looking for a relaxing getaway with options (but not required) then this is the place! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review. The entire Playacar family truly appreciates the time to write your review.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me for any further questions or comments

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We recently stayed at The Playacar Palace for my wedding June 6th. We had 55 people there over the course of 7 days.

Overall the hotel is very nice. With that many guests and that many days the complaints were minimal.

Room - OUr Honeymoon suite room was great. We had a bit of a delay checking in but thats ok. They were accommodating in switching peoples rooms that were unhappy. I recommend staying on the south side of the hotel for a quieter room. Senor Frogs was loud one Saturday night. The pillows and bed were very cozy, as well as the slippers and robes. I loved our bathroom and set up overall. The housekeeping did a great job morning and turn down at night. It always felt like our room was very clean. All of our guests were happy with their rooms.

Food - Our group loved the food. There were so many options. The buffet does a great job, we ate many meals here. The italian, asian and teppanyaki tables were all amazing dinners. We took advantage of the resort credits by upgrading to beautiful bottles of champagne and wine.

Beach - just beautiful, rock free gorgeous waters, great for hanging in all day, swimming relaxing.
Pool - very fun, music playing, swim up bars. OUr guests were back and forth from the ocean to the pool all day.

Customer Service - overall it was great. The staff go out of their way to help you. That being said the front desk and the management up there need some work. It seems like none of them have the authority to make any decisions, and the person that can make a decision is never around. This peeved a number of guests in our group. The manager Quetzal? at the asian restaurant was superb.

Nighttime - this is the area where the resort needs the most work. The Luna lounge is fun, it has pool tables and cocktails, however the music sucks. Its like piano lounge music, so chill you want to go to sleep. And of course the bartender/staff have no authority to change the music to anything better. The best night in there was when a band came in to play. they ended very early that our group paid them a few hundred dollars to just stay and keep playing good music. I would recommend changing this. Its boring.
The lobby bar - has better music... but is bright BRIGHT bright. It is the worst. No one wants to hang in an area brighter than the sun at night. This area could be lovely for guests. They need to put the lights on dim after dinner.
Overall nighttime ambience needs improving.

Resort credits - had a few hiccups, booking a head of time and the staff on site do not communicate. This resulting in charges on the bills and messed up times. We had a group of 12 guys set to gold at 8am they didn't get picked up until 11. the hottest part of the day. The were not happy. But the Spa is amazing. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their time there. I wish I would have spent more time.

WEDDING:
I am so happy with choosing the hotel to host our wedding. Communication during the planning process can be slow and trying at times via email. But everything worked out beautifully in the end. I was a mostly stress free bride.
Mara was our wedding planner and she was the best! She handled everything I asked for and did it happily with a smile. She helped make everything very special. The first day we checked in and went over everything for the wedding. I gave her all of our decor (2 suitcases) and she took it form there.
We had a welcome dinner in on the Luna Terrace (5th Floor), beautiful. A rehearsal dinner on the south solarium by the pool. Ceremony on the beach. Cocktails on the Cielo Terrace and the reception in the ballroom. Every event was beautiful. we just went with the standard white linens and the buffet included and everything was delicious. Some of the liquor is watered down, but I drank mostly Champagne which was perfect.
The service was on top of everything, we were waited on hand and foot and our drinks were flowing without asking. The did a beautiful job making me feel special and taking care of our guests.
I highly recommend this resort for a destination wedding. One of the best things is that all the ocean rooms face the center property, so you could look out each morning and find your guests. No matter where you were, friends were to be found.

If you want more wedding information, feel free to contact me. I planned for 2 years and have lots of "details".

Room Tip: Ocean views, south side of hotel. honeymoon suite great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review. The entire Playacar family truly appreciates the time to write your review.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me for any further questions or comments

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My daughter and I stayed 4 nights Jul 4-7, 2014 for a wedding. As we almost were not able to attend due to the cost, we were sure glad we did. I think they should give the wedding guests a substantial discounts on the rooms so more people can attend. The palace was beautiful, the proximity to the strip was awesome, the wedding was perfect, the rooms were clean, the food was good, the beach and pool areas were nice and the staff was amazing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
We will be entirely full until August 16th, and even that we try our best in order to assign the rooms according to our guest’s expectations, no always is possible. Fifthly percent of our rooms are double beds, and during this season, ninety percent of the reservations request double beds. We confirm room category, but not kind of beds, and there is not difference in price between a king and a double bed on the same category, being that a request that depends on availability.



Unfortunately, I can not confirm the kind of beds, but I can confirm you that we will do our best to respect your request Mrs. Willis



Please, feel free to contact me for any further question
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We arrived at Playacar Palace in the afternoon on July 2nd. The hotels is tucked away in the middle of town. As you are driving in, it honestly does not look so picturesque. But once you pull up to the open air lobby, it is beautiful. The service from the bell staff at arrival was fantastic. We sat at the front desk to check in and were promptly brought over a delicious and refreshing welcome drink. We were at our room shorty thereafter. We had a room on the third floor overlooking the pool bar. It was not quiet during the day, but the entire resort was pretty quiet in the evening.

The Room: It was very spacious, clean and enjoyable. The bed was very comfortable. We had a concierge level room, this I believe allowed us access to the "pillow menu" which we took full advantage of. We ordered an orthopedic pillow, and a lavender pillow. The pillows were small, but great. Housekeeping did a very thorough job everyday cleaning the room, except that one day they took all of our towels, and forgot to replace them. They were brought to our room fairly quickly. they have in room liquor dispensers, with a fridge full of beer and mixers. Very convenient. I do wish there had been more snack in the room. Nuts, etc.

Food: Food was very good. we were there for a wedding, and food was as good as can be expected for a buffet. We were with the wedding party most of the nights, so did not try all of the restaurants. The breakfast and lunch buffet were great. Room service was pretty good, didn't take too long, but the food was just good. nothing too exciting.

The staff at the entire resort was top notch. Sylvia and Erick in guest relations were fantastic helping us get set up with the spa and excursions.

Their special event staff was over the top fantastic. It was the same team that was with us for several of our events. They got to know us, what we were drinking and in some instances would just bring us refills without us even asking.

The location is great for shopping in town, several local excursions and a hop away from the ferry to go to Cozumel.

All in all, we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
for one extra day on your next stay at any Palace Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I just got married and had the best experience of our lives. About 30 people attended and all were extremely happy with the amazing customer service! We will be back to one of the other Palace resorts and will probably come back to Playacar in the next 5.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review. The entire Playacar family truly appreciates the time to write your review.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me for any further questions or comments

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront Resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen’s famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our amazing Resort features 200 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This Resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of “Playa” at night. Playacar Palace it’s all inclusive, all incredible and all yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico
Playacar Palace Resort
Playacar Palace Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playacar Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.