We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another jewel in the Palace Resorts crown!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playacar Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Playacar Palace to your Saves list
Playacar Palace
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1500 Resort Credit
Ranked #11 of 201 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Another jewel in the Palace Resorts crown!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have been going to Palace Resorts properties for years now but had never been to the PlayaCar Palace. What a mistake we've been making. Don't get me wrong we love the Beach Palace, Sun Palace, and Moon Palace, but the PlayaCar Palace shouldn't be missed. Beautiful property with a location that can't be beat. Amazing beach, two minute walk to the ferry for Cozumel and right off of shopping on 5th Ave. The food was amazing as always with Palace although what sets Palace Resorts always above thier competition is the staff. That's what brings us back over and over. From my wife and I, Angel (my Mayan amigo), Marco, and of course our favorite Alma (even if you call me a dinosaur), we miss you and love you. Can't wait to be back in your company....

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,118
    568
    168
    48
    30
See reviews for
982
1,259
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (775)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This review is a year overdue, but after staying at a disappointing resort in Punta Cana, I felt the need to put in a good word for Playacar Palace. We got married there last May and had an absolutely amazing experience! The beach is amazing. Would have liked to see more shaded areas on the beach, but the sand and water are to die for!

We also loved the rooms- very comfortable and spacious, nice turndown service, and great minibar.
Food- best all-inclusive food we've had so far. The Italian restaurant was everyone's favorite and we went back there several times. A lot of us were worried at first at the lack of options, but the food is fantastic so you never feel like you need more than what's there. After leaving a resort with 12+ restaurants (NONE of them good), I can tell you it's definitely quality over quantity. The 24 hour room service was also great: lots of options (even late night) and prompt service

The best part about this resort is the size and location. It's the smallest all-inclusive we've stayed at and also the nicest. The small size makes it really easy to get around quickly and also helps the staff keep up with the guests and what they like. It's also a 5 minute walk to 5th ave so you have a lot of options off the resort.

Finally, the vacation points were awesome. We had 1500 to use and got spa services, swimming with dolphins, golf, a video of our ceremony, and upgraded wine and still had leftover points. Amazing value.

All in all, this is the only all-inclusive we've been to that we would go back to again. I highly recommend it for the service, location, food, and comfort!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We love this resort ! The staff are the friendliest, the beach is the best, and the rooms and food are amazing. Great shows, great entertainment. You can choose the type of vodka in your martini !!! (yes even Grey Goose). Palace Resorts should be proud of their commitment to providing us with our 6th trip to Mexico, and our 3rd trip to Playacar Palace !!

Thanks a million,
Sam and Peggy Anderson-Coats

Room Tip: Ask for Pool and ocean view, but all rooms are great !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

This hotel was recommended by our travel agent; and I am so glad we decided to book it. The hotel is in the center of shopping and walking distant to the ferry. From the time we arrived the staff was very accommondating, meeting us with a smile, a scented towel and yes a cocktail. There were four of us all grandmothers spending our Mother's day weekend in Mexico. The staff at this resort made this a Mother's day vacation not to be forgotten. Two of the ladies required some occassional assistance, there was always a staff waiting to carry their food from the buffet, open a door, or help escort them to another location in the resort. Finally I want to specifically thank Claudio, Cailin, Jimmy, Jesus and the servers at the pool for helping the Grandmom Diva's from Philadelphia enjoy a wonderful Mother's Day escape.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Most beautiful beach, both sand and Caribbean. Service was incredible. This Palace exceeded all expectations. Staff could not have done more to make our stay more memorable: room, pool, spa, restaurants, and recreation. Even our visit to Cozumel Palace was worth the trip by ferry for a great afternoon of great service, relaxation, and snorkeling.
Special thank you to poolside staff Leonardi who kept us supplied with ice and water. Outdoor and indoor bar Jorge, Angel, Manuel, Erica, and Veronica. Breakfast and lunch Cesar and Isreal. Restaurant manager Angel and staff Samantha, Rafael, Jehu, Eduardo, Rodolfo. Gabriel who got guests involved in activities. The great staff is why our stay was a true vacation of pampering and relaxation. Thank you

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm beach Gardens ,Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Great place to visit excellent friendly staff. You do not need to be a member to get great service and good deals.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. No need to upgrade unless you always stay in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andi53
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Just got back from Playacar Palace and had a good time as usual. We booked late and could only get a room without a balcony but it had large windows that you could open wide and which was right by the jacuzzi. The food was very good, in particular in the Italian restaurant, and the breakfasts were also excellent.

We went to the gym most days - small but ok. Afterwards we highly recommend that you go downstairs to the bar while you wait for the minibus to take you back to the hotel. Agustin makes the best Banana Monkeys in the whole of Playa del Carmen - and we've sampled lots of them so are in a good position to judge! Took the salsa lesson which was great fun but apart from that didn't do anything but relax (and weren't pressurised into doing anything we didn't want to).

Room Tip: Get a room higher up if you can - otherwise you get the noise of weddings/functions etc
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.9 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#8 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 11,377 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Perla
Paradisus Playa del Carmen La Pe...
#12 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 4,716 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#5 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 stars 1,099 reviews
12.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 10 in Playa Paraiso
4.5 of 5 stars 4,151 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
Hotel Riu Palace Mexico
#15 of 201 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 3,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playacar Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playacar Palace

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo | Esq. Abraira de Arriva, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Playacar Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playacar Palace, a trendy beachfront Resort located steps away from Playa del Carmen’s famous 5th Avenue and the Cozumel Ferry Dock. Our amazing Resort features 200 appointed rooms, 3 restaurants and 4 bars. This Resort is considered the perfect spot to relax during the day and enjoy the nightlife and charms of “Playa” at night. Playacar Palace it’s all inclusive, all incredible and all yours… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Playacar Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playacar Palace Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playacar Palace Mexico
Playacar Palace Resort
Playacar Palace Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playacar Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.