We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Playacar Palace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playacar Palace

Save Saved
You added Playacar Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Playacar Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #8 of 199 hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reigate
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Playacar Palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is an excellent resort hotel with good facilities and well appointed rooms. It fronts onto a superb beach. The service and staff were excellent and the restaurants good if a little limited in choice. There were some building works taking place which detracted a little from the pleasure of our stay but December is not peak time and the work has to be done sometime.
Our holiday was all inclusive and represented great value. The hotel is close to a good range of shops - both designer and local handicrafts and clothing.

Room Tip: Try to get a beach facing room with balcony although there can be some noise from around the pool so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear RobertB

Thank you very much for review, all the Playacar Family really appreciate it. We try to keep a very familiar and intimate concept where our guest can be known be their names and no by their room or rest band number and I feel happy that you felt that experience. With the main goal in mind of create an intimate and unforgettable experience we, have been making some improvements, as our New Spa or our Momonohana Restaurant. Improvements that already got to an end and hopefully you could use them at your next visit and reclaim the "little pleasure of your stay" this time.

We hope to see you soon and do not hesitate to write me for any questions or request for your next visit.

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,542
    426
    132
    35
    26
See reviews for
667
959
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rosemount, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed at Playacar Dec. 5-11 for a family wedding and we were very happy with our stay. Resort was smallish in size compared to other all inclusives we have stayed was a nice change. You definitely feel like your a guest and not just a number.

As the other reviews state, you cannot beat the location!! You are couple minute walk by street or beach to 5th Avenue (shopping, restaurants, bars, etc.) If you dont want to deal with the vendors, night ventures are the way to go. For the most part, most shops, etc. stay open until at least 10 pm.

Pool and beach were both fantastic. The pool is smaller in size but we never had issues finding chairs even with the hotel fully booked. The beach was pure sand and the water is amazing. You cant go wrong if you are beach person or a pool person.

The food was very good at the Italian restaurant (ate there twice as our dinner on the beach was cancelled on the last night due to rain), breakfast was good - they make omelettes, pancakes, etc. to order. The lunches at the pool were all good as well - we loved the burgers. I did not have the buffet while there but others in our group did and said it was okay.

The service was outstanding - big shot out to Juan - the best bartender around. From concierge, the front desk, the bars and servers, we had no complaints. You can tell that costumer service is highly stressed at the resort and it shows. Big thanks to the Staff!!

Wedding was nicely done. Ceremony was on the beach and reception by the pool. We had a group of 50 plus and most of us ended up in the pool at the end of the night - good ending to a great night.

The guys used credits to golf at Playacar golf club - great course, nicely kept, but very challenging. The girls used credits at the newly remodeled spa within the resort and loved it.

All in all, I definitely recommend the resort. And Playa is now our new favorite spot in Mexico!!!

Room Tip: Definitely get a room on the 3rd or fourth floor. We had a room way on the end on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear MNtraveler1979

Thank you very much for review, all the Playacar Family really appreciate it.

We hope to see you soon and do not hesitate to write me for any questions or request for your next visit.

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Just got back. Had a great time. Hotel is beautiful. Food is "good" and plentiful. Staff is fantastic, from the front desk to the house and grounds keepers. Bar tenders and waitresses (pool and beach) are very attentive and you will never want for something to eat or drink. Tip well. They deserve it.

Location is everything. Hotel is right on the beach (and you can walk for miles, if you like), next to the Cozumel Ferry and the town of Playa Del Carmen. We spoke to many people who were staying at other Palace resorts, which they liked, but most of those resorts are out by themselves in nowhere. The folks we spoke to said their resorts were wonderful, but there was nowhere to go unless you catch a taxi or take a tour. That's why they came to Playacar--to get out. The "all inclusive" works at all the Palace resorts, while you're there, so you can go to different ones. We even met a couple who was transfering to Moon Palace (Cancun) without any additional fees. Something to check out next time!

The only downside was the "concierge", which is apparently spanish for "time-share shill". Trying to redeem "resort credits" always resulted in an effort to sign us up for "information" and a promise of more "credits" or a "free" tour somewhere. Thanks to jaime1999 (reviewer) we knew to say "NO" (with emphasis)! We did use some "credits", but be aware there is an eleven percent charge for "taxes and fees" added on. So using $300 in credits (the limit for spa services, btw) will cost you $33 when you check out. The "guest services" staff is most interested in getting you to go for their time-share "information". If you don't fall for it, they are not very friendly or helpful. They'll get your tour or massage scheduled, but don't expect much more than that. Forget about information about a local bar, resturant or attraction that's not affiliated with their resort.

It's a great place and can't say enough good things about the staff (except "guest services"). From looking around online it appears Playacar Palace is pricey, even among "all inclusives". But if you just want to pay your money and not worry about anything once you're there, then this place is a fine choice. Finally, it's RCI affiliated so you can get a room pretty cheap, but you still have to pay the AI fee--about $1100 to $1200 extra.

Room Tip: Ours was right in the middle on the top floor. Best view of the resort, the pool and beach, and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear ediehaha

I want to thank you for the time to write your review on Tripadvisor.


Please do not hesitate to write me for any questions or request for your next visit.

Hasta Pronto

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainsville, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Upon our arrival we were so well greeted it was almost overwhelming. The staff caters to all their guests by making them feel at home. The chef Massimiliano and his staff made great meals. I do not think anybody can leave the hotel without gaining a few pounds . The beach was awsome and the service was super.We totally recommend you visit.

Room Tip: the north side facing south was quiet and a great view of the beach and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear GinetteRick

Thank you very much for review, I am sure that Massimiliano and all the Playacar Family will be really thankful for your comments and I thank you in their name. This is your home, and please do not hesitate to write me for any questions or request for your next visit.

Hasta Pronto!!!!

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our third visit to Playacar Palace. Amazing as always. Service is exceptional- so accomodating and willing to help. Great location next to 5th avenue for nighttime strolls and shopping. Fitness center now on site which is great. Spa now on site... Almost completed. Some reno's ongoing but not an issue when we were there. Food great as always. Asian restaurant is adding a Tepanyaki grille , so restaurant is closed briefly . Amazing beach. Only suggestion is to add some color/ artwork in the hallways.... They are a bit too white, plain and sterile looking a u walk to your room. Otherwise the nearly complete renovations are adding some value to this already great hotel resort.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear GinetteRick

Thank you very much for review and the extra information added for all the Tripadvisor readers. The SPA is close to be open in the next few days and the Asian Restaurant Momonohana has become the most demanded restaurant. I hope that you can use all the facilities, already complete, at your next visit.

This is your home, and please do not hesitate to write me for any questions or request for your next visit.

Hasta Pronto!!!!

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This resort was not as nice as some of the ones we have been before in Mexico. It seemed a little in need of some updating. The food was OK, we had a couple in our group get sick during the stay and days after. The staff, however, was extremely nice and always willing to get what you needed. The beach was nice and within walking distance to Fifth Avenue shopping, which was very nice to just walk there. I most likely would not return here, just nicer areas in Mexico to stay at.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I am still in the this hotel.

It's the second time we been to Mexico. The first time, we stayed in Sun Palace, where we bought the membership. This time we want to explore more of Cozumel and other part of Mexico outside Cancun.

The hotel is very well organized from the shuttle @ the airport. Everyone we met was so nice and truely let you feel welcomed. But frankly, we were disappointed to see the workmanship of the hotel interior is subpar compare to other palace hotel. Construction everywhere, dim elevator looks like a make-shift one, wood board nailed on the lower part of some room doors, chipped countertop, and bad painter job. They should hire a better construction team to do it. If the hotel decor is very important to you, you should pass this one. Or you should come in a month or 2 after the reno has finished. Moon Palace is much newer and expanded.

We received $1500 hotel credit as usual. But quite a few activities were crossed off from the list. We asked to upgrade to the concierge room but was told there are only 25 concierge class rooms in the hotel and none of it was available. We are on the waiting list, but hope is little. And now, we have to pay 11% tax to spend the credit. The membership thing is getting less and less value.

Of course, you have to listen to the sales pitch asking you to buy membership or upgrade it. We see the palace is getting lesser choices to us after they let Hard Rock Cafe to get their shares. However, if you like HRC style, maybe that's good for you. Anyhow, no matter you want the membership or not, keep saying no will get you the best deal they can offer.

After some days, we get used to those eyesore and enjoy the hotel. Stuff are very well trained and very friendly. Spa was wonderful, better than Sun Palace. Lots of food choice for buffet even for breakfast and lunch, much more than other Palaces. If you are food lover, this hotel is definately your choice. Huge beautiful beach. The location is so convenient. The hotel is sitting right next to the ferry to cozumel island. The is a shopping zone by the terminal. Even a Walmart is 15 minutes by walking.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayacarPalaceGM, General Manager at Playacar Palace, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear HorizonStar

Thank you very much for such a complete and large review. I happily can say that all our big renovations are complete. The SPA is close to be open in the next few days and the Asian Restaurant Momonohana has become the most demanded restaurant. I am sure next time you will enjoy them as much as our actual guests.

This is your home, and please do not hesitate to write me for any questions or request for your next visit.

Hasta Pronto!!!!

D. Rubio
Playacar Palace G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront Resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen’s famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our amazing Resort features 200 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This Resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of “Playa” at night. Playacar Palace it’s all inclusive, all incredible and all yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico
Playacar Palace Resort
Playacar Palace Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playacar Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.